Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: does tracfone take google voice numbers for port in?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0

    does tracfone take google voice numbers for port in?

    I'm sure this has been covered sometime but these days some carriers are no longer accepting google voice numbers for port in. Does tracfone allow google numbers in 2021? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    244
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by MrLaserman View Post
    I'm sure this has been covered sometime but these days some carriers are no longer accepting google voice numbers for port in. Does tracfone allow google numbers in 2021? Thanks!
    I'm not aware of any provider that does not allow Google Voice numbers to be ported in. There is at least one provider (Visible) that does not allow Google Voice numbers, among others, to qualify for special promotion offers requiring porting in from a competing provider. (Those special promotions include rebates, gift cards, price reductions on devices or service, etc.)

    For your specific question, I'm not aware of Tracfone having any similar restrictions even for their infrequent promotional deals that require porting in a number from another provider.
    My Tello referral code is P3BSR5HV, and gets both of us 10 Tello Dollars to pay for a plan.
    https://tello.com/account/register?_referral=P3BSR5HV

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was in one store that told me my google voice number could not be ported to them. I know a guy that manages three metro stores that told me "it depends." On what he wouldn't say. Someone told me Mint Mobile told them to port to another "real" carrier then they could port to them. I guess I'll just have to try. I did notice a couple of sites said google voice numbers were treated like land lines and it could take 5-7 days for the number to port. Thanks for responding!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    7,152
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Try chatting with Tracfone and ask. You may lose the activation airtime in a failed activation, or end up with a new number.
    https://www.tracfone.com/contactus

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    20
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a (rooted) A11
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone on AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I ported in my google voice number to TF BYOD without issue. I should add that although my number was initially issued by GV I had previously ported it over to Sprint, and from there ported it over to TF..
    Jake

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    338
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by greenhandle View Post
    There is at least one provider (Visible) that does not allow Google Voice numbers, among others, to qualify for special promotion offers requiring porting in from a competing provider.
    That makes sense, offering a promo for porting a number and not allowing you to create a free number with Goolag to take advantage of the promo with.
    Tracfone rewards referral code OXCC-2594 gives 8,000 points to new rewards members at rewards.tracfone.com or in the Tracfone App.

    Sign up for the TracFone rewards program here: https://www.tracfone.com/rewards

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 07-24-2018, 04:04 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-16-2015, 08:59 PM
  3. Google Voice: link to port in doesn't exist
    By randian in forum Landline Replacement / VOIP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-01-2014, 05:05 PM
  4. Does anyone have a contact number for VM in the USA?
    By machettek in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-06-2011, 09:47 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-27-2009, 06:58 PM

Bookmarks