Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: 5G and VoLTE (on moto edge 5G)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    864
    Feedback Score
    0

    5G and VoLTE (on moto edge 5G)

    i'm helping out a friend who just got the Moto Edge 5G (256GB unlocked version)

    friend is on the $75 unlimited plus($50 with autopay)

    customer service is of no help at all but there is an option in the portal under 'update device' to enter an IMEI number. System crashes each time I enter an IMEI but the change does seem to go through. By using an IMEI of any recent iPhone i instantly get working VoLTE and 5Ge Data . By using the IMEI of the Moto Edge I get working 5G(not 5Ge) data but falls back to H+ for calls.

    anyone have an idea of how to get both full 5G and VoLTE ?

    I am thinking an iPhone 12 IMEI or one of an AT&T branded 5G android is what is needed. i have neither.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,674
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I suspect that since the IMEI is not being recognized, the account is not correctly provisioned. Did you try dialing *#06# to confirm the IMEI of the phone ? You might need to have customer service submit a "trouble ticket" to update the IMEI in the billing system. The 5G indicator is true 5G and 5Ge is technically 4.5G. A 5G device can and will periodically switch to VOLTE (4G) when a 5G signal is unavailable.

    H+ = HSDPA and is technically 3.5 G and not VOLTE.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Super Blue NoVA
    Posts
    2,682
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S, Moto e, Lumia 635, Moto G 2nd
    Carrier(s)
    GoPhone x3, PPCx2, TMo2Go, TracfoneX3, H20, Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Serial Port View Post
    The 5G indicator is true 5G and 5Ge is technically 4.5G. A 5G device can and will periodically switch to VOLTE (4G) when a 5G signal is unavailable.

    H+ = HSDPA and is technically 3.5 G and not VOLTE.
    Isn't that something?

    "4G" is not really 4G (LTE) but 3.5G (H+)
    "5Ge" is not really 5G but 4.5G

    Carriers say the darndest things to mislead customers.
    And phone manufacturers enable them by displaying those little misleading icons on their phone screens.

    If I were completely new to this, I'd have thought the "5Ge" is 5G "enhanced", on steroids, or something.

    /Sorry for the little off-topic post.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    19,674
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S9+
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    H+ was never 4G, only a faster 3G data connection.

    LTE (Long Term Evolution) was the first generation of what later became VOLTE (Voice over LTE). LTE was initially for data only and was considered 4G. VOLTE which was released later, integrated into the existing networks and used with compatible devices incorporated both voice and data.

Similar Threads

  1. Activating VOLTE on MOTO 5G Plus
    By bowen43 in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-26-2019, 01:27 PM
  2. Using QNC and EDVO on Moto Q
    By Guitar1969 in forum Page Plus Handset and Technical Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 07:50 PM
  3. HELP! Changed theme and freezes on MOTO screen
    By III Godfather in forum Motorola
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-27-2007, 04:06 AM
  4. Getting wallpapers and ringtones on Moto E815?
    By neuspeedz in forum Motorola
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-24-2006, 06:10 PM
  5. Pros and Cons on Moto V323 ??
    By FoneNut42 in forum USCellular
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-30-2006, 03:41 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks