Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Unable to make calls on Verizon SIM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    66
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unable to make calls on Verizon SIM

    I've posted about this in a couple of other threads, but I'm wondering if anyone has had this problem before. The number is on the phone, texts are working, an outgoing call gets a fast busy signal, and an inbound call gets a sounds like a European ambulance siren.

    One thing I noticed in the account: under device, it says unknown and does not list the IMEI. Could that be the problem?I know that Verizon SIMs should be linked to an IMEI.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Southwest Michigan, USA
    Posts
    4,347
    Device(s)
    LG Aristo 2 Plus (T-Mo); Moto G Power 2020 (PPC)
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile Prepaid & Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Was the SIM currently in this phone moved from another device?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    66
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by whacker View Post
    Was the SIM currently in this phone moved from another device?
    Nope. We started with the SIM sent from Tracfone for the AT&T to Verizon migration. Then bought a new 99c SIM and have the same problem with that one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,825
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    What model is the phone?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    66
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
    What model is the phone?
    iPhone 8+ which has been on Tracfone AT&T for a year. My dad has an iPhone 7 that did the AT&T to Verizon migration and is working fine.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    20,967
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Even if regular calls are not going through, you should be able to dial customer service for help. Sometimes migrating a cell phone to a different carrier can have errors. Best wishes. Try dialing 611 to get to customer service.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    West Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,825
    Device(s)
    Galaxy J7 Sky Pro SM-S727VL, Galaxy J3 Sky SM-S230VL, ZTE Z723EL, ZTE Z233VL
    Carrier(s)
    Straight Talk, Total Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SlowLoris View Post
    iPhone 8+ which has been on Tracfone AT&T for a year. My dad has an iPhone 7 that did the AT&T to Verizon migration and is working fine.
    Which iPhone 8 Plus do you have?

    I believe these iPhones had AT&T/T-Mobile only models and universal models.

    I am not counting the international models.

    I am not an iPhone expert tho.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    812
    Feedback Score
    0
    Do iPhones have something similar to the "Network Reset" on Android? Maybe that will help?

    One time when I changed carriers, nothing seemed to work. A Network Reset solved all problems.
    Settings - Reset Network. Reboot. Problem solved.

    Hope everything gets solved for you!
    You can activate new service on Tracfone and get $80 by using my referral code (you get 8,000 rewards points - that's $80 in service or brand new phone!) You'll also get great karma! Please PM me for code.

    Right now, you can get started with $80 Tracfone referral rewards with these HSN deals: (1) One-year service with 1200 talk/txt/data, plus Alcatel MyFlip2 phone, for $30; (2) Moto G Power 1500 talk/txt/data 1-yr service for $60; (3) Moto G Pure 1500 ttd 1-yr service for $70.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    66
    Feedback Score
    0
    The issue was finally resolved today, and calls are working again. Before calling Tracfone we turned off and on, did the network reset, and tried dialing *73. Calls were still getting a fast busy signal.

    Called 866-806-1840 x267364 today. Instead of the 30 minute hold, agreed to the call back which came from 800-992-1346. Luckily, he saw that calls were not working so we didn't have to start from scratch. He updated something on his end, had us remove the SIM and put it back in, then power off and on. Today's call was only 11 minutes. But I did spend over 2.5 hours on FIVE calls on Saturday, plus another 48 minutes yesterday. It should not be that hard! Now that the phone is working, we will ride out the remaining 13 months of service and hope that we don't have to make any changes since that seems to be when something goes wrong.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    812
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is it possible that Tracfone is deliberately sending out these dud SIM cards? In some sort of a perverse customer tracking exercise? So customers call them and they can, I don't know, collect some sort of customer info or something?

    Or are they just incompetent?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    8,146
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Where did 866-806-1840 x267364 come from? I don`t recall seeing it posted here, especially the long extension.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    20,967
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    Where did 866-806-1840 x267364 come from? I don`t recall seeing it posted here, especially the long extension.
    It came from post #9 in this thread, only 2 above yours. I doesn't matter where that member found it if it worked.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    66
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    Where did 866-806-1840 x267364 come from? I don`t recall seeing it posted here, especially the long extension.
    The agent in corporate that I talked to yesterday wanted me to wait 24 hours, because he thought the networks hadn't synched yet. I thought he was being lazy, but that was the number he gave me for today's call. It's not actually an extension -- he called it a PIN, but the automated system asks for a reference number. I don't think it was unique to my case, but I could be wrong.

    I had used the phone number previously because my understanding was that was how to reach the porting department. But for porting, the reference number is 332264

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    8,146
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Appreciate the replies for helping keep all the phone numbers and extensions (PIN/reference number) straight.

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to make calls on new Samsung A11
    By bbryant59 in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-10-2021, 02:12 PM
  2. Unable to make calls on LTE connection
    By midnightsnacker in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-24-2017, 01:40 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-04-2013, 06:51 AM
  4. Unable to make calls in an emergency on W Georgia Vancouver
    By phreek_11 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 05-31-2011, 01:45 PM
  5. Unable to make calls on Nokia 6310
    By napierTT in forum Nokia
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-19-2006, 04:36 PM

Bookmarks