Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Verizon network. Any phones have visual indication icon they are active with "HD Voice"?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    65
    Feedback Score
    0

    Verizon network. Any phones have visual indication icon they are active with "HD Voice"?

    Curious, supposedly LTE phones work with HD voice with high quality audio, however I don't seem to notice anyway to actually know if that service is working other than the "LTE" icon on the phone, do any phones with Android have a visual indication they are working in HD voice mode? If so can you set the phone to let you see when the feature is actually active? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    311
    Feedback Score
    0
    It depends on the other person you are looking at on the end. Newer phones are VOLTE compatible so it refers to it as that. I remember owning an Alcatel Android a couple of years ago and it said HD on the call. Some phones continue to work and you call a phone that can't handle it well it won't display.

    You can tell the quality of the voice versus phones without it for sure just do a Skype call and you will see what I mean.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    65
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes my old LG Rebel 4 would display "HD" on the screen when a call with the feature was in progress, but I notice my
    Motorola Moto E doesn't seem to display it on an identical call. Hmmmm.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    311
    Feedback Score
    0
    Probably it is VOLTE now or Android dropped the term HD in one of their updates. My iPhone 6s from TF is a Verizon based iPhone (Originally meant for Total Wireless) and when I make calls you can tell it is VOLTE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    65
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the heads up friend!

    Yes my old Rebel 4 was on Android 8.1 while the moto e is on Android 10.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,395
    Feedback Score
    0
    My Moto says HD besides the names in call log.
    I will be Judged on how I helped the poor, sick & others in need; strangers & loved ones alike.

    Visible (Verizon) UTT & Unlimited Data $25/mo
    Liberty Wireless (T-Mobile) UTT 07.26.21
    T-Mobile Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.05.22
    Truphone (AT&T) every 180 days by 07.04.21

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,833
    Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have these phones:
    * TF-branded Moto G Power 2020 - Android 11 - on TF/Verizon.
    * TF-branded Moto E 2020 - Android 10 - on TF/Verizon.
    * Unlocked Pixel 4a non 5G - Android 11 - on BYOP TF/Verizon.
    * Unlocked Moto E6 - Android 9 or 10 - on Visible.
    * Unlocked LG Q7 - Android 9 - on native T-mo.

    They all show the HD indicator when on a call with a phone on a compatible VoLTE system.

    Here are some screenshots when the Moto G and Moto E called each other.

    Name:  Moto-E-HD-Indicator-on-TF-Verizon.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  15.3 KB

    Name:  Moto-G-Power-HD-Indicator-on-TF-Verizon.jpg
Views: 62
Size:  15.4 KB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    65
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb View Post
    My Moto says HD besides the names in call log.
    Which model phone and which android version?

    Thanks.

    I've got a Moto E and I'm on Android 10.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    65
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've never seen that on my Moto E.

    I did did see HD on my old LG Rebel 4 and LG Solo (android 8.1/ android 9.0)

    Never seen this on my Moto E on exactly the same calls in same exact area. Not good.

    I have to say I've noticed the calls don't sound as good on the Moto E as they did on the LG phones I mentioned.

    Oh yes I am on Tracfone.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    The Swamp
    Posts
    1,504
    Device(s)
    Moto G Stylus, Moto E4 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Liberty Wireless, FreedomPop, Red Pocket (AT&T & Verizon)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zapjb View Post
    My Moto says HD besides the names in call log.
    Other than Motorola not sure what phones indicate HD? I do know that Samsung and iPhones do not indicate HD.

    I can easily tell the difference when on an HD call, but many I know can't tell the difference when I bring it up.

    Sent from my moto g stylus using HoFo mobile app

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,833
    Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post
    Other than Motorola not sure what phones indicate HD? I do know that Samsung and iPhones do not indicate HD.
    Here are screenshots of my LG Q7 on native T-mo and my wife's TF-branded Samsung A50 on TF/Verizon when connected to each other.

    Name:  LG-Q7-HD-Indicator-on-T-mo.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  18.0 KB

    Name:  Samsung-A50-HD-Indicator-on-TF-Verizon.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  16.4 KB

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    The Swamp
    Posts
    1,504
    Device(s)
    Moto G Stylus, Moto E4 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Liberty Wireless, FreedomPop, Red Pocket (AT&T & Verizon)
    Feedback Score
    0
    A coworker has the A50 on Cricket and it doesn't indicate HD. Maybe it is because he is on Cricket?

    I have seen it on an LG Stylo before, but that phone bwould show HD on calls that weren't really HD sometimes. This is back when T-Mobile and Verizon didn't have HD operability.

    Sent from my moto g stylus using HoFo mobile app

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,833
    Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post
    A coworker has the A50 on Cricket and it doesn't indicate HD. Maybe it is because he is on Cricket?
    I don't know if your coworker's A50 is Cricket-branded or BYOD. Cricket uses AT&T and the A50 is not on ATT& List of unlocked devices with HD Voice service .

    Edited: Never mind. I saw the A50 on the list now. My mistake.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1,589
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by N2FUV View Post
    ..............................other than the "LTE" icon on the phone......................
    Keep in mind some phones don't even show LTE on the main screen notification bar with or without VoLTE. Only shows when data is on.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,833
    Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rpz1 View Post
    Keep in mind some phones don't even show LTE on the main screen notification bar with or without VoLTE. Only shows when data is on.
    That's the case with all of my phones (various brands). LTE (or 4G) isn't shown near the signal bars until Data is turned on.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Does any Boost/Sprint phone have Visual Voicemail?
    By magicski in forum Boost Mobile
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-27-2011, 01:45 PM
  2. Verizon allows any phone on their network
    By g.711 in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-30-2007, 03:44 PM
  3. Do any phones have bluetooth?
    By Digerati in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-04-2004, 11:28 AM
  4. Does any phone have this feature?
    By sidneylopsides in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2004, 11:07 AM
  5. Any phone have better reception than 8200?
    By danny_w in forum Sprint
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-19-2004, 11:53 AM

Bookmarks