Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: How to Stack a 1 Year Plan to an Existing account?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    63
    Feedback Score
    0

    How to Stack a 1 Year Plan to an Existing account?

    Hello. I picked up a 1 year Tracfone SIM card (AT&T) from EBay for my moms phone. She currently has Tracfone on AT&T towers with about 9 months remaining. What is the best way to add the new SIM card to her account without loosing her remaining time and buckets? Thank you.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    10,220
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, LG Q7+, LG Q6, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is her current phone a BYOP or a TF-branded phone that uses TF/AT&T ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    63
    Feedback Score
    0

    How to Stack a 1 Year Plan to an Existing account?

    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Is her current phone a BYOP or a TF-branded phone that uses TF/AT&T ?
    Her phone was a phone that I received from Tracfone, however, the sim that she is currently using is one which I purchased on EBay using the same seller. I think it comes directly from tracfone. It has been working fine with her phone since September 2021.

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Tracfone-Pr...-127632-2357-0


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    10,220
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, LG Q7+, LG Q6, LG Stylo 4+
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    The usual process was to activate the new Ebay SIM WITH A TRANSFER from her current phone/SIM. Her phone number, buckets/days will be transferred to the new Ebay SIM, then the preloaded units/days of the new SIM will be added to the existing units/days. Then you use the new Ebay SIM in the same phone.

    HOWEVER, here's a sticking point....She's using an Ebay SIM (which is a BYOP SIM) in a TF-branded phone, which is not sanctioned by TF although it works. Lately, people reported that when they tried to activate a BYOP TF/AT&T SIM the rep or TF web site asked for the IMEI of the phone (which TF didn't require before). If the rep or TF asks for the IMEI and you give the IMEI of a TF-branded phone, there's a good chance that it will not be accepted. If that happens, you'll need to provide the IMEI of a BYOP phone that's on AT&T post-3G whitelist. Then you can go back to using the new Ebay SIM (unsanctioned) in her TF-branded phone.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-12-2012, 06:05 PM
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-05-2008, 04:01 AM
  3. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-01-2007, 10:52 AM
  4. How does it work adding BB plan to Family Share?
    By RevToTheRedline in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-12-2007, 08:14 AM
  5. How do you add $5.99 plan to Dash?
    By karmaxdust in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-13-2007, 07:16 PM

Bookmarks