Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Question about transfer from sim alone

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    1,214
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, 6S, Samsung Luna Pro
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question about transfer from sim alone

    My friend is traveling abroad and will be gone a while. He took his unlocked iPhone with him and left the Tracfone sim here. Is it possible to transfer this account on the sim to another new phone without that sim being in his old phone?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    9,154
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, LG Q7+, LG Q6, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    The SIM doesn't have to be in the old phone to transfer out. BUT:
    * If it's not in any account, all you need is its phone number.
    * If it's in an account, you'll need the PIN of that account.
    Last edited by hpham; 08-30-2021 at 09:18 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    1,214
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, 6S, Samsung Luna Pro
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    OK thanks hpham appreciate it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    1,214
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, 6S, Samsung Luna Pro
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Turns out I don't really need to do this right now.

    But I just did another account transfer from one phone to a new phone and as part of it the CS rep sent a security code to my old phone and I had to give him the code before transfer process started. I don't recall ever having to do that before.

    If it is a new thing, and necessary for transfer process to commence, I wonder if it might stop one from transferring from sim only since you can't give code without a phone attached to it (?)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    9,154
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, LG Q7+, LG Q6, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tomseys View Post
    But I just did another account transfer from one phone to a new phone and as part of it the CS rep sent a security code to my old phone and I had to give him the code before transfer process started. I don't recall ever having to do that before.
    Are both phones in your account? Usually, with both phones in your account, the rep just ask for the account's PIN to verify your ID.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    1,214
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE, 6S, Samsung Luna Pro
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Are both phones in your account? Usually, with both phones in your account, the rep just ask for the account's PIN to verify your ID.

    Well with this transaction/transfer that I just did the old phone was in my online Tracfone account. The new phone is new so not in account yet. After doing transfer the new phone now replaced the old phone in my account.

    But with solo sim sans phone, that sim is associated with an online Tracfone website account (different than my old phone that I transferred away from above) and I know the security pin.

    I'd probably transfer it to new phone though like I just did. Though I don't need to do this atm.
    Last edited by tomseys; 08-31-2021 at 12:00 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 26
    Last Post: 01-27-2008, 09:45 AM
  2. Basic question about transferring SIM card
    By dant0n in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-27-2005, 02:44 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2005, 09:30 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2005, 09:58 AM
  5. question about transferring a # from i1000 to i60
    By One51 in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-12-2003, 11:13 AM

Bookmarks