Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Why does ST want me to switch from AT&T to Verizon service?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0

    Why does ST want me to switch from AT&T to Verizon service?

    My wife's ST account has been after her to switch from AT&T to Verizon service.
    They are now texting that they will interrupt an outgoing call soon to talk to her about this.
    She wants to stay with AT&T.
    Are the AT&T service users being forced to change?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2,351
    Feedback Score
    0
    Because Verizon bought Tracfone (which includes StraighTalk) in November '21. The acquisition agreement states that if you're in a Verizon service area you will be transitioned to Verizon. If you're not in a Verizon service area you have 2-3 years to find a new provider.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    21
    Feedback Score
    0
    There's been a lot of discussion about this on the Tracfone (aka Straight Talk's parent company) page:

    https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...-from-Tracfone


    https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...-me-to-Verizon

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rpz1 View Post
    Because Verizon bought Tracfone (which includes StraighTalk) in November '21. The acquisition agreement states that if you're in a Verizon service area you will be transitioned to Verizon. If you're not in a Verizon service area you have 2-3 years to find a new provider.
    Thank you!



    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by newbiedewbie View Post
    There's been a lot of discussion about this on the Tracfone (aka Straight Talk's parent company) page:

    https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...-from-Tracfone


    https://www.howardforums.com/showthr...-me-to-Verizon
    Thanks!


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    8,296
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by IonP View Post
    My wife's ST account has been after her to switch from AT&T to Verizon service.
    Is this an ST branded phone that came set up to run on AT&T? Most Tracfone companies did not, being either Verizon or T-Mobile. What is the exact phone model? If there is any signal in a given Area Code they might say you have service, but it may be mostly unusable where you go. An example is in my area where T-Mobile is strong in town, but craps out a few miles away.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by loboheeler View Post
    Is this an ST branded phone that came set up to run on AT&T? Most Tracfone companies did not, being either Verizon or T-Mobile. What is the exact phone model? If there is any signal in a given Area Code they might say you have service, but it may be mostly unusable where you go. An example is in my area where T-Mobile is strong in town, but craps out a few miles away.
    Thanks for responding.
    I have all the info I need.

    At this point, it we are planning on moving that iPhone X to AT&T prepaid.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

Similar Threads

  1. Why does RingTo want me to sign into my facebook account?
    By MrLaserman in forum Landline Replacement / VOIP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2015, 07:54 AM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-11-2015, 06:53 PM
  3. Replies: 73
    Last Post: 02-10-2012, 07:59 PM
  4. HSPA: Huawei stick - why does it want me to install Microsoft office?
    By datmaster in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-14-2010, 03:41 AM
  5. Sell me on switching from a VZW Treo to a Tmo Wing...
    By dcat14 in forum Windows Mobile Devices
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-04-2007, 06:48 PM

Bookmarks