Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 31

Thread: Am I on 5G? I have the icon, but no N anything. I'm on Unlimited Starter.

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,779
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jakeuten View Post
    Just so we’re abundantly clear— this behavior is not unique to AT&T. It’s called Upper Layer Indicator and is used by T-Mobile and Verizon as well.
    Fair enough, but the OP's profile indicates At&t as the carrier and the post is in the At&t forum, hence my response.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Seattle area
    Posts
    160
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by mattio781 View Post
    Yes, that is the correct one for at&t

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk
    Is it necessarily a bad thing that the HPLNM isn't the one for AT&T?

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,320
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    Seems like I should be on 5G, because if it was LTE it should say 4G LTE or at least 5Ge. The coverage map says I should have 5G in my area. This was taken at the Safeway in Maple Valley, WA. I'm using an AT&T locked Galaxy S20 FE 5G with the Unlimited Starter plan. .
    As others have said, it just means the LTE cell is configured with upper layer indicator, which usually means it's configured as an NSA anchor. You don't have an active 5G connection in that screenshot, but your phone is looking for one.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Seattle area
    Posts
    160
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by sheytoon View Post
    As others have said, it just means the LTE cell is configured with upper layer indicator, which usually means it's configured as an NSA anchor. You don't have an active 5G connection in that screenshot, but your phone is looking for one.
    Is there still a 4G LTE icon in the AT&T firmware, just in case you're not in a 5G or 5Ge area? Or is it just 5G, or 5Ge and that's it.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Seattle area
    Posts
    160
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by mattio781 View Post
    Yes it should be, that's odd it's a T-Mobile code

    Sent from my SM-G988U using Tapatalk
    Should I be worried that number is 310-280 (T-Mobile) and not 310-410 (AT&T)? My S20 FE 5G is an AT&T branded phone, that I got from an AT&T store.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    2,504
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 12 Pro & Samsung Galaxy S20+ 5G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility & T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    Is there still a 4G LTE icon in the AT&T firmware, just in case you're not in a 5G or 5Ge area? Or is it just 5G, or 5Ge and that's it.
    4G LTE icons are still used in places that are not 5G Evolution, 5G, or 5G+ areas.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Seattle area
    Posts
    160
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by BentleyBeard View Post
    4G LTE icons are still used in places that are not 5G Evolution, 5G, or 5G+ areas.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Does my S20 FE 5G support 5G+?

  8. #23
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,198
    Device(s)
    iPhone 12 Pro, Galaxy S10e
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    Does my S20 FE 5G support 5G+?
    No it does not.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    4,317
    Device(s)
    Note 10+
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BentleyBeard View Post
    4G LTE icons are still used in places that are not 5G Evolution, 5G, or 5G+ areas.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Upstate NY and eastern long Island show 4G LTE on band 12 and 14, but on mid band-5G with an NR connection to band 5.

    Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Baja California / Sinaloa
    Posts
    22,422
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max / Apple iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Pacific Bell Wireless / AT&T MX / Movistar MX / Telcel MX
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by skyhawk214 View Post
    Is there still a 4G LTE icon in the AT&T firmware, just in case you're not in a 5G or 5Ge area? Or is it just 5G, or 5Ge and that's it.
    Yes, just noticed the LTE on my iPhone when passing through a few US airports and at my mothers house.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    7,220
    Device(s)
    iPhone 12 ProMax, OnePlus 8 5G
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile· USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BentleyBeard View Post
    4G LTE icons are still used in places that are not 5G Evolution, 5G, or 5G+ areas.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Which is still beyond stupid, as 5Ge is *still* LTE. Just some upgrades in that area that particular AT&T put off for far too long, then had to rebrand as something else instead of admitting they just did upgrades late *rolleyes
    T-Mobile: Magenta Amplified (airline employee plan)
    AT$T: $50 Unlimited Elite Prepaid promo (for more “rural” areas)

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    5,104
    Device(s)
    iPhone 12 mini, iPhone X
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Verizon (Spectrum Mobile)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jakeuten View Post
    Just so we’re abundantly clear— this behavior is not unique to AT&T. It’s called Upper Layer Indicator and is used by T-Mobile and Verizon as well.


    Sent from my iPad using HoFo
    I've seen this discussed elsewhere, but it's not 100% clear to me because I've seen combinations of the 5Ge indicator that don't make sense to me.

    Is the R15 ULI the flag that devices on AT&T use to choose whether to display the "5Ge" network indicator? Or is there some combination of criteria which all have to be met, perhaps something like HPLMN and PLMN must be 310-410 (to make "5Ge" exclusive to AT&T) + ULI support flag + 256QAM support?

    I'm just curious how that ULI fits into areas where 5G is not live, but still show 5Ge. My market has had 5Ge showing up on some cell sites for well over a year, but with no 5G NR channels up yet (waiting on DSS). I've seen another market where 5G NR is active on B5, but the LTE network indicator on LTE-only devices still shows LTE. How does that align with the ULI indicator?


  13. #28
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,198
    Device(s)
    iPhone 12 Pro, Galaxy S10e
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by blkballoon925 View Post
    I've seen this discussed elsewhere, but it's not 100% clear to me because I've seen combinations of the 5Ge indicator that don't make sense to me.

    Is the R15 ULI the flag that devices on AT&T use to choose whether to display the "5Ge" network indicator? Or is there some combination of criteria which all have to be met, perhaps something like HPLMN and PLMN must be 310-410 (to make "5Ge" exclusive to AT&T) + ULI support flag + 256QAM support?
    R15 ULI is for actual NR only. 5Ge is done by TAC where X% of sites within the TAC support a variety of things like 4x4 MIMO, 3CA or higher, and 256QAM. You can be in a 5Ge area and be on a B12 only site.

    I'm just curious how that ULI fits into areas where 5G is not live, but still show 5Ge. My market has had 5Ge showing up on some cell sites for well over a year, but with no 5G NR channels up yet (waiting on DSS). I've seen another market where 5G NR is active on B5, but the LTE network indicator on LTE-only devices still shows LTE. How does that align with the ULI indicator?
    ULI doesn’t have anything to do with LTE-only devices. I live in one of said markets— my phone displays “LTE” when not on 5G. ULI just means that the site you’re on is capable of being an anchor for 5G NSA. ULI and 5Ge are not at all related.



    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    937
    Device(s)
    S7
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got my S20+ on Firstnet in June. Im in Seattle and I have never seen anything better than 5ge.
    They swapped my sim and still no change.
    They told me there aren't many towers and I have to be right next to them.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Seattle area
    Posts
    160
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S20 FE 5G
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gsmseattle View Post
    I got my S20+ on Firstnet in June. Im in Seattle and I have never seen anything better than 5ge.
    They swapped my sim and still no change.
    They told me there aren't many towers and I have to be right next to them.
    Interesting. Whenever I get a 5G signal (not 5Ge), I don't get anything more than 80 or 90Mbps down.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-12-2007, 08:38 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-22-2005, 05:52 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 05:17 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-01-2003, 12:36 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-22-2003, 05:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks