Thread: No email/sms/iMessage notification when engaged in a phone call

Feedback Score

No email/sms/iMessage notification when engaged in a phone call

Hello,

I'm relatively new to iPhone transitioning over from Android. I currently have an iPhone 11 and I updated to iOS 14.0.1 and since doing so, if I'm engaged in a telephone call and someone sends me an email, sms text or iMessage, I do not hear a ding or feel a vibration while engaged in my phone call. I only know of the received item(s) once off the call and I see the notification bubble next to my mail app/message app.

I initially phoned Apple Support who claimed the devices do not notify with any sound/vibration when on a call. Obviously, this is not the case and I explained when engaged on a call, I should be notified real-time should I receive a message/email. I have looked into Settings | Notifications and Settings | Sounds & Haptics and all is correct.

I backed up my data, did a factory reset, restored the data and viola... everything was working and if engaged on a call and I receive a text/email, the phone will vibrate and I hear a faint sound through my earpiece based on the tone selected.

All was working and then within 15 minutes, back to silence. I phoned Apple, they ran diagnostics and said all was working fine. Unfortunately, they're as stumped as I am so I thought I would reach out to the forums prior to booking an appointment with the Genius Bar.

Wondering if others have experienced this behavior with the recent update to iOS 14.0.1 or if there's something physically wrong with my device? I asked if I could roll back the software or reinstall and Apple stated this cannot be done and it's best to simply visit a store.

Device(s)
    iPhone SE (2016), Chromebook
    Carrier(s)
    Tello, US Mobile
    Feedback Score
    I'd say take it in to a store. But depending on your service, you may not be using VoLTE and therefore your data actually gets turned off during a call.
    Drako Swiftclaw