Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Iphone SE - unlocked or not?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0

    Iphone SE - unlocked or not?

    I have a Iphone SE (old version), which I bought new, in box one year ago.
    It was TF branded and included in the box was TF Verizon SIM.
    I activated phone with 1 year TF ATT SIM from ebay. After 1 year passed
    I called TF to unlock the phone, and they refused to do this, because it has BIOP SIM.
    One CSR said that phone should be already unlocked.
    How to check if my phone is unlocked without swapping SIMs?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,371
    Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    * Your phone is not eligible for unlock by TF because you didn't use the original SIM for at least 12 months.

    * The only way I know of to check is to put in a non-TF SIM (doesn't have to be active). If you get a message "Invalid SIM" or similar wording, the phone is not unlocked.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,191
    Device(s)
    TF iPhone SE & 6S, Tracfone Samsung Luna Pro, LG Rebel 4, Fiesta 2
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mtfster View Post
    I have a Iphone SE (old version), which I bought new, in box one year ago.
    It was TF branded and included in the box was TF Verizon SIM.
    I activated phone with 1 year TF ATT SIM from ebay. After 1 year passed
    I called TF to unlock the phone, and they refused to do this, because it has BIOP SIM.
    One CSR said that phone should be already unlocked.
    How to check if my phone is unlocked without swapping SIMs?
    My unlocked TF branded iPhone SE and 6S (which used the sim they came with before they unlocked), in addition to working with any sim I put in there (like a 3UK international sim), show "No SIM Restrictions" in Settings, under About/General next to Carrier Lock:

    Name:  newer.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  43.1 KB

    Locked ones show "SIM locked" next to Carrier Lock.

    Name:  newest.jpg
Views: 72
Size:  4.3 KB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,421
    Feedback Score
    0
    that's the only way to check to see if the phone is actually unlocked, insert a non tracfone sim into the phone.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, mine shows "SIM locked". Oh well, I'll stuck with TF.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,318
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    The main reason why you could not unlock it is you used a BYOP SIM, and in their eyes you never activated the phone long enough to get unlocked.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    7,227
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tracfone will not knowingly allow you to put a BYOP SIM in ANY Tracfone company-branded phone. Branded phones have their own unique SIM. Customers can sneak this by Tracfone... but with the knowledge they will not qualify for TF unlocking the phone.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    7,957
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    Tracfone will not knowingly allow you to put a BYOP SIM in ANY Tracfone company-branded phone. Branded phones have their own unique SIM. Customers can sneak this by Tracfone... but with the knowledge they will not qualify for TF unlocking the phone.
    Common to use a BYOP SIM on branded phones to change carriers, if Tracfone will not re-brand it. Unlocking is not much of an issue with the lower priced Phones. Would seem a good idea to save the original SIM if the phone has to be returned for warranty replacement.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    287
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    Tracfone will not knowingly allow you to put a BYOP SIM in ANY Tracfone company-branded phone. Branded phones have their own unique SIM. Customers can sneak this by Tracfone... but with the knowledge they will not qualify for TF unlocking the phone.
    Just to clarify how the SIM cards qualify for unlocking... Although no one has directly implied this, someone not familiar with the process could read this situation as Tracfone being recalcitrant about being willing to unlock phones. That isn't really the case. Tracfone tracks phones for unlocking by the SIM card number, not by the phone IMEI-- even though the 2 are tied together in Tracfone's database. So if you don't use that original SIM card, Tracfone doesn't have the capability of tracking the phone usage for unlocking. (In theory, they could 'fix' this for Verizon-network phones, but they haven't. It would mean a change to the database they use for tracking-- the SIM card takes priority.)
    My Tello referral code is P3BSR5HV, and gets both of us 10 Tello Dollars to pay for a plan.
    https://tello.com/account/register?_referral=P3BSR5HV

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    After several chats with TF CSRs they unlocked my phone.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,191
    Device(s)
    TF iPhone SE & 6S, Tracfone Samsung Luna Pro, LG Rebel 4, Fiesta 2
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mtfster View Post
    After several chats with TF CSRs they unlocked my phone.
    That's great - congrats on getting that done.

    In addition to "no sim restrictions" in the settings, you may see a mention of it in your transaction/account history.
    I forget exactly how they note it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    287
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mtfster View Post
    After several chats with TF CSRs they unlocked my phone.
    That's great! This is the first report I've seen of success under similar circumstances. Your powers of persuasion must be quite good.

Similar Threads

  1. Apple iPhone SE unlocking code available at the reasonable ratesPrepaid, not found
    By canadagsm.ca in forum Canadagsm.ca Best deals in mobilephones, accessories and unlocking all under one roof
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-09-2017, 05:43 AM
  2. Walmart's Straight Talk iPhones Unlocked or Not?
    By napy666 in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 06-07-2014, 09:08 AM
  3. Help to find an iPhone is unlocked or not
    By afsalva in forum Apple
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-07-2011, 08:57 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-10-2008, 12:31 PM
  5. 3310: to unlock or not unlock?
    By Acelix8260 in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-30-2001, 08:20 PM

Bookmarks