Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Harvesting buckets before phone goes inactive

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    113
    Feedback Score
    0

    Harvesting buckets before phone goes inactive

    Is there any way to harvest the buckets from a phone I don't want to use anymore and will let it go inactive or are they just lost?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    6,477
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by winner123 View Post
    Is there any way to harvest the buckets from a phone I don't want to use anymore and will let it go inactive or are they just lost?
    You can transfer them to another line when the new line is activated. That's about it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    697
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by winner123 View Post
    Is there any way to harvest the buckets from a phone I don't want to use anymore and will let it go inactive or are they just lost?
    I know someone who was totally disgruntled with Tracfone.

    He had a whole lot of minutes left. He wanted to spite Tracfone by using up all his minutes, so he found a bunch of random international phone numbers belonging to companies (like automated customer service kinda numbers) and used up his minutes by calling them.

    (Apparently TF has some conversion factor of 1 international minute = x domestic minutes).
    You can activate new service on Tracfone and get $80 by using my referral code (you get 8,000 rewards points - that's $80 in service or a brand new phone!)
    You can sign up for Red Pocket and get $25 off your monthly-plan order using my referral code. Feel free to PM me for the codes. Thank you!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,354
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sillyette View Post
    I know someone who was totally disgruntled with Tracfone.

    He had a whole lot of minutes left. He wanted to spite Tracfone by using up all his minutes, so he found a bunch of random international phone numbers belonging to companies (like automated customer service kinda numbers) and used up his minutes by calling them.
    Could've sold them on Ebay.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    61
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6233
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Could've sold them on Ebay.
    How does that work? sell the buckets or sell the phone with the buckets?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,354
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hapollo8 View Post
    How does that work? sell the buckets or sell the phone with the buckets?
    Sell the phone with the buckets. Some people might have a need for a phone with lots of minute and/or days. They don't care what phone it is. If they don't like the current number of that phone, they can text MINC to 611611 and get a new number assigned to it.

    The OP can contact TF and asks the rep to ADD/COMBINE the remaining units/days of the little-used phone to another active phone. I did that whenever one of my temporary phones was no longer needed.

    EDITED: with current Unlimited Plan, the value of the minutes/texts probably isn't much, but service days still hold their value.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    113
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post

    The OP can contact TF and asks the rep to ADD/COMBINE the remaining units/days of the little-used phone to another active phone. I did that whenever one of my temporary phones was no longer needed.
    Yes, that is what I was hoping I could do. Will TF still do that?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,354
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by winner123 View Post
    Yes, that is what I was hoping I could do. Will TF still do that?
    Most recent time I did it was on 4/19/22.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15,410
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a XL; Moto E4; LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    Google Voice; T-Mobile Postpaid Mobile Data; FreedomPop; FreeUp; Dent; 3UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by winner123 View Post
    Yes, that is what I was hoping I could do. Will TF still do that?
    I had TF chat combine balances from a no-longer-needed-line to another line on 5/25/22, and it was quick and easy.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    234
    Feedback Score
    0
    Lol quick and easy... I'm trying to do it today... First couldn't get chat to work. Next the rep said I had zero data left on one line, even though I've never even inserted the sim card, and my online balance that I can see proves it. Their system "disagreed" . They did say sorry but didn't do anything else. I'm on another chat now.

    Sent from my Z6530V using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15,410
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a XL; Moto E4; LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    Google Voice; T-Mobile Postpaid Mobile Data; FreedomPop; FreeUp; Dent; 3UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cwshop View Post
    the rep said I had zero data left on one line, even though I've never even inserted the sim card, and my online balance that I can see proves it. Their system "disagreed" .
    I've actually never experienced that, where the balance I see is different from what a chat CSR sees! Good luck getting it resolved!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    463
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    I've actually never experienced that, where the balance I see is different from what a chat CSR sees! Good luck getting it resolved!
    I have, on txt balance, BYOP T-Mobile Sim. 611611 showed correct, app and TracFone rep showed zero.
    I merged it into another line and lost it, eaiser than trying to get it fixed. Wasn't worth the aggravation of fixing it.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    234
    Feedback Score
    0
    The next rep I got agreed with the balance my online account showed, not sure what was going on with the first rep.

    Sent from my Z6530V using Tapatalk

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15,410
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a XL; Moto E4; LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    Google Voice; T-Mobile Postpaid Mobile Data; FreedomPop; FreeUp; Dent; 3UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Good! The tried and true method...politely cycle through CSRs until you find a competent one!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,860
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2, iPhone SE 1, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've done about 10 merges in the past 2 months. All went fine. I just did one a few minutes ago. The first chat rep I tried for this few minutes ago merge gave me bad vibes so I cancelled that chat and did another one and that went through fine.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can I Change How Many Times The Phone Will Ring Before it Goes To Voicemail?
    By fidolove in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-31-2010, 05:47 PM
  2. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-17-2007, 04:58 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-06-2005, 11:20 AM
  4. Before this phone goes out the window......
    By dougproctor in forum Other Phones
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-19-2005, 06:42 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-15-2002, 12:46 PM

Bookmarks