Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 34

Thread: Hello Mobile ?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    2,235
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S7 Edge, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. D. View Post
    Generally there is now way to manually edit an APN on iOS, unless the carrier specifically provides it. More typically a configuration profile is downloaded and installed, and the one I've seen (Freedompop) is not editable.
    Unless, something changed recently, APNs are editable with iOS on T-Mobile and T-Mobile MVNOs
    Find and compare prepaid plans at https://prepaidcompare.net

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    26
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Null_user View Post
    Thanks, I’ll try this and report back.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    This didn’t work for me, as in no change to the LTE connectivity.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #18
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    2,235
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S7 Edge, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Null_user View Post
    This didn’t work for me, as in no change to the LTE connectivity.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    APNs only affect data and MMS. Can you make calls? If not there's either something wrong on Hello Mobile's end or you have a bad SIM.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    26
    Feedback Score
    0
    I can make calls where 3G service is available.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    690
    Device(s)
    NUU X6 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Hello Mobile, US Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Null_user View Post
    I can make calls where 3G service is available.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Is it possible to send a speedtest.net screenshot. I'm curious if yours will say PWG/Cintex like mine does.
    If so, I know where to find PWG APN settings, if no - might want to try T-Mobile's APN settings.

    (Mine says PWG, but uses T-Mobile's actual APN settings like fast.tmobile.com)

    https://www.t-mobile.com/support/dev...d-apn-settings
    http://wholesale.prepaidwirelessgroup.com/
    Drako Swiftclaw

    Webmaster for Drako's Website Services
    Review Team Member for Drako's Wireless Review
    Independent Tech for DTech Seattle

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    39
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jmac32here View Post
    Is it possible to send a speedtest.net screenshot. I'm curious if yours will say PWG/Cintex like mine does.
    If so, I know where to find PWG APN settings, if no - might want to try T-Mobile's APN settings.

    (Mine says PWG, but uses T-Mobile's actual APN settings like fast.tmobile.com)

    https://www.t-mobile.com/support/dev...d-apn-settings
    http://wholesale.prepaidwirelessgroup.com/
    Is Hello on PWG? I thought they were direct with T-Mobile?

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    398
    Feedback Score
    0
    What does "pwg" stand for? Printer Working Group? What?

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    26
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jmac32here View Post
    Is it possible to send a speedtest.net screenshot. I'm curious if yours will say PWG/Cintex like mine does.
    If so, I know where to find PWG APN settings, if no - might want to try T-Mobile's APN settings.

    (Mine says PWG, but uses T-Mobile's actual APN settings like fast.tmobile.com)

    https://www.t-mobile.com/support/dev...d-apn-settings
    http://wholesale.prepaidwirelessgroup.com/
    I barely have enough signal to send a text, let alone do a Speedtest. Hello Mobile is GARBAGE


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    14,274
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by joseg2016 View Post
    What does "pwg" stand for? Printer Working Group? What?
    Based on the http://wholesale.prepaidwirelessgroup.com/ url posted, I'd guees it stands for "Prepaid Wireless Group".

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    14,274
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Null_user View Post
    I barely have enough signal to send a text, let alone do a Speedtest. Hello Mobile is GARBAGE
    Would the issue be with Hello Mobile, or with the network they use?

    In the case of Hello Mobile, I think they used to use Sprint, and now they use T-Mobile.

    How long have you had your Hello Mobile service? Is your account on the T-Mobile network?

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    690
    Device(s)
    NUU X6 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Hello Mobile, US Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Would the issue be with Hello Mobile, or with the network they use?

    In the case of Hello Mobile, I think they used to use Sprint, and now they use T-Mobile.

    How long have you had your Hello Mobile service? Is your account on the T-Mobile network?
    Finding out they may have some old sprint sims in the mix of sims being sent out too. If your sim is blank with a puk number, itll be on T-Mobile via pwg. (Prepaid Wireless Group, a T-Mobile wholesaler that also powers Cintex and Liberty wireless-since all are under the same ownership.)

    There's another blank unbranded or hm branded sim that i think might be a sprint sim. (No puk as thats a gsm thing)

    Only way to know for sure is to do a speed test using the speedtest.net app or a hidden menu. On Android you can also find out with cell info lite. Ios may require seeing the info on the menu when you call *3001#12345#*

    Btw, any existing hm customers that know they are on sprint get any notifications to migrate to tmo yet?

    Sent from my S6003L using HoFo mobile app

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    26
    Feedback Score
    0
    So, I can’t get any data connection at all with both of my Hello Mobile sims. On occasion, I have 3g signal to make phone calls and send SMS, but it’s rare. Maybe I received a Sprint SIM?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    26
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Would the issue be with Hello Mobile, or with the network they use?

    In the case of Hello Mobile, I think they used to use Sprint, and now they use T-Mobile.

    How long have you had your Hello Mobile service? Is your account on the T-Mobile network?
    I’ve had the service since Saturday. It will occasionally say T-Mobile but Hello Mobile is what it says when I rarely get connectivity.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    26
    Feedback Score
    0
    This pretty well explains my issue:

    https://developer.apple.com/forums/thread/657108


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    690
    Device(s)
    NUU X6 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Hello Mobile, US Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Null_user View Post
    This pretty well explains my issue:

    https://developer.apple.com/forums/thread/657108


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Could be any number of things. Could be a sprint sim, but if so, the sim should say sprint or boost on it.

    Could be you got a gsm wholesale sim (claims stated its a hello branded sim) and since it's wholesale and hm doesn't have their own agreement with apple, if it's not working-it won't work. (This would be apple strong arming hm into a direct agreement with them.)

    I noticed the same kind of issues popping up after Tello got their wholesale agreement changed from sprint to T-Mobile. The new gsm sims might work on ios, might be missing any number of feature, or not work at all. (For me, my iphone lost mms and volte on Tello gsm.)

    So far the only sim that seems to work fine is a non-branded sim that sets you up on T-Mobile through pwg. (Apparently, pwg has said agreement with apple.)

    However check to make sure you are in native T-Mobile coverage since roaming is off by default and not guaranteed.

    Sent from my S6003L using HoFo mobile app

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Hello Mobile
    By VisionsDivine in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 84
    Last Post: Yesterday, 04:10 PM
  2. Hello Mobile is not worth it
    By agalvan in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-16-2020, 09:14 PM
  3. Hello Mobile Customer Service and Activation Problems.
    By DaisyBug in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-30-2019, 04:41 PM
  4. Goodbye Robbers . . . Hello Mobilicity? (in Vancouver)
    By FiveforFighting in forum Mobilicity
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-21-2011, 04:19 PM
  5. HTC HD2 for T-Mobile -- Hello Mobile AWS Router
    By Hahutzy in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-20-2009, 03:38 AM

Bookmarks