Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Rogers is launching 5G in SA mode in 4 cities

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    25
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0

    Rogers is launching 5G in SA mode in 4 cities

    Looks like Rogers is launching its 5G SA core network in Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, and Vancouver.

    More info:


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,320
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mmmm, not exactly. They are making early announcements, but no devices or services are available. So it's not a true network launch in my opinion.

    And that's not even considering the poor speeds that would be offered if they launched SA on n41, n71 or any FDD band with DSS.

    This reminds me of when Rogers said they launched NSA in January, but in reality the first device was available in March, and coverage was bare bones.
    Want to learn more about how LTE works?
    https://productioncommunity.publicmo...ls/td-p/130581

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    981
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I do not see any signs of SA either in my area, only NSA. Specifically, I can see by:

    1. NR MIB - Does not contain anything except base MIB data required for NSA, not enough info for UE to connect to SA.
    2. UE Capability Enquiry specifically asks for "eutra-nr-only-r15" which basically asks for ENDC combos only for NSA, filtering out SA.
    3. LTE SIB1 has no reference to SIB24, which instructs phones on LTE on how to access SA

    they need to provide some sort of geographic area or something to show where it is available. Otherwise I find it hard to believe they have deployed SA anywhere other than inside their test labs in those cities.

Similar Threads

  1. ATT launches 5G at 39 GHz in parts of Milwaukee
    By @TheRealDanny in forum AT&T
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-16-2020, 03:37 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-29-2019, 05:48 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-11-2008, 03:02 PM
  4. BJ II stuck on alpha mode and not in number mode in the To: box when in texting mode
    By soundecko in forum Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-21-2008, 12:58 PM
  5. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-30-2005, 12:25 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks