Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: which phone after unlock can be used overseas?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    27
    Feedback Score
    0

    which phone after unlock can be used overseas?

    I read that my unlocked Tracfone Motorola G6 has all the bands needed to be used overseas.
    Is this true?

    Which other Tracfone besides the Motorola G6 also has all the bands?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,127
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Moto G Stylus (2021)
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Overseas can be many places. You need to narrow down the countries or regions.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks
    Last edited by hpham; 05-10-2022 at 10:13 PM. Reason: Added Link

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    27
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Overseas can be many places. You need to narrow down the countries or regions.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks
    It looks like from those links, that I need a smartphone that covers as many of B1, B3, B7, B8, B9, B20, B28 bands as possible because each country and each carrier within a country is different. B31, B40, B41 would be nice too.

    .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,127
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Moto G Stylus (2021)
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    The link below shows a more compact list.
    https://www.giztop.com/4g-lte-bands

    If you travel to many countries and regions, there are universal phones that work almost everywhere but are expensive. Otherwise, just select phones with the bands for the few countries that you plan to visit.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,825
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2, iPhone SE 1, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't konw if this site might be helpful at all. Haven't looked at it in a while.

    https://willmyphonework.net/

    I have a friend who is using an unlocked TF iPhone in Brazil.

    I believe unlocked TF Samsung A51 has all the bands used here (71 etc).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    152
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tomseys View Post
    I don't konw if this site might be helpful at all. Haven't looked at it in a while.

    https://willmyphonework.net/

    I have a friend who is using an unlocked TF iPhone in Brazil.

    I believe TF Samsung A51 has all the bands used here (71 etc).
    I think that's the site I used in the past, but for some reason I haven't been out of the country in a while. Just plugging one of my phones in based on prior travels, it seems to be reasonable up to date.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    27
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    The link below shows a more compact list.
    https://www.giztop.com/4g-lte-bands

    If you travel to many countries and regions, there are universal phones that work almost everywhere but are expensive. Otherwise, just select phones with the bands for the few countries that you plan to visit.
    Taking my Motorola G6 as an example.
    Based on https://www.gsmarena.com/motorola_moto_g6-9000.php , which says the G6 has the 4G bands
    1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29, 30, 38, 41, 66 - USA
    it should have all the bands I need if I go overseas since it has been unlocked by Tracfone.

    Is that right?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    27
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tomseys View Post
    I don't konw if this site might be helpful at all. Haven't looked at it in a while.

    https://willmyphonework.net/

    I have a friend who is using an unlocked TF iPhone in Brazil.

    I believe unlocked TF Samsung A51 has all the bands used here (71 etc).
    Thank you.
    I don't have the smartphone yet.
    I am looking for a new Tracfone to buy and I am looking for a newer one like the Motorola G6 which has most of the bands --- unless Tracfones don't have all the bands listed in GSMarena website.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,825
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2, iPhone SE 1, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well, with the Tracfone branded Samsung phones I was able to use an app to see what bands are available to it once unlocked. And I could force the phone to use a specific band like say T-mobiles B71 to test it. All the while watching it with another app to confirm behavior. This app only works for recent Samsung phones. I'm not sure how accurate those sites are regarding bands and other info.

    I know that unlocked TF branded iPhones generally have all the bands like any iPhone. In Brazil for example almost every major service provider - 11 out of 13, offer 4G LTE service (and some cases also 2G and 3G) for the iPhone 6S A1633 (or any iPhone). Works in China too.

    You can look on manufacturer site as well. Maybe others can tell you if you have a specific phone in mind.
    Last edited by tomseys; 05-11-2022 at 09:15 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,127
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Moto G Stylus (2021)
    Carrier(s)
    TF/AT&T, TF/Verizon, FreeUp
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ieee488 View Post
    Taking my Motorola G6 as an example.
    Based on https://www.gsmarena.com/motorola_moto_g6-9000.php , which says the G6 has the 4G bands
    1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29, 30, 38, 41, 66 - USA
    it should have all the bands I need if I go overseas since it has been unlocked by Tracfone.

    Is that right?
    There's a difference between a Factory-Unlocked phone and a Carrier-Unlocked phone (like a TF-unlocked phone). A factory unlocked phone typically has all the bands for use with multiple carriers in a certain region or worldwide. A carrier-unlocked phone might not have all the bands. An example is an AT&T-branded phone, even when unlocked by AT&T it might not have the bands needed for use with Verizon.

    I'm not sure if a TF-branded Moto G6 has all the bands as a Factory-Unlocked Moto G6. I know that a member of another forum was able to use her unlocked TF-branded phone in Italy. But I don't know if it'd work in China or Australia. Again, "overseas" is too vague.

Similar Threads

  1. Unlocking iPhones bought in the US so they can be used overseas
    By rudeguy in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2014, 08:12 AM
  2. Which Windows Phone 7's can be used on T-Mobile?
    By chronoxg3 in forum Windows
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-26-2011, 10:11 PM
  3. Which AWS phone from WIND can be used as a Wifi Router with a data plan?
    By Hahutzy in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-21-2010, 10:57 AM
  4. can the 6030 be unlocked? to be used overseas in London??
    By 6236inewbie in forum AT&T Prepaid (formerly GoPhone)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2007, 07:47 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-01-2005, 10:37 PM

Bookmarks