Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is porting AFTER activation possible?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    30
    Feedback Score
    0

    Is porting AFTER activation possible?

    I have a Verizon acct, but my phone is dying and Verizon is switching me to a new plan anyway as part of their 3G phaseout.

    I picked up a new Tracfone, got it activated and was assigned a new phone number. I wanted to try this phone out before porting my old phone number over from Verizon.

    Since the phone seems to be working ok, will Tracfone allow me to port over my old number to this sim card/phone/account and just discard the currently-assigned Tracfone number?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    8,833
    Device(s)
    LG Q7+, LG Journey, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by boreali View Post
    Since the phone seems to be working ok, will Tracfone allow me to port over my old number to this sim card/phone/account and just discard the currently-assigned Tracfone number?
    I believe you can, but I've only changed the number with another TF-assigned number. Best to ask a TF rep.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,121
    Feedback Score
    0
    I would have a new sim handy in case it's easier/safer for CS to do the "upgrade" this way. Then they can start fresh with a new number/IMEI pairing and transfer the airtime (if any). In-house number changes might involve some sort of internal divorce that doesn't work with ports.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    30
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just chatted with Tracfone. They say it shouldn't be a problem.

    (I asked here first because I thought I would be on hold waiting for customer service forever and I am busy at the moment.)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1,589
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by boreali View Post
    I just chatted with Tracfone. They say it shouldn't be a problem.

    (I asked here first because I thought I would be on hold waiting for customer service forever and I am busy at the moment.)
    "Shouldn't be a problem" is different then "Won't be a problem". Let us know how it goes.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    7,451
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Before you let them do this, as a precaution have them post your remaining airtime (buckets and days) into the chat transcript. Changing a number can de-activate the account, possibly leaving no record of the remaining airtime they must add back with the new phone number.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    129
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rpz1 View Post
    "Shouldn't be a problem" is different then "Won't be a problem". Let us know how it goes.
    I agree 100% with that sentiment.
    In my experience, Tracfone reps have a tendency to say inaccurate/incorrect things.
    And in my experience, things that CAN go wrong, DO go wrong when Tracfone customer service is involved.

Similar Threads

  1. Porting after activation
    By husavik in forum Verizon Prepaid/Visible
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2018, 12:27 PM
  2. Porting after active
    By WorldIRC in forum AT&T Prepaid (formerly GoPhone)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-04-2014, 10:45 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2012, 08:00 PM
  4. Getting FAN discount after activation possible?
    By knownasmichael in forum Apple
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-14-2007, 04:52 PM
  5. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-07-2006, 11:40 AM

Bookmarks