Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Older BYOP SIMs expired? SIM swap on Verizon?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    369
    Feedback Score
    0

    Older BYOP SIMs expired? SIM swap on Verizon?

    I tried to do a service transfer from a Verizon BYOP to a new Verizon BYOP. I have a bunch of BYOP kits from 2016 (Family Dollar deal).

    • I gave the rep the IMEI of the new phone and the new SIM number,
    • He replied "I'm sorry but I cannot pull up the IMEI and SIM number."
    • I clarified that it was a BYOP. He asked if I'd purchased a BYOP SIM
    • I said yes, and gave the # again.
    • He replied "I'm sorry but I still can't pull up the SIM number."
    • He said "You need the BYOP SIM card kit and it has 3 different SIM cards. AT&T, T-Mobile and Verizon."
    • I said this was from an older (2 carrier) kit, and he said I need a new one.
    • I tried a second SIM from the same vintage - same result.
    • I asked if I could transfer using the old SIM.
    • He said, "You can try."
    • I asked if he would do the transfer, or if I should just move the SIM.
    • He said just move the SIM.
    • I gave him the old SIM number and he verified that it is active.
    • I gave him the IMEI of the new phone, and he said, "I can only pull up an account which is branded Tracfone."
    • I moved the SIM, and everything is working.
    • He insisted that is all, and there's nothing he can do.


    So - three questions:
    1. Was this chat rep competent, or should I have bailed and tried again?
    2. Are the SIMs from that vintage expired?
    3. Is my service safe with the SIM swap, or do I need to do some follow-up?


    Thanks!
    Last edited by Serial Port; 06-09-2022 at 05:01 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,354
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Things are changed/messed up with TF nowadays I don't know what the correct answers are anymore.
    * As far as I know, only TF/T-mo SIMs have expiration date.
    * I don't know if TF/VZ does "auto-pairing" nowadays. If they do, then your new BYOP TF/VZ is automatically paired with the IMEI of the phone that it is in. If they don't, then the phone's IMEI is still paired to the old SIM. You can text FOUR to 611611 from your phone with the new SIM and see what 4-digit number it sends back.
    - If it sends back the last 4 digits of the SIM number, it doesn't mean much.
    - If it sends back the last 4 digits of the new phone's IMEI, then autopairing occured, which is good.
    - If it sends back the last 4 digits of the old phone's IMEI, then the SIM is still paired to the old phone. That COULD cause you some problems.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    369
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks, hpham! I texted FOUR and got back the last four digits of the new/current IMEI.

    Also, my account shows that the device was activated today. It shows the correct SIM number, and for Device lists "Device unknown". So it looks like Verizon is auto-pairing the device and SIM, but not making that visible to most layers within TF.

    I'd love to hear if other folks are able to use SIMs from 2016
    Last edited by phone_bob; 06-09-2022 at 04:21 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,778
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Things are changed/messed up with TF nowadays I don't know what the correct answers are anymore.
    * As far as I know, only TF/T-mo SIMs have expiration date.
    * I don't know if TF/VZ does "auto-pairing" nowadays. If they do, then your new BYOP TF/VZ is automatically paired with the IMEI of the phone that it is in. If they don't, then the phone's IMEI is still paired to the old SIM. You can text FOUR to 611611 from your phone with the new SIM and see what 4-digit number it sends back.
    - If it sends back the last 4 digits of the SIM number, it doesn't mean much.
    - If it sends back the last 4 digits of the new phone's IMEI, then autopairing occured, which is good.
    - If it sends back the last 4 digits of the old phone's IMEI, then the SIM is still paired to the old phone. That COULD cause you some problems.
    Yep. It is hard to keep track of these changes, or even if these charge will work with other people too.

    It is just like over at reddit, people have been having reset phones to get data back, or even change the APN manually because their phone all the sudden lose data.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,778
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by phone_bob View Post
    Thanks, hpham! I texted FOUR and got back the last four digits of the new/current IMEI.

    Also, my account shows that the device was activated today. It shows the SIM number, and for
    Device: lists "Device unknown". So it looks like Verizon is auto-pairing the device and SIM, but not making that visible to most layers within TF.

    I'd love to hear if other folks are able to use SIMs from 2016
    What device are you using if I can ask that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    369
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
    What device are you using if I can ask that?
    The old device was an LG G3. The new one is an LG G6.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,778
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by phone_bob View Post
    The old device was an LG G3. The new one is an LG G6.
    What model is the LG G6 then?

    It is one of those phones that has multi-model numbers for a model name.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,354
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by phone_bob View Post
    It shows the correct SIM number, and for Device lists "Device unknown". So it looks like Verizon is auto-pairing the device and SIM, but not making that visible to most layers within TF.
    With a BYOP line, TF will show the SIM number and the nickname you gave the line. With a TF-branded device, it shows the phone model and the IMEI of that phone.

    Name:  Tracfone-Device-BYOP-SIM-masked.jpg
Views: 123
Size:  13.2 KB

    Name:  Tracfone-Device-Phone-masked.jpg
Views: 122
Size:  21.4 KB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,354
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by phone_bob View Post
    I tried to do a service transfer from a Verizon BYOP to a new Verizon BYOP. I have a bunch of BYOP kits from 2016 (Family Dollar deal).

    • I clarified that it was a BYOP. He asked if I'd purchased a BYOP SIM
    • I said yes, and gave the # again.
    • He replied "I'm sorry but I still can't pull up the SIM number."
    • I tried a second SIM from the same vintage - same result.
    • Are the SIMs from that vintage expired?
    I though some more about this...Those Family Dollar SIM Kits have TMFL. Maybe Verizon no longer wants to activate SIMs with TMFL and had removed those SIM numbers from their database, resulting in "Invalid SIM/Device" when you want to activate them.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    267
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy A52 5G
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone (BYOP AT&T SIM)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    I though some more about this...Those Family Dollar SIM Kits have TMFL. Maybe Verizon no longer wants to activate SIMs with TMFL and had removed those SIM numbers from their database, resulting in "Invalid SIM/Device" when you want to activate them.
    I tried to activate a few TMFL SIMs back in Dec/Jan and it was a no go. I had to use SIMs from a new kit I got at Best Buy. On one line the old TMFL did get transferred and on the other it didn't.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-16-2009, 07:04 PM
  2. SIM Swap on 8125 and WM5/6
    By zephxiii in forum HTC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 12:23 PM
  3. Sim Swap on 5/2006 wont let upgrade
    By medic5240 in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-12-2006, 07:20 AM
  4. sim swap on the i860 to bb 7520
    By blizzerd in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-08-2005, 02:08 AM
  5. Number Swap on Fido Sims?
    By d2511 in forum Fido
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-09-2004, 04:42 PM

Bookmarks