Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: our Moto G8+ model xt2019-2 is not connecting to cell tower recently

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pickens county
    Posts
    394
    Device(s)
    Motorola G8+
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0

    our Moto G8+ model xt2019-2 is not connecting to cell tower recently

    I've had help on this problem and thought it was solved as this Moto G8+ had its SIM changed to an acceptable one back at least 4 months ago and all was well until a day or so ago. This handset is on the ATT whitelist. I have the identical model and are having no problems. This, my wife's phone still connects using wifi, but when out and about with no wifi she can't get a signal using data. I installed the network signal info app as suggested back in Feb. and until now it was showing 'LTE* 4G+' for both data and voice. Now its showing 'IWLAN' for data and 'unknown' for voice. The net operator and sim operator are still listed as AT&T. Any suggestions or help is appreciated. I went on Tracfone's site and into my wife's account and with all the changes there, it's no help at all. I'd hate to have to call these Tracfone drones again. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    20,967
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I found this on the internet from a simple search:

    What is a Iwlan?
    The approach is called Interworking Wireless LAN (IWLAN) architecture and it is a solution to transfer IP data between a mobile device and operator's core network through a Wi-Fi access.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    4,347
    Device(s)
    LG Aristo 2 Plus (T-Mo); Moto G Power 2020 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I would check the phone's APN setting. It may have inadvertently changed somehow. Just something to knock off the troubleshooting checklist.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pickens county
    Posts
    394
    Device(s)
    Motorola G8+
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the above info, you folks are the best. I'm getting too old to be jumping through Verizon's hoops

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    15
    Feedback Score
    0
    I would try removing the SIM, doing a network reset, replacing the SIM and restarting the phone a couple times if necessary. If still not working, compare her APN settings to yours.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,825
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have seen people over at Reddit that has lost their phone service too. They are trying force people to Verizon based SIMs. Most of the time, support has said their SIM is incompatible with the new system, or the SIM does not work in their area any more.

    There is lots of other reasons, but those are the two most common tho.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    20,967
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Otis 226 View Post
    Thanks for the above info, you folks are the best. I'm getting too old to be jumping through Verizon's hoops
    I do understand your frustration. Best wishes.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pickens county
    Posts
    394
    Device(s)
    Motorola G8+
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    How would I perform a network reset?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    20,967
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Short of asking your carrier to do it on their end, just turn off the phone for about 1 minute and turn it back on. The phone will re-register on the local towers. Sometimes a phone can get stuck trying to get a signal from a tower out of range and resetting the phone resolves many of those issues.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pickens county
    Posts
    394
    Device(s)
    Motorola G8+
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Serial Port View Post
    Short of asking your carrier to do it on their end, just turn off the phone for about 1 minute and turn it back on. The phone will re-register on the local towers. Sometimes a phone can get stuck trying to get a signal from a tower out of range and resetting the phone resolves many of those issues.
    👍..........

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15,495
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a XL; Moto E4; LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    Google Voice; T-Mobile Postpaid Mobile Data; FreedomPop; FreeUp; Dent; 3UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Otis 226 View Post
    How would I perform a network reset?
    https://motorola-global-en-aus.custh...--moto-g8-plus

    Go to Settings > System > Advanced > Reset options
    Touch Reset Wi-Fi, mobile & Bluetooth > RESET SETTINGS
    Touch RESET SETTINGS

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    20,967
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Boz1's suggestion will work but it is rather drastic as you will need to re-enter your wifi/internet passwords stored in the phone. With Bluetooth, you may need to re-pair your devices as well.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pickens county
    Posts
    394
    Device(s)
    Motorola G8+
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually my wife just told me she tried that this morning to no effect. The SIM card is good as far as I can tell because the phone recognizes it, so this may be Verizon that has disabled her 4G - LTE and changed.it to WLAN for cost cutting, but she can't send/receive calls or use the net outside of wifi range and it's been working fine since the
    SIM was upgraded in late Feb.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,783
    Feedback Score
    0
    Verizon/Tracfone has been chopping people off from using AT&T. We can't figure out how they are selecting their targets.

    If you want to keep using this model phone, you will have to go with only AT&T or T-Mobile in some fashion. Even if Verizon makes you a good offer, it won't work in your phone. As far as I know.

    There are many ways to do this, but it will involve saying goodbye to Tracfone. I have already done it. My Tracfone sims are still usable, but I don't want to gamble.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pickens county
    Posts
    394
    Device(s)
    Motorola G8+
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone/ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    These phones are completely unlocked and should work with any providers as far as I know. Plus my identical phone has and still is working fine. Her phone was working fine after putting a '27' SIM in it about 5 months ago. So I may need to get in touch with TF corp to hear their story why her phone suddenly stopped being a phone. I'll post on that exchange soon.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-16-2013, 06:47 PM
  2. My ZTE Merit is not connecting to 3G
    By hockettruns in forum Android OS Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-02-2012, 01:34 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-16-2008, 01:03 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2008, 05:22 AM
  5. V3x is not connecting to motomidman or moto midlets
    By sumair_mithani in forum Motorola PC Software/Drivers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2006, 04:41 AM

Bookmarks