Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 54

Thread: Wifi calling Question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Feedback Score
    0

    Wifi calling Question

    I have an Alcatel A405DL, My Flip which currently activated on TF/Verizon. I know that Wifi calling is not offered with TF/Verizon. I have a BYOP T Mobil sim, which is unactivated. I put that into the My Flip to see if a setting for WIFI calling would show in the settings. (There is no Wifi Calling setting using the activated TF/Verizon sim). With the unactivated T Mobil sim a Wifi calling option shows, It gives the option of on and off, another option, preferred profile, cellular preferred, wifi preferred, and wifi only. Plus a tutorial on wifi calling. Does this mean wifi calling would work on this phone with T Mobil? I live in an area with poor cell coverage, and wifi calling would be a plus. I figured I would ask the forum members because asking Trac service reps is a waste of time!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,278
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I know lots of the phones support WiFi calling with a T-Mobile based SIM, but you need to have it provisioned right.

    The weird thing is my A51 S515DL with a Verizon based Straight Talk SIM. My A51 did not have WiFi calling till the latest update that updated it to OneUI 2.5.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,919
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Landngroove View Post
    Does this mean wifi calling would work on this phone with T Mobil? I live in an area with poor cell coverage, and wifi calling would be a plus.
    WiFi calling should work with an activated TF/T-Mobile SIM, but you may find the regular network signal is worse. What shows for signal strength when the T-Mobile SIM is installed? Keep in mind that an unactivated SIM will not read the same as an activated one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,633
    Device(s)
    Motorola G6
    Carrier(s)
    Page Pluss
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Landngroove View Post
    1. I have an Alcatel A405DL,
    2. My Flip which currently activated on TF/Verizon.
    3. I have a BYOP T Mobil sim, which is unactivated.
    4. With the unactivated T Mobil sim a Wifi calling option shows,
    5. Does this mean wifi calling would work on this phone with T Mobil?
    Okay.
    1. Me too! I had one on TF/Verizon and another on Page Plus/TF/Verizon.
    2. My TF/Verizon A405DL is currently active on T-Mobile.
    3. I used the SIM from my Kyocera Gold Rewards prepaid phone.
    4. My A405DL shows a choice between VoLTE and VoWIFI. I choose VoWIFI.
    %. My example works.

    HTH
    Regards, FJ

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    300
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm a new TF-VZW customer, and so far things are great except for the lack of Wifi calling on VZW. Totally didn't expect lack of Wifi calling in this day and age. Is it possible to have them ship me an AT&T SIM and transfer my airtime to AT&T? Is this called a "network swap"?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,258
    Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bfavre444 View Post
    I'm a new TF-VZW customer, and so far things are great except for the lack of Wifi calling on VZW. Totally didn't expect lack of Wifi calling in this day and age. Is it possible to have them ship me an AT&T SIM and transfer my airtime to AT&T? Is this called a "network swap"?
    Don't confuse TF reps by using the word "swap", it's a "change". If your phone is BYOP, just transfer service to a new TF/AT&T SIM. If it's a TF-branded phone, you'll have to covince the rep that Verizon doesn't work well in your area.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    WiFi calling should work with an activated TF/T-Mobile SIM, but you may find the regular network signal is worse. What shows for signal strength when the T-Mobile SIM is installed? Keep in mind that an unactivated SIM will not read the same as an activated one.
    You are right. regular T Mo signal is spotty at best. Not worth switching to get wifi calling. But I was surprised to see that this MyFlip supports wifi calling. The specs for it do not mention it, and neither does the tutorial.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,919
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by bfavre444 View Post
    Totally didn't expect lack of Wifi calling in this day and age. Is it possible to have them ship me an AT&T SIM and transfer my airtime to AT&T?
    Not sure if you can get WiFi calling on TF/AT&T. AT&T has been the worst at providing extra features on the MVNOs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,919
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Landngroove View Post
    But I was surprised to see that this MyFlip supports wifi calling. The specs for it do not mention it, and neither does the tutorial.
    Most user guides/tutorials/specs don't mention network specific things like WiFi calling, importing contacts, voicemail, etc. From the old Packard automobile sales brochures: "Ask the man who owns one".

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    57
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Not sure if you can get WiFi calling on TF/AT&T. AT&T has been the worst at providing extra features on the MVNOs.
    I put the ATT sim from the BYOP package in the same phone, and there are no options in the settings for wifi calling. There is an option to turn on volte. Maybe if the sale of Trac to Verizon goes through, wifi calling will be available.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    In the country SW Michigan
    Posts
    175
    Device(s)
    LG K31 Rebel
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone / Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Question... why don't you just download Google Hangouts and Google Hangouts dialer? I have a Google hangout phone number that sends those phone calls to my regular phone. But by using Wi-Fi I avoid having minutes taken off my Tracfone bucket.
    I have a de-activated LG Rebel 4 phone with Hangouts Dialer and Hangouts on it and just tried it out and called my wife's number. Went though fine. I've used it before on phones that have no activation and able to call.. using Wi-Fi and my Google number. Only drawback is you must be close to Wi-Fi and can't use it out in the back 40 since it does not use cell towers to initiate the call.
    I was born with nothing and have managed to keep most of it.
    When I was a kid rocks were soft and dirt was new.

    LG Rebel 4(current house phone) -> LG K31 Rebel(my pack along)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,258
    Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by vljenewein View Post
    Question... why don't you just download Google Hangouts and Google Hangouts dialer?
    Some people like using WiFi Calling because the call can be made/received using their regular cell phone number. When using Google Hangouts and Hangouts Dialer (now combined into the Google "Voice" app), you use your GV number.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    300
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Don't confuse TF reps by using the word "swap", it's a "change". If your phone is BYOP, just transfer service to a new TF/AT&T SIM. If it's a TF-branded phone, you'll have to covince the rep that Verizon doesn't work well in your area.
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Not sure if you can get WiFi calling on TF/AT&T. AT&T has been the worst at providing extra features on the MVNOs.
    Quote Originally Posted by Landngroove View Post
    I put the ATT sim from the BYOP package in the same phone, and there are no options in the settings for wifi calling. There is an option to turn on volte. Maybe if the sale of Trac to Verizon goes through, wifi calling will be available.
    All this anecdotal research on forums that we have to do, just to figure out if WiFi is implemented on each network. What a pain in the a_s_s. Why doesn't Tracfone just own up to it, and put it in the FAQ which networks have it? (Red Pocket puts it in their FAQ). Instead, the TF CSR on the phone simply says "WiFi calling is implemented on all 3 networks" when I called them 2 weeks ago. What a blatant lie.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,919
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by e.mote View Post
    Wifi-calling works depending on a variety of factors--your phone, your wifi environment, your router setup, and your ISP. If everything lines up, it works. But if one thing is weird, the whole thing breaks, and fixing it is beyond the capabilities of most users.

    Providers don't like to put an "optional" feature down in black & white, because then they can be held liable to make it work. Which is impossible for wifi-calling. So it's there if you can make it work, and tough luck if you can't.
    I had a cheap SafeLink Alcatel phone running on T-Mobile that did WiFi calling without any special setup. it has to be allowed on an MVNO by the underlying carrier, which Verizon and AT&T don't.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,398
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Landngroove View Post
    I put the ATT sim from the BYOP package in the same phone, and there are no options in the settings for wifi calling. There is an option to turn on volte. Maybe if the sale of Trac to Verizon goes through, wifi calling will be available.
    tracfone has an option to check eligibility for WIFI calling - https://e911-reg.tracfone.com/wps/po...vZ0FBIS9nQSEh/

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Simple Mobile Wifi Calling Question
    By punisherbv in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-25-2015, 05:50 PM
  2. Roaming and wifi calling questions
    By elrod in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-04-2015, 05:29 AM
  3. Galaxy Light wifi calling question
    By djjim in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-15-2014, 11:40 PM
  4. WiFi Calling Questions - Nokia Lumia 521
    By tmobiley in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-10-2013, 04:20 PM
  5. WiFi Calling Question
    By ItnStln in forum Nexus One™ by Google®
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2011, 07:37 AM

Bookmarks