Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: New iPhone 12 and (lack of) CDMA on Verizon

Feedback Score

New iPhone 12 and (lack of) CDMA on Verizon

I have a new one for those who might know:

First off, I am a long-time Verizon subscriber, dating back to October 2003. I have watched the network change and evolve considerably since then and I am by no means a novice when it comes to them or to this entire area.

That said, I purchased a brand new iPhone 12 during pre-order and received it on October 23rd. I had the second generation iPhone SE prior to that and a very long list of phones, pre-dating it still. Like with my iPhone SE, I purchased the unlocked model and activated it on Verizon.

this time around, after speaking with customer service about 5G and asking if I needed a new SIM card, they told me that longer-term, that I should get a new one, so they sent me one and I activated it, replacing the one that I had since my old iPhone 8 from 2017 - which is what I also used in my SE.

The old SIM card, even in a Carrier unlocked second generation iPhone SE, the phone would show and occasionally update a PRL in settings and if I strayed into a remote, rural area, the phone will occasionally fall back to 3G or 1x.

With my new iPhone 12, I have noticed that the PRL always shows 1, rather than a traditional PRL number. Furthermore, I took the phone into some very remote, rural locations and observed some different behavior from before. One area was known to have 1x coverage, with extended network. With my iPhone 12, I would get Verizon LTE in some of that area, but 3G extended network, from where I apparently roamed onto AT&T. Never 1x. Likewise, visiting a different remote in rural area, my phone would completely go to no coverage, where in the past I would get 1x or 3G on Verizon.