Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: How to port landline number to TF

Feedback Score

How to port landline number to TF

I need to port my landline number OUT of ATT and I have several questions.

(1) I plan to port it to tracfone. I've been using TF for many years and I'm fine with the phone parts. I also know that TF has lousy customer service. How likely it is that TF would screw this up (and caused me to lose my landline number, which would be really bad?)

(2) I have a previously-activated LG K31 rebel. It no longer has services, and my plan is to buy a 30-day card to reactive this phone + transfer the landline to it. What are the magic words I should use when I do online chat with the TF customer service reps?

(3) How long would the porting take?

(4) Do I need to do anything with ATT before/after the port? E.g. do I need to tell them in advance where I'm porting my landline number? After TF does its thing, do I need to call ATT to terminate my landline (or is that automatic?) And if I do have to call ATT afterwards, how long should I wait? (e.g. after my K31 has the landline number?)

(5) In case this matters: I plan to move the landline number to google voice; TF is just an intermediate step. How might this after the porting? E.g. do I have to wait 30/60/90/etc days before I can port from TF to GV?

(6) Anything else I might have overlooked? I really need to keep the landline number so I don't want to screw this up. (e.g. if TF is not the way to go, then what are my options --- while keeping the cost down?) Thanks for your help!

Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    The following info is based on my experience from porting my wife's Verizon's postpaid service to TF in 2013.

(1) TF didn't screw up my port-in.

(2) through (4) You need your AT&T account number and PIN. You don't need to tell AT&T that you're terminating service, they'll know when your number has been ported out.