Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Can I do this and how?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    588
    Feedback Score
    0

    Can I do this and how?

    I have a tracfone Mot G pure than will soon be unlocked (after 61 days) on tracfone verizon. I also have a Moto G7 play on tracfone ATT.
    I would like to transfer my G7 play number and balance over to the Moto G pure. And I would like to use tracfone ATT on the Moto G pure.
    I have a new att sim.
    What is the best way to move everything over to the Pure and have att service?
    Thank you in advance for your suggestions.
    KC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6,955
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think you'll need a 3rd phone.
    I will be Judged on how I helped the poor, sick & others in need; strangers & loved ones alike.

    My plans:
    Visible (Verizon) UTT & Unlimited Data $25/mo
    Liberty Wireless (T-Mobile) UTT 09.06.22
    T-Mobile Gold Rewards $10yr exp 01.03.23
    Truphone (AT&T) every 180 days by 07.18.22

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,354
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is the Moto G7 Play a TF-branded phone or BYOP?

    * If the G7 Play is BYOP, you can simply swap its BYOP TF/AT&T SIM into the G Pure.
    * If the G7 Play is TF-branded, you'll need to activate a BYOP TF/AT&T SIM with a transfer from the G7. Do it yourself on TF web site. I think if you use a rep then the rep will ask for the phone's IMEI and might not accept the G Pure's IMEI.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    588
    Feedback Score
    0
    The G play is a BYOP.
    Thank you, I will give it a try with the sim swap when the phone becomes unlocked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1,272
    Feedback Score
    0
    when i put an active BYOD/ATT Tracfone SIM in a locked tracfone a51 that had been activated on a new line(using the included Verizon SIM) the a51 still unlocked after the 61 days. i also did the same with a Nokia G300 that also unlocked after the 61 days even though the SIM was removed and the BYOD/ATT SIM used in its place.

    of course my outcome does not guarantee your outcome would not be different.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    697
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kc classic View Post
    I have a tracfone Mot G pure than will soon be unlocked (after 61 days) on tracfone verizon. I also have a Moto G7 play on tracfone ATT.
    I would like to transfer my G7 play number and balance over to the Moto G pure. And I would like to use tracfone ATT on the Moto G pure.
    I have a new att sim.
    What is the best way to move everything over to the Pure and have att service?
    Thank you in advance for your suggestions.
    KC
    When you say the Pure is "on tracfone verizon" - do you mean that it is in service, with a number, on TF-Verizon?

    Because if the Pure has balances on it that you want to salvage, you'll have to do a combine-lines, not a transfer.

    On the other hand, if the Pure is not in service and/or you don't want to salvage the balances on the Pure, you can just sim-swap into the Pure, since your existing service on Play is already on TF-ATT.

    (BTW, I get annoyed at phone manufacturers for giving such similar names to phones. Moto G Pure, Moto G7 Play. Samsung is worse - A01, A02, A02s, A51, A52, A51 5G etc etc!)
    You can activate new service on Tracfone and get $80 by using my referral code (you get 8,000 rewards points - that's $80 in service or a brand new phone!)
    You can sign up for Red Pocket and get $25 off your monthly-plan order using my referral code. Feel free to PM me for the codes. Thank you!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,354
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sillyette View Post
    (BTW, I get annoyed at phone manufacturers for giving such similar names to phones. Moto G Pure, Moto G7 Play. Samsung is worse - A01, A02, A02s, A51, A52, A51 5G etc etc!)
    I don't like Moto's name scheme where the model year is part of it, like Moto G Stylus 2020, Moto G Stylus 2021, Moto G Stylus 2022, etc.

    Samsung's naming scheme isn't too bad. The higher the number, the higher it is in the pecking order, A0x is a lower model than A2x, which is lower than an A5x. The x is the generation number: A50 is the first year of that model, A51 is next year, then A52, A53, etc.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,252
    Feedback Score
    0
    I learned something. I have an A01 and A11. Didn't know the 11 was better than the 01 but now I get it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    588
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sillyette View Post
    When you say the Pure is "on tracfone verizon" - do you mean that it is in service, with a number, on TF-Verizon?

    Because if the Pure has balances on it that you want to salvage, you'll have to do a combine-lines, not a transfer.

    On the other hand, if the Pure is not in service and/or you don't want to salvage the balances on the Pure, you can just sim-swap into the Pure, since your existing service on Play is already on TF-ATT.

    (BTW, I get annoyed at phone manufacturers for giving such similar names to phones. Moto G Pure, Moto G7 Play. Samsung is worse - A01, A02, A02s, A51, A52, A51 5G etc etc!)
    Yes the pure is in service with tracfone as of now. Justing until it is unlocked.
    So you are saying I should combine my pure with my G play and then just move the Gplay sim over to the pure?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    11,354
    Device(s)
    Pixel 4a, Samsung A51, Samsung S22, Essential PH-1
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Google Fi T-mo, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kc classic View Post
    So you are saying I should combine my pure with my G play and then just move the Gplay sim over to the pure?
    Do it if the remaining buckets/days of the G Pure are worth the troubles. Some of the recent efforts to combine didn't go too well.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    588
    Feedback Score
    0
    Gotit, I know what you mean. I have kept the balance as low as I could to get it unlocked.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    588
    Feedback Score
    0

    update on "Can I do this and how?"

    I was able to unlock my Moto G Pure. I then took the sim from my Moto G Play and installed it in my Pure.
    I did not bother trying to retrieve the minutes and texts from the pure as I had only used the minimum amounts to activate that phone.
    Thanks to all that help us on this forum.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    8,296
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kc classic View Post
    I was able to unlock my Moto G Pure. I then took the sim from my Moto G Play and installed it in my Pure.
    Which IMEI shows in the account after the SIM swap? the Moto Pure or the Moto Play? Last time I did this the account IMEI changed to the swapped-to phone, and the swapped-from phone IMEI was put into the Line Nickname. The swapped-from phone does not show up as an inactive device. The new website shows these things differently than the old one did.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    588
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, the IMEI's were swapped around on the phones. Both are showing active, but the Play phone is an ATT phone and I put the verizon tracfone sim in it. So, it is not active.

Similar Threads

  1. Can a Wizard do this? And if so, how well?
    By JNGold in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-16-2005, 01:28 PM
  2. Why did ATT do this and how to fix?
    By ionblue in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-03-2004, 07:54 PM
  3. Isnt this a shame!!! How can ppl do this?
    By BigB2 in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2002, 05:27 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2002, 03:21 AM
  5. Telus and Verizon... can I do this?
    By mikew44 in forum TELUS/Koodo/Public Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2002, 03:34 PM

Bookmarks