Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Question: Does AT&T use Special 5G sim cards?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    142
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question: Does AT&T use Special 5G sim cards?

    I purchased the Iphone 12 Pro Max for a gift.

    The recipient is not in a 5g area.

    I know they should be able to transfer their old sim from their Iphone 6 to their new Iphone 12 Pro Max and I am guessing they will just receive regular 4G speeds.

    Just to be on the safe side, I also purchased a new ATT nano sim for PREPAID/POSTPAID on Ebay for $3.00

    1) Are ATT Nano sims for 5G any different than ATT Nano sims for 4G?

    2) Does AT&T make customers pay extra or change their plan to get 5G speeds?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,538
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T/Sprint/VZW
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Yes. You will need a new sim to get 5G. If you’re ok just getting LTE then you can either activate the eSIM or use the old one.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got an iPhone 12 free through promotion, gave it to my wife, and took her iPhone 6S SIM card out and popped it into the iPhone 12 and she gets 5G, 5GE and LTE.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    630
    Device(s)
    iPhone 7 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by xchpstang View Post
    Yes. You will need a new sim to get 5G. If you’re ok just getting LTE then you can either activate the eSIM or use the old one.
    I would think if one activates the esim and they have a plan that includes 5G they would get it. I can’t imagine that apple would build in an esim that’s not capable of 5G. But I suppose I could be wrong.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo
    Alex
    Teamsters Local 399
    "American by birth, teamster by the grace of God"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Baja California / Sinaloa
    Posts
    22,413
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 11 Pro Max / Apple iPhone 7
    Carrier(s)
    Pacific Bell Wireless / AT&T MX / Movistar MX / Telcel MX
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does the plan and SIM card both need to support 5G? Or can I simply use my existing plan and just get a new SIM card/reactivate the eSIM? I'm thinking about getting the iPhone 12 and would like to keep my existing unlimited plan.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    1,054
    Feedback Score
    0
    All the SIM does is authorize the phone to access the network. It shouldn’t have any control on what frequencies and data connection a phone can and cannot use. That’s done between the phone and the carriers servers.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,173
    Device(s)
    iPhone 12 Pro, Galaxy S10e
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Mobility, T-Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by i0wnj00 View Post
    Does the plan and SIM card both need to support 5G? Or can I simply use my existing plan and just get a new SIM card/reactivate the eSIM? I'm thinking about getting the iPhone 12 and would like to keep my existing unlimited plan.
    You need to be on a modern unlimited plan unfortunately.

    5G Minneapolis, MN‎ -------------------------------------------------------------‎ 5G+ ‎Minneapolis, MN
    2+n5+? ---------------------------------------------------------------------------- 2+n261

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Almont, Michigan
    Posts
    4,512
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S10
    Carrier(s)
    LTE-A
    Feedback Score
    0
    My SIM is 3 years old or so and my Note 20 is utilizing 5G on Unlimited Elite. I'm wondering though if I can access 5G+/mmWave if I should ever find it here?

Similar Threads

  1. What bands does AT&T/Cingular use in NYC?
    By terryjohnson16 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 03-14-2006, 04:52 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-13-2002, 05:25 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-12-2002, 10:17 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2002, 05:47 AM
  5. Does AT&T use 2 different SIM cards?...
    By RenoWirelessGuru in forum AT&T
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-25-2002, 05:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks