Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: SIM swapable between different Tracfones?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    112
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Truphone
    Feedback Score
    0

    SIM swapable between different Tracfones?

    Have an old Alcatel Pixi Glitz (GSM). I know 3G is coming to an end before long. But, for now, can an active SIM be swapped into it and work? Called Tracfone and they said they wouldn’t activate it as a “new” activation.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,791
    Feedback Score
    0
    AT&T 3G will stay running until 2022. T-Mobile may have already stopped 3G activations. A TF/AT&T BYOP SIM should still activate, and may work OK in a 3G phone. You don't have to give the phone information (MEID) when activating one of these SIMs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    112
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Truphone
    Feedback Score
    0
    But what about swapping an already active SIM from one phone to another?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,791
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Zipy View Post
    But what about swapping an already active SIM from one phone to another?
    Do you mean using an active SIM from a Tracfone branded phone? Branded phone SIMS can be used on non-branded BYOP phones, but not sure if using them on other TF branded phones. Branded phones do have a match between the MEID/IMEI and the original SIM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,346
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Zipy View Post
    But what about swapping an already active SIM from one phone to another?
    tracfone used to lock the sim to the phone. then when smartphones started coming out, you could move the sim into a different phone (straight talks nokia e71) had that option. unknown if you can still do that today or not.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    414
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Do you mean using an active SIM from a Tracfone branded phone? Branded phone SIMS can be used on non-branded BYOP phones, but not sure if using them on other TF branded phones. Branded phones do have a match between the MEID/IMEI and the original SIM.


    Regarding "Branded phone SIMS can be used on non-branded BYOP phones...", does this apply to Verizon phones or only to AT&T and T-Mobile phones?

    I will be switching to BYOP in December and was hoping to try using the VZN TF branded phone SIM (phone is unlocked) in the BYOP phone. I want to maintain usage of the $49 Service Days offer, if possible.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,791
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LadyLC View Post

    Regarding "Branded phone SIMS can be used on non-branded BYOP phones...", does this apply to Verizon phones or only to AT&T and T-Mobile phones?

    I will be switching to BYOP in December and was hoping to try using the VZN TF branded phone SIM (phone is unlocked) in the BYOP phone. I want to maintain usage of the $49 Service Days offer, if possible.
    You can use a TF branded phone SIM in a BYOP Verizon branded phone if it's unlocked. I assume you can also do this with a TF activated SIM in an AT&T or T-Mobile BYOP phone, but have no experience. There are almost no AT&T TF branded phones, but some T-Mobile phones on other Tracfone Wireless companies.


    BYOP phones don't get the 1 year service add-on offer, only TF branded phones.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    414
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    You can use a TF branded phone SIM in a BYOP Verizon branded phone if it's unlocked. I assume you can also do this with a TF activated SIM in an AT&T or T-Mobile BYOP phone, but have no experience. There are almost no AT&T TF branded phones, but some T-Mobile phones on other Tracfone Wireless companies.

    BYOP phones don't get the 1 year service add-on offer, only TF branded phones.
    Yes, the BYOP will be unlocked.
    I'm only interested in Verizon phones, not the others.

    If I use the TF branded SIM in the BYOP phone, will TF know it is a BYOP?
    I thought TF would continue to "see" it as a TF branded phone. Am I wrong??

    Thanks for the info.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,001
    Device(s)
    LG Q6, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LadyLC View Post
    Yes, the BYOP will be unlocked.
    I'm only interested in Verizon phones, not the others.

    If I use the TF branded SIM in the BYOP phone, will TF know it is a BYOP?
    I thought TF would continue to "see" it as a TF branded phone. Am I wrong??
    When a cell phone connects to a network, the network knows its SIM and IMEI numbers. TF (through Verizon) will know that the SIM from the TF-branded phone is being used in a different phone, but so far they're not doing anything about it. Things might change when Verizon owns Tracfone.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    112
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Truphone
    Feedback Score
    0
    OK, the old Alcatel Pixi Glitz (GSM) is a TF branded phone, but I got it without a SIM card. If I give it to someone who wants to put their TF SIM in it will it work? Again, it is a 3G phone.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,791
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Zipy View Post
    OK, the old Alcatel Pixi Glitz (GSM) is a TF branded phone, but I got it without a SIM card. If I give it to someone who wants to put their TF SIM in it will it work? Again, it is a 3G phone.
    Where would the SIM have come from? Do you mean an activated SIM?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    112
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Truphone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, from another TF activated phone.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,791
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Zipy View Post
    Yes, from another TF activated phone.
    Is the donor phone broken? The Pixi Glitz is a poor quality phone, so I was wondering the reason for an effort to use one.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    112
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Truphone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, from a broken phone. And the Alcatel is in great shape.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,791
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Zipy View Post
    Yes, from a broken phone. And the Alcatel is in great shape.
    Time to try swapping the active SIM card into the Pixi Glitz. You are looking for a 890141 for AT&T. Size needs to match, and most of the older phones use a Micro SIM. Cards for the older feature/basic phones will not work... you did not say which model the donor phone is.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-12-2018, 05:25 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-28-2015, 02:31 PM
  3. SIM Activation / Switching between different sizes
    By T-Mobilrola in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-05-2013, 11:36 PM
  4. If i want to switch between different att sims...does that require an unlock?
    By bigiphoneguy in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-04-2008, 06:39 PM
  5. What's the difference between different version of chatboard?
    By AccordCoupe99 in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2001, 05:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks