Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34

Thread: Cheap Phones w/ LTE Bands 1, 7, 20

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0

    Cheap Phones w/ LTE Bands 1, 7, 20

    Are there any inexpensive phones from Tracfone, Total Wireless, Straight Talk, Simple Mobile, etc. that have LTE bands 1, 7, or 20? These bands are common in Europe. Alternatively, any inexpensive unlocked phones with these bands? Hoping to find something $50 or less, but up to $100 would be considered.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    20,869
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    At that budget, it will be difficult to locate. You might find a used phone at that price, but not likely through a local retail site.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,329
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I downloaded and ran the Samsung Band Selection app on my TF-unlocked A51 and it shows the A51 has these bands. If you don't mind a big phone, the A51 is a very good phone: just got Android 12, has 6.5" high-res 1080 screen, 128GB internal memory, 4GB RAM, earphone jack, SD card slot, etc. TF sells the refurbished A51 (like new) on their web site on and off for $69.99 which is a very good deal. I'm using my TF-unlocked A51 with an AT&T FreeUP SIM and it has VoLTE calls.

    Name:  Samsung-A51-Bands-1.jpg
Views: 110
Size:  24.2 KB

    Name:  Samsung-A51-Bands-2.jpg
Views: 112
Size:  21.8 KB

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    695
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mobile_nut View Post
    Are there any inexpensive phones from Tracfone, Total Wireless, Straight Talk, Simple Mobile, etc. that have LTE bands 1, 7, or 20? These bands are common in Europe. Alternatively, any inexpensive unlocked phones with these bands? Hoping to find something $50 or less, but up to $100 would be considered.
    I looked up on gsmarena, and these three Tracfone phones all have bands 1 and 7. And they're all priced $60 and under (new, refurb, refurb respectively).

    See https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php...&idPhone3=9999 - you'll have to click on the little arrow in 'Network' to see the bands.

    Actually, I'm impressed! I didn't expect Tracfone to have so many of these phone models that could potentially be used in Europe!
    You can activate new service on Tracfone and get $80 by using my referral code (you get 8,000 rewards points - that's $80 in service or a brand new phone!)
    You can sign up for Red Pocket and get $25 off your monthly-plan order using my referral code. Feel free to PM me for the codes. Thank you!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sillyette: thank you. Motorola g pure, slang galaxy 02s, and what's the third? I only see 2, and see no bands listed. Which is new and has bands 1 and 7?

    Hpham: thank you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sillyette: I see now you said click through to see bands. Sorry. Still only see 2 phones.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,329
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mobile_nut View Post
    Sillyette: thank you. Motorola g pure, slang galaxy 02s, and what's the third? I only see 2, and see no bands listed. Which is new and has bands 1 and 7?
    If you use a mobile device to view the site that sillyette linked to, you won't see "the full picture". The screenshot below shows what I saw using my laptop. On the far right of the "NETWORK" line, there's a tiny triangle to toggle more/less information. Click on it to see the expanded info with the bands listed.

    Name:  Phones-with-Bands-1-and-7.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  60.4 KB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks hpham. Nice of you to create the annotated screenshot. I viewed Boz's thread about Samsung Galaxy a02s vs Motorola G pure. He went with Pure due to it's fingerprint reader and presence on the ATT list, but pointed out a02s has better specs. Also, a02s has LTE 1,7,20; Pure is missing 20.

    Everyone, which is best?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    42
    Feedback Score
    0

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,329
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mobile_nut View Post
    Also, a02s has LTE 1,7,20; Pure is missing 20. Everyone, which is best?
    If you're saying the A02s has band 20 because the info at gsmarena says so, I wouldn't count on it. Gsmarena says the A51 has band 20, but as I mentioned previously I ran the Samsung Band Selection app on my TF-branded A51 and it does NOT have band 20.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,855
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2, iPhone SE 1, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    If you're saying the A02s has band 20 because the info at gsmarena says so, I wouldn't count on it. Gsmarena says the A51 has band 20, but as I mentioned previously I ran the Samsung Band Selection app on my TF-branded A51 and it does NOT have band 20.
    I have a TF/V sim in A51 and Samsung band selection app shows LTE band 20. Phone is not active so I don't think I can select it and force it to be used.


    Name:  tfv.jpg
Views: 87
Size:  29.6 KB


    Some sites show the A51 does not have LTE B71. But it does have it and appears when you put in T-mobile sim. I was able to select it and force it to be used with the selection app which I confirmed with network app. I believe it will stay even if you change sims.

    What kind of sim you have in there.. is it AT&T?

    I believe the app only shows available bands related to network sim you put in. Not a complete list of bands that are available to the phone.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,329
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, I have a FreeUp AT&T SIM in my A51 and the screen shots posted early do not show band 20.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,855
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2, iPhone SE 1, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah you have the important 12 band for AT&T there. I think someone said in another thread that 17 in not necessary with 12 around.

    In addition to not showing B20, your image also doesn't show B71... that's because you are using AT&T and not T-mobile.

    If you put a T-mobile sim in, you will get a different collection of bands with the samsung band selection app including B71 and t-mobile specfic bands with some repeats. And you can select them with the app and force them to be used. You can confirm using network cell info app simultaneously. This is to confirm that the phone can actually work with the band. And if a particular band works well you can set it to always use it.

    In my location, B71 worked well when I forced the phone to only use B71. This was when I was using Tello.

    With my TF/Verizon sim in, I don't see band 12 or 71, but I do see Verizon specific B13 and it also shows B20.
    Last edited by tomseys; 05-17-2022 at 07:46 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Western MA
    Posts
    2,159
    Device(s)
    S22+/A51/A71 5G, Pixel 3aXL/4a5G, Moto G7 Power/Z3 Play/One 5G Ace
    Carrier(s)
    H2O, TMO, Xfinity, Fi, PagePlus, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    The following is what is listed by PhoneScoop. They tend to have pretty accurate specs for the USA version of phones. Since TracFone originally had these phones usable on all carriers, I suspect their A51 has all the bands.

    Network Bands

    LTE 4G
    band 2 / 1900 MHz PCS (Americas)
    band 3 / 1800 MHz DCS (Europe, Asia, Africa)
    band 4 / 1700 MHz AWS (Americas)
    band 5 / 850 MHz Cellular (Americas, Oceania, Brazil, Israel)
    band 7 / 2600 MHz IMT-E (Canada, South America, Europe, Asia)
    band 12 / 700 MHz Lower 700 (USA)
    band 13 / 750 MHz Upper 700 (USA (Verizon))
    band 14 / 700 MHz Public Safety (USA)
    band 20 / 800 MHz EU Digital Dividend (Europe)
    band 25 / 1900 MHz PCS+G (USA (T-Mobile))
    band 26 / 850 MHz Extended Cellular (USA (T-Mobile))
    band 28 / 700 MHz APT (Oceana, Asia, Central America)
    band 30 / 2300 MHz WCS (Americas (AT&T))
    band 41 / 2500 MHz BRS / EBS (USA (T-Mobile))
    band 66 / 1700 MHz AWS-3 (Americas)
    band 71 / 600 MHz 600 (USA (T-Mobile))

    WCDMA 3G
    band 1 (I) / 2100 MHz IMT (Europe, Asia, Africa, Oceania, Brazil, India, Israel)
    band 2 (II) / 1900 MHz PCS (Americas)
    band 4 (IV) / 1700 MHz AWS (Americas)
    band 5 (V) / 850 MHz Cellular (Americas, Oceania, Brazil, Israel)
    band 8 (VIII) / 900 MHz (Europe, Asia, Africa)

    CDMA 2G / 3G
    band 27 / BC10 / 800 MHz ESMR (Americas (T-Mobile))
    band 5 / BC0 / 850 MHz Cellular (Americas, Oceania, Brazil, Israel)
    band 2 / BC1 / 1900 MHz PCS (Americas)

    GSM 2G
    band 5 / 850 MHz Cellular (Americas, Oceania, Brazil, Israel)
    band 8 / 900 MHz (Europe, Asia, Africa)
    band 3 / 1800 MHz DCS (Europe, Asia, Africa)
    band 2 / 1900 MHz PCS (Americas)

    NOTE: not all carrier-sold versions support all bands
    Data Technology LTE (Cat 12)

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,855
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2, iPhone SE 1, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah PhoneScoop was one site that I found that matched what I saw on the phone IIRC.
    One of only a couple or so that listed B71 a few months ago.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Cricket Phone Shows LTE Band 17 but not H20 Phone
    By actinic in forum h2o Wireless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-25-2016, 10:08 AM
  2. Replies: 27
    Last Post: 08-27-2015, 04:12 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2014, 08:46 PM
  4. WTB: Cheap phone with 900 band
    By george2350 in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2005, 10:30 AM
  5. Need a cheap Dual or Tri band phone
    By Fozzie Bear in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-28-2003, 09:13 PM

Bookmarks