Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Coverage in Puerto Rico

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    324
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Coverage in Puerto Rico

    I just got off the phone with Cricket customer service and could not get clear answers to my questions.

    How good is Cricket's partner's coverage?

    Is there a limit on how much data a Cricket customer can use in PR?

    Is there a limit how long a Cricket customer can roam on partner coverage in PR? I may be there several months.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,019
    Feedback Score
    0
    PR should be covered - I have used it there on a few cruises in the past. Should be the same as AT&T coverage map there.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    20,484
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Unless something has changed recently, coverage in PR has been considered as domestic on At&t. No different than any other state in the US. Physical coverage on the island may differ depending on your location/proximity to the local towers.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Western MA
    Posts
    2,048
    Device(s)
    A71 5G, Pixel 3aXL/4a5G, Moto E6/G7 Power/Z3 Play/G6 Play
    Carrier(s)
    H2O, TMO, Xfinity, PagePlus, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    The OP might be referring to the sale of AT&T's operations in Puerto Rico, and whether Liberty Latin America is now a roaming partner, and with what (if any) restrictions.

    https://about.att.com/story/2020/att...n-america.html

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    324
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    That's correct MFrame. I was wondering what the limitations are for Cricket customers roaming on Liberty in PR. My concern is exacerbated by prior experience with roaming limits on other carriers.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,540
    Feedback Score
    0
    according to this - https://community.cricketwireless.co...o-liberty-9835
    nothing will change, everything will stay the same.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    128
    Feedback Score
    0
    If Cricket doesn’t work out while you’re in PR you could temporarily switch to something that uses the T-Mobile network. T-Mobile has native coverage on PR


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    20,484
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    For those still wondering, check out this coverage map: https://www.att.com/maps/reseller.html%3Cbr%20.html. This clearly indicates that Puerto Rico is considered domestic coverage even though the coverage is no longer directly under At&t. They must have created a domestic roaming agreement when the ownership of cellular service changed a few years ago. I don't know if it will perpetually renew or just for a specified # of years, I can only speculate.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-06-2005, 02:34 AM
  2. Coverage in Puerto Rico?
    By slimrob in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-2005, 05:00 AM
  3. Coverage in Puerto Rico and USVI?
    By Cory6188 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-21-2004, 12:59 PM
  4. Is Nextel ever going to have coverage in Puerto Rico?
    By jdogg71 in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 10:50 AM
  5. Is there coverage in Puerto Rico?
    By jdogg71 in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-05-2003, 07:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks