Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31

Thread: Am I on 5G? I have the icon, but no N anything. I'm on Unlimited Starter.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    140
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question Am I on 5G? I have the icon, but no N anything. I'm on Unlimited Starter.

    Seems like I should be on 5G, because if it was LTE it should say 4G LTE or at least 5Ge. The coverage map says I should have 5G in my area. This was taken at the Safeway in Maple Valley, WA. I'm using an AT&T locked Galaxy S20 FE 5G with the Unlimited Starter plan. .


    Name:  L3vpY30.jpg
Views: 179
Size:  51.3 KB
    I love LTE!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    2,503
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 12 Pro & Samsung Galaxy S20+ 5G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility & T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    No, you’re not on actual NR. The icon shows 5G because the site supports ULI (Upper Layer Indicator R15).


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,692
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Could be more At&t magic displaying 5G when technically still on 4G. They did the same thing with 4G displaying when connecting to 3G (HSPA, HSDPA) in 2008 or 2009 (If I remember correctly).

    Yes, the Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G is capable. I seriously doubt you are connecting to true 5G as the phone is displaying, but it is possible if deployed in your local market.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    140
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Serial Port View Post
    Could be more At&t magic displaying 5G when technically still on 4G. They did the same thing with 4G displaying when connecting to 3G (HSPA, HSDPA) in 2008 or 2009 (If I remember correctly).

    Yes, the Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G is capable. I seriously doubt you are connecting to true 5G as the phone is displaying, but it is possible if deployed in your local market.
    I'm in the greater Seattle area, and the coverage maps show that I should have 5G coverage in most places that I go frequently, but I'll have to do more testing to see if that's the case. Of course, you can't trust coverage maps. I do remember when AT&T would but "4G" on my mom's iPhone 4S when it was really just a kind of "upgraded 3G". I wonder if this phone even has a 4G LTE indicator in the software anymore, of if it's just only 5Ge or 5G.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    tacoma
    Posts
    930
    Device(s)
    s20 ultra, nexus 6p as a backup fi phone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FI
    Feedback Score
    0
    You could always use signal check pro since now it shows nr, Im in Puyallup and there's 5g here, seems like it's around the area pretty well

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    tacoma
    Posts
    930
    Device(s)
    s20 ultra, nexus 6p as a backup fi phone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FI
    Feedback Score
    0
    Are you on first net, your hplnm number is strangely odd

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    140
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mattio781 View Post
    You could always use signal check pro since now it shows nr, Im in Puyallup and there's 5g here, seems like it's around the area pretty well
    Oh cool! Thanks for the tip! I'll have to drive down there and check it out. So in my case, when it says ULI R15: Support, does that mean that the tower supports 5G, it just isn't lit up with it yet?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    140
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by mattio781 View Post
    Are you on first net, your hplnm number is strangely odd

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk
    Nope, not on First Net. I'm on the Unlimited Starter plan.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    tacoma
    Posts
    930
    Device(s)
    s20 ultra, nexus 6p as a backup fi phone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FI
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    Oh cool! Thanks for the tip! I'll have to drive down there and check it out. So in my case, when it says ULI R15: Support, does that mean that the tower supports 5G, it just isn't lit up with it yet?
    I believe that's correct, sites here will use a different 5g tower since the primary one doesn't run n5 radio

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    140
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by mattio781 View Post
    I believe that's correct, sites here will use a different 5g tower since the primary one doesn't run n5 radio

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk
    I just looked at that HPLNM number, shouldn't that be 310-410 for AT&T? I looked it up and that code (310-280) is for T-Mobile in Puerto Rico.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    tacoma
    Posts
    930
    Device(s)
    s20 ultra, nexus 6p as a backup fi phone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FI
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    I just looked at that HPLNM number, shouldn't that be 310-410 for AT&T? I looked it up and that code (310-280) is for T-Mobile in Puerto Rico.
    Yes it should be, that's odd it's a T-Mobile code

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    140
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mattio781 View Post
    Yes it should be, that's odd it's a T-Mobile code

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk
    But below it, the code is correct.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    tacoma
    Posts
    930
    Device(s)
    s20 ultra, nexus 6p as a backup fi phone
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, FI
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    But below it, the code is correct.
    Yes, that is the correct one for at&t

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,173
    Device(s)
    iPhone 12 Pro, Galaxy S10e
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Serial Port View Post
    Could be more At&t magic displaying 5G when technically still on 4G. They did the same thing with 4G displaying when connecting to 3G (HSPA, HSDPA) in 2008 or 2009 (If I remember correctly).

    Yes, the Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G is capable. I seriously doubt you are connecting to true 5G as the phone is displaying, but it is possible if deployed in your local market.
    Just so we’re abundantly clear— this behavior is not unique to AT&T. It’s called Upper Layer Indicator and is used by T-Mobile and Verizon as well.


    Sent from my iPad using HoFo

    5G Minneapolis, MN‎ -------------------------------------------------------------‎ 5G+ ‎Minneapolis, MN
    2+n5+? ---------------------------------------------------------------------------- 2+n261

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    4,250
    Device(s)
    Note 10+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    Seems like I should be on 5G, because if it was LTE it should say 4G LTE or at least 5Ge. The coverage map says I should have 5G in my area. This was taken at the Safeway in Maple Valley, WA. I'm using an AT&T locked Galaxy S20 FE 5G with the Unlimited Starter plan. .


    Name:  L3vpY30.jpg
Views: 179
Size:  51.3 KB
    Its enabled in your area, but the site that 5G is coming from can't reach where you are. Certain areas in the coverage range of that cell tower can have 5G coverage from a neighboring site. So with NSA-NR, you can and will connect to two different cell sites at the same time. It happens here in NYC all the time.

    Check my screen shot. PCI 392 is a site 6 blocks to my east with no NR deployed. PCI 501 is a site about 10 blocks to my south.

    Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-12-2007, 08:38 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-22-2005, 05:52 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 05:17 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2003, 12:36 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2003, 05:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks