Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 100

Thread: Is T-Mobile Coverage getting Worse or better than when John Legere was there?

  1. #76
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    437
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus Product Red
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Visible, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Name:  IMG_7422.JPG
Views: 68
Size:  51.1 KB

    Used to get service here via a sprint keep (312-250) and now its roaming on Verizon. What a step backwards.

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,623
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    The only way that I'll roam on Verizon is "Emergency Only"

    Sent from my KB2005 using HoFo mobile app
    AT&T... your world, throttled.

  3. #78
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    237
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone X, OnePlus Nord N10 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT and T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is this normal that my T-Mo connection was locked onto 3G (HSPA+ UMTS) with my One Plus Nord N10 5G (T-Mo version)?

    I had only -120 signal strength.My Network settings were on "Automatic" and I have the suite of 4G LTE and 5G. (I occasionally see Sprint 3G on my iPhone, too.)

    Yesterday, I was quite annoyed, and this morning I am more hopeful as the One Plus is connected to N71 SA and my iPhone X is connected to LTE.

    Any words of wisdom or encouragement for those of us suburbia dwellers?

    Sent from my BE2028 using Tapatalk

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    437
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus Product Red
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Visible, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    The only way that I'll roam on Verizon is "Emergency Only"

    Sent from my KB2005 using HoFo mobile app
    Exactly what happened. 15 mins outside the city on the back roads, T-Mo dies. No low band in this area, B2 only + no density = no service.

  5. #80
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    1,227
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Maryland View Post
    Name:  IMG_7422.JPG
Views: 68
Size:  51.1 KB

    Used to get service here via a sprint keep (312-250) and now its roaming on Verizon. What a step backwards.
    What's the icon in the status bar in the upper right corner that's a circle with a slash? Is that indicating no service? I don't see a signal strength indicator in the status bar which makes me wonder if you had no service and what service mode was showing you was the network the phone was trying to connect to. My SGS9 will show the network it's trying to connect to in service mode when searching for a network whether it's registered on it or not.

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    1,227
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    0
    Lower of the upper two racks is a Sprint "keep" site that's getting a TMo upgrade today. Happy to see this happening so quickly!

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

  7. #82
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    437
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus Product Red
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Visible, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 4mula1 View Post
    What's the icon in the status bar in the upper right corner that's a circle with a slash? Is that indicating no service? I don't see a signal strength indicator in the status bar which makes me wonder if you had no service and what service mode was showing you was the network the phone was trying to connect to. My SGS9 will show the network it's trying to connect to in service mode when searching for a network whether it's registered on it or not.
    The icon means no service.

    HPLMN: The PLMN of the sim, in this case sprint, but since I use a sprint sim in a 5G phone it defaults to T-Mobile and will drop back to sprint coverage if there is no T-Mobile coverage- if there is sprint coverage, this case there was and now there is none.

    Serving PLMN: The carrier the phone is connected to. 311-480 = Verizon, 911 only.

  8. #83
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles/Canada
    Posts
    12,623
    Device(s)
    One Plus 8 (T-Mobile), Samsung S10e (AT&T)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by gdrenick74 View Post
    Is this normal that my T-Mo connection was locked onto 3G (HSPA+ UMTS) with my One Plus Nord N10 5G (T-Mo version)?

    I had only -120 signal strength.My Network settings were on "Automatic" and I have the suite of 4G LTE and 5G. (I occasionally see Sprint 3G on my iPhone, too.)

    Yesterday, I was quite annoyed, and this morning I am more hopeful as the One Plus is connected to N71 SA and my iPhone X is connected to LTE.

    Any words of wisdom or encouragement for those of us suburbia dwellers?

    Sent from my BE2028 using Tapatalk
    If you want to force n71 SA on OnePlus, you'll need to go into the menus with *#*#4636#*#* -> Phone Information -> Set Preferred Network Type --> NR only.

  9. #84
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    US
    Posts
    237
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone X, OnePlus Nord N10 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, AT and T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by formercanuck View Post
    If you want to force n71 SA on OnePlus, you'll need to go into the menus with *#*#4636#*#* -> Phone Information -> Set Preferred Network Type --> NR only.
    Thanks!

    Sent from my BE2028 using Tapatalk

  10. #85
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    779
    Device(s)
    NUU X6 Plus
    Carrier(s)
    Hello Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Maryland View Post
    The icon means no service.

    HPLMN: The PLMN of the sim, in this case sprint, but since I use a sprint sim in a 5G phone it defaults to T-Mobile and will drop back to sprint coverage if there is no T-Mobile coverage- if there is sprint coverage, this case there was and now there is none.

    Serving PLMN: The carrier the phone is connected to. 311-480 = Verizon, 911 only.
    Sprint sims only default to TMobile if there is no sprint coverage.

    In the case of 5g, it means it will default to TMobile 5g since there is no sprint 5g anymore - before falling back to sprint lte/cdma - and before falling back to TMobile lte if no sprint lte.

    Sent from my S6003L using HoFo mobile app
    Drako Swiftclaw

    Webmaster for Drako's Website Services
    Review Team Member for Drako's Wireless Review
    Independent Tech for DTech Seattle

  11. #86
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    69
    Feedback Score
    0
    Are PRL updates still a “thing” in the world of 4G and 5G nowadays?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  12. #87
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    The Swamp
    Posts
    1,579
    Device(s)
    Moto G Power, Moto G Stylus, Moto E6
    Carrier(s)
    Liberty Wireless, Tracfone, Red Pocket
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by VoIP2TDM View Post
    Are PRL updates still a “thing” in the world of 4G and 5G nowadays?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    No PRL updates were for CDMA & were no longer needed when LTE came on board.

    Sent from my moto g stylus using HoFo mobile app

  13. #88
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,882
    Device(s)
    iPhone 13 Mini
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    15 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Digital Rules View Post
    No PRL updates were for CDMA & were no longer needed when LTE came on board.

    Sent from my moto g stylus using HoFo mobile app
    Lol yeah I tried to run an update on my phone while in CDMA mode and it never finished.
    “The Internet wasn’t meant to be metered in bits and bytes, so it’s insane that wireless companies are still making you buy it this way. The rate plan is dead — it’s a fossil from a time when wireless was metered by every call or text.” John Legere 1/5/2017

  14. #89
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    437
    Device(s)
    iPhone 8 Plus Product Red
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T, Visible, Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jmac32here View Post
    Sprint sims only default to TMobile if there is no sprint coverage.

    In the case of 5g, it means it will default to TMobile 5g since there is no sprint 5g anymore - before falling back to sprint lte/cdma - and before falling back to TMobile lte if no sprint lte.

    Sent from my S6003L using HoFo mobile app
    False. Sprint sim in a 5G phone defaults to T-Mobile bands no matter what- on LTE / 5G.

    The only time I connect to sprint LTE,3G/1X is when T-Mobile 5G/LTE has no service.

    Went though a 15+ mile dead zone outside of Richmond yesterday. No sprint or T-Mobile. Phone roamed on Verizon and AT&T LTE-911 only.
    Last edited by Maryland; 10-24-2021 at 07:15 AM.

  15. #90
    Join Date
    Oct 2021
    Posts
    69
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Maryland View Post
    False. Sprint sim in a 5G phone defaults to T-Mobile bands no matter what- on LTE / 5G.

    The only time I connect to sprint LTE,3G/1X is when T-Mobile 5G/LTE has no service.

    Went though a 15+ mile dead zone outside of Richmond yesterday. No sprint or T-Mobile. Phone roamed on Verizon and AT&T LTE-911 only.
    Is that when a phone would display emergency only?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 68
    Last Post: 11-26-2013, 01:59 AM
  2. Just me or is 4G coverage getting worse.
    By OPD1026 in forum 4G LTE Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-01-2011, 08:28 PM
  3. Where to buy E720? Worse or better than D500?
    By Mark Larson in forum Samsung
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-28-2005, 09:17 PM
  4. T-Mobile Coverage getting worse.
    By alexp206 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-26-2004, 11:53 PM
  5. Is T-Mobile coverage better than ATTWS?
    By orientblue330 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-14-2003, 04:14 AM

Bookmarks