Thread: Affordable unlock

Feedback Score

Affordable unlock

I am a social worker who often encounters low income individuals. I usually know the best path to affordable wireless. I encountered someone AFTER they locked into Boost by way of purchase of an expensive, locked iPhone SE 2020.

He cannot rely on sharing internet with his roommates so he bit the bullet and upgraded to the $50 unlimited - he had prepaid his account to the point where that was covered for a couple of months.

He must maintain that number on Boost through next March to be eligible for unlock. I know he can get $25 per month unlimited from a couple of other providers. Is there a downgraded Boost mobile plan to hold on to while he waits for unlock? I may loan him a phone on an affordable plan to get him through.

It looks like the $10 per month plan is for new customers only.

I know Boost is a good value for a lot of folks but overselling a poor person a phone with a nasty "no unlock" policy does not make me a big fan at this time. Thanks for any guidance!

Dan

Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    Reminder to all. This is a link free zone. Feel free to name unlocking services but don't post hyperlinks or they will be deleted as SPAM.
    Just another day in paradise.....

Feedback Score
    They have a $35 plan.

If I wanted to save money one thing you can do is buy any cheap smartphone for $50 or less and use it without service for free and use wi-fi hotspots when you want to connect to the internet. You can use google voice to make free calls when connected to the internet.

If he already owns the boost iphone he could use that without service on wi-fi as explained above so he would not need to buy another phone.