Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Xiaomi Mi 9 SE no signal on GSMA AT&T MVNO (FreedomPop)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Battlefield
    Posts
    546
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S10e
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0

    Xiaomi Mi 9 SE no signal on GSMA AT&T MVNO (FreedomPop)

    Haven't used my Xiaomi Mi 9 SE for awhile. It was fine a few months ago. Tried to use it this week and noticed it's "No signal", zero bars, "x" through the empty bars. It's on a FreedomPop GSMA SIM. My T-Mobile SIM still works fine in it. Swapped to a different FreedomPop GSMA SIM and also no signal.

    I knew about the 3G sunset. I thought that'd kill voice and text, but thought I'd still get 4G LTE data. Have they actually completely banned non-whitelisted devices from even receiving a cellular signal altogether?
    Shawn

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    DC-MD-VA
    Posts
    1,085
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Mint, Red Pocket
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm still using my ZTE ZMax 2 (Android 6) as a hotspot on GSMA/Red Pocket.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,641
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat View Post
    Haven't used my Xiaomi Mi 9 SE for awhile. It was fine a few months ago. Tried to use it this week and noticed it's "No signal", zero bars, "x" through the empty bars. It's on a FreedomPop GSMA SIM. My T-Mobile SIM still works fine in it. Swapped to a different FreedomPop GSMA SIM and also no signal.

    I knew about the 3G sunset. I thought that'd kill voice and text, but thought I'd still get 4G LTE data. Have they actually completely banned non-whitelisted devices from even receiving a cellular signal altogether?
    could this be the reason the phone is not working on AT&T ?? - https://apn.gishan.net/en/apn/freedompop/xiaomi-mi-9-se

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Battlefield
    Posts
    546
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S10e
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    could this be the reason the phone is not working on AT&T ?? - https://apn.gishan.net/en/apn/freedompop/xiaomi-mi-9-se
    Hmmm, I don't think that's it. Those look like old Legacy SIM APNs. Premium SIM should be this:
    https://support.freedompop.com/hc/en...-configuration

    Usually if the APN is wrong, data won't work, but there's still a signal.

    I did see some references on AT&T's forum that seem to imply they do IMEI sweeps and ban phones from their network if it's not on their whitelist. I don't know if an IMEI ban means it'll see no signal at all.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,641
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat View Post
    Hmmm, I don't think that's it. Those look like old Legacy SIM APNs. Premium SIM should be this:
    https://support.freedompop.com/hc/en...-configuration

    Usually if the APN is wrong, data won't work, but there's still a signal.

    I did see some references on AT&T's forum that seem to imply they do IMEI sweeps and ban phones from their network if it's not on their whitelist. I don't know if an IMEI ban means it'll see no signal at all.

    could be that the phone lacks the required bands for AT&T LTE - https://forums.att.com/conversations...d5f2f606ed19ea

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Battlefield
    Posts
    546
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S10e
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    could be that the phone lacks the required bands for AT&T LTE - https://forums.att.com/conversations...d5f2f606ed19ea
    Maybe that's it. I had assumed it supported AT&T LTE bands, but maybe it doesn't. It always said 4G, but I know some phones would say 4G when they were really HSPDA+.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,778
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sounds like it might be that your phone is not on the approved list for AT&T.

    You can see this list on this page: https://www.att.com/support/article/wireless/KM1324171/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Battlefield
    Posts
    546
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S10e
    Carrier(s)
    FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
    Sounds like it might be that your phone is not on the approved list for AT&T.

    You can see this list on this page: https://www.att.com/support/article/wireless/KM1324171/
    I know for fact no Xiaomi is on that list, but shouldn't LTE data work?

    Anyway, I think it doesn't even support AT&T LTE bands, nor T-Mobile either. Currently it works on T-Mobile connected through HSPA, though it says "4G" on the bars. An LTE Discovery app confirmed it's not really 4G LTE. Looks like only network it could possibly work on in the US after all 3G is shut down is Verizon.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,778
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    No one really knew what was going to happen with phones that did not support VoLTE but supported LTE after their date.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    2,639
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 8T, Samsung Galaxy S22, Apple iPad Air 4th Gen (WiFi)
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint, Project Genesis (Dish), FreedomPop (AT&T)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Xiaomi Mi 9 SE no signal on GSMA AT&T MVNO (FreedomPop)

    Quote Originally Posted by GnatGoSplat View Post
    I know for fact no Xiaomi is on that list, but shouldn't LTE data work?

    Anyway, I think it doesn't even support AT&T LTE bands, nor T-Mobile either. Currently it works on T-Mobile connected through HSPA, though it says "4G" on the bars. An LTE Discovery app confirmed it's not really 4G LTE. Looks like only network it could possibly work on in the US after all 3G is shut down is Verizon.
    If it isn’t on the list or otherwise been whitelisted, no voice capable SIMs will work at all, Not even for data. The voice capable SIM authenticate using the IMEI and denies if it isn’t whitelisted now.

    VoLTE requirements on all US carriers now has made buying an unlocked device limited to devices that are aimed for the US market, and Xiaomi isn’t willing to invest in the US market after being banned during the previous administration's xenophobic China policy.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    My common forum nick: GenesisDH.

    R.I.P. Circuit City

    We are the Bor... the new AT&T: Your World, Assimilated.

    1000th post: Sept. 29th, 2008, 17:42 CDT

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-15-2004, 09:22 AM
  2. V60 no signal on Rogers ATT..Please help
    By s3yang in forum Motorola
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-29-2003, 08:48 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-04-2002, 01:04 PM
  4. Almost no signal on nokia 8290 & Cingular
    By GKx in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2002, 01:49 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-16-2002, 07:26 PM

Bookmarks