Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Tello 5G

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0

    Tello 5G

    Has anyone observed 5G data with Tello yet? Using an iPhone 12 with Verizon on the eSim and Tello in the SIM card tray.

    https://blog.tello.com/offers/5g-on-tello/


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    109
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes 5G on Tello (T-mobile) on Galaxy S21Ultra.


    My Tello referral code is P3GDVKRX, and gets both of us 10 Tello Dollars to pay for a plan.
    https://tello.com/account/register?_referral=P3GDVKRX

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by power_book View Post
    Yes 5G on Tello (T-mobile) on Galaxy S21Ultra.


    My Tello referral code is P3GDVKRX, and gets both of us 10 Tello Dollars to pay for a plan.
    https://tello.com/account/register?_referral=P3GDVKRX
    Do you think I need a 5G Sim? I have an iPhone 12.

    Here is the Sim I bought:

    Tello Mobile - Bring Your Own Phone - 3 in 1 GSM SIM Card Kit https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B08H5SM9...ing=UTF8&psc=1


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    109
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't think it's SIM dependent.
    All Tello GSM SIM should work with 5G if you have 5G capable and phone 5G service (tower nearby).


    My Tello referral code is P3GDVKRX, and gets both of us 10 Tello Dollars to pay for a plan.
    https://tello.com/account/register?_referral=P3GDVKRX

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    457
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tello is still having problems with the carrier package for iPhones. I don't think there is such a thing as a Tello 5G-specific SIM.
    My Tello referral code is P3BSR5HV, and gets both of us 10 Tello Dollars to pay for a plan.
    https://tello.com/account/register?_referral=P3BSR5HV

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by greenhandle View Post
    Tello is still having problems with the carrier package for iPhones. I don't think there is such a thing as a Tello 5G-specific SIM.
    I was wondering if that was the case. I saw on Reddit that 5G appeared for a short time for some users.

    LTE works fine for the time being.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,902
    Device(s)
    iPhone 12 Pro Max
    Carrier(s)
    Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    T-Mobile has started sending new SIM cards to mobile partners and they’re not recognized by the carrier bundle yet. I wouldn’t expect Apple to fix this until iOS 15 drops later this year and I can confirm it’s not fixed on iOS 15 Dev Beta 2 either.

    Old T-Mobile MVNO SIM cards were 310 260, new ones with Tello, Hello, and possibly Red Pocket seeing how they have the no 5G issue as well are 310 240. Apple devices don’t register that these are T-Mobile SIM cards which is why Tello had to send new cards to get things such as MMS and hotspot working in the first place. It’s all a big mess.

    You can check here for a more detailed explanation of what is happening. It’s for a Verizon MVNO but same problem anyway. https://www.reddit.com/r/Mobi/commen...ssmf&context=3

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by EtherealRemnant View Post
    T-Mobile has started sending new SIM cards to mobile partners and they’re not recognized by the carrier bundle yet. I wouldn’t expect Apple to fix this until iOS 15 drops later this year and I can confirm it’s not fixed on iOS 15 Dev Beta 2 either.

    Old T-Mobile MVNO SIM cards were 310 260, new ones with Tello, Hello, and possibly Red Pocket seeing how they have the no 5G issue as well are 310 240. Apple devices don’t register that these are T-Mobile SIM cards which is why Tello had to send new cards to get things such as MMS and hotspot working in the first place. It’s all a big mess.

    You can check here for a more detailed explanation of what is happening. It’s for a Verizon MVNO but same problem anyway. https://www.reddit.com/r/Mobi/commen...ssmf&context=3
    Very good to know. I have had a good experience with Tello. Easy to manage the account and good T-Mobile service.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    2,273
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S6, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, TracFone, TextNow
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by EtherealRemnant View Post
    T-Mobile has started sending new SIM cards to mobile partners and they’re not recognized by the carrier bundle yet. I wouldn’t expect Apple to fix this until iOS 15 drops later this year and I can confirm it’s not fixed on iOS 15 Dev Beta 2 either.

    Old T-Mobile MVNO SIM cards were 310 260, new ones with Tello, Hello, and possibly Red Pocket seeing how they have the no 5G issue as well are 310 240. Apple devices don’t register that these are T-Mobile SIM cards which is why Tello had to send new cards to get things such as MMS and hotspot working in the first place. It’s all a big mess.

    You can check here for a more detailed explanation of what is happening. It’s for a Verizon MVNO but same problem anyway. https://www.reddit.com/r/Mobi/commen...ssmf&context=3
    Any idea why T-Mobile MVNOs are issuing SIMS with MNC 240? It seems like it just causes problems for users. What's wrong with sticking with MNC 260 which has "just worked" for many years? Is there some benefit to using 240 for either T-Mobile or the MVNOs?
    Last edited by Yeswap; 07-05-2021 at 12:23 AM.
    Find and compare prepaid plans at https://prepaidcompare.net

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,902
    Device(s)
    iPhone 12 Pro Max
    Carrier(s)
    Tello
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Yeswap View Post
    Any idea why T-Mobile MVNOs are issuing SIMS with MNC 240? It seems like it just causes problems for users. What's wrong with sticking with MNC 260 which has "just worked" for many years? Is there some benefit to using 240 for either T-Mobile or the MVNOs?
    I have no idea what their reasoning is. There are a myriad of reasons that this could have happened and only T-Mobile and possibly the MVNOs have any idea.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    10,505
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by greenhandle View Post
    Tello is still having problems with the carrier package for iPhones. I don't think there is such a thing as a Tello 5G-specific SIM.
    No wonder I keep getting prompted for a carrier update on both my iPad and iPhone. I haven't tried my two new Tello SIMs in my 5G enabled phones yet but don't expect any issues. T-Mobile does have newer SIMs ("R15") that support 5G NA specifically but the older ones will work with 5G NSA regardless.
    Castrol EDGE 0W-20 is my drug of choice.

    Primary: iPhone 12 Pro eSIM; Samsung A32 5G
    Secondary: TracFones: iPhone 12 Pro dual-SIM [AT&T] & iPhone XS [Verizon]
    Mobile Broadband: ZTE Z917 LTE hotspot (5GB for $10)

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    CMA003 (Chicagoland)
    Posts
    2,757
    Device(s)
    A bunch
    Carrier(s)
    Most of them
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by EtherealRemnant View Post
    I have no idea what their reasoning is. There are a myriad of reasons that this could have happened and only T-Mobile and possibly the MVNOs have any idea.
    Based on what I’ve seen, it’s probably specifically to break functionality on MVNOs so end users get frustrated and purchase branded service directly from T-Mobile.

    If things “just work” on the MVNOs, what is a customer’s incentive to use their branded services?

    My Tello SIM is pretty much useless since I moved over to T-Mobile from Sprint. I finally got VoLTE working by adding an ims APN but the battery drain is so bad when it’s active I just deleted it and leave it on 3G so I don’t miss calls. I’ll be porting that line out soon.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

Similar Threads

  1. 2.5G: US vs. Canada
    By Koofteh in forum Fido
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-30-2002, 04:35 PM
  2. T68= 2.5g?
    By newton in forum Fido
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2002, 12:32 AM
  3. Is the 8890 a 2 or 2.5G phone?
    By james in forum Nokia
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2002, 09:05 PM
  4. What is 2.5G and 3G? Do we need or want it?
    By skeptical in forum AT&T
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-02-2002, 08:09 PM
  5. Ericsson and CDMA 3G/2.5G
    By DarrenGuy in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2001, 10:15 PM

Bookmarks