Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: why does it take days to add purchased minutes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    149
    Device(s)
    LX770 Ericsson
    Carrier(s)
    ex-Free2Go now cing.
    Feedback Score
    0

    why does it take days to add purchased minutes

    wont bore you with all the prelim stuff to get to this point. but my friend finally bought a 20 dollar card for her son and they said it will take days for it all to come in. the same customer service that said he needed data to make a call and text. nuts! shes very not tech savvy and i cant get there to troubleshoot. any chance it really does take days to get data loaded on to a phone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    12,104
    Device(s)
    Samsung S22, Samsung A51, Pixel 4a
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by luckydriver View Post
    any chance it really does take days to get data loaded on to a phone?
    I only use purchased cards to activate a new line. I use reward points to add airtime when needed to active phones. Either way, the units and days are added instantly. If it really takes days to add more airtime, what happens when people try to add more airtime on the last day of service?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    149
    Device(s)
    LX770 Ericsson
    Carrier(s)
    ex-Free2Go now cing.
    Feedback Score
    0
    what can you say to the csr to make them actually help you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    California Gold Country
    Posts
    8,337
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by luckydriver View Post
    any chance it really does take days to get data loaded on to a phone?
    Is this a new activation, or just adding airtime to an existing line? Adding airtime does not require a CSR. You can purchase emailed airtime PINs from Walmart, Target, and Best Buy. Or you can buy airtime on the Tracfone website. You just need the phone number to apply the airtime to. It should only take a few minutes. You can also add talk, text, data, and service time separately on the website.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    149
    Device(s)
    LX770 Ericsson
    Carrier(s)
    ex-Free2Go now cing.
    Feedback Score
    0
    phone was activated from HSN back in december. finally ran low data. friend only bought over the TF rep because i told her there was 200 mb on the phone and the problem wasnt that the kid had no data at the time. the problem was there was no access to data. i tried the APN text thing when i was over there last but it said settings were ok. i didnt know what else to do and had no time for a call to TF so left. the TF person gave her such BS it wasnt funny. i mean really. you need data to make a phone call. plus he has unlimited minutes lol. thats the funny part. but saying that gig of data takes days to load is like an hour glass filling. insane that people believe that but they do.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    149
    Device(s)
    LX770 Ericsson
    Carrier(s)
    ex-Free2Go now cing.
    Feedback Score
    0
    this is her latest email which i totally dont understand (also she's blind so cannot do anything on his phone ) :


    He was at 30kb. Then before bed he was at 60kb. That is coming in slow. How else do you describe it?

    He can look in two places to see the data.

    One shows the full amount. But he still wasn’t able to open google.

    Then she manually did it…do not know what that meant. Then when he looked at the second place he saw it coming in super, super slow. A fraction at a time.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15,682
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a XL; Moto E4; LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    Google Voice; T-Mobile Postpaid Mobile Data; FreedomPop; FreeUp; Dent; 3UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Unfortunately, the person you're trying to help is poor at communicating what's actually going on.

    Do you have access to the online account?

    Can the person with the phone text the word BALANCE to 611611 and send you a screenshot?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,226
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2020, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by luckydriver View Post
    ... friend only bought over the TF rep because i told her there was 200 mb on the phone and the problem wasnt that the kid had no data at the time. the problem was there was no access to data. i tried the APN text thing when i was over there last but it said settings were ok..
    Is it a Samsung phone? Maybe the APN changed after an update. Or somehow. That APN text thing doesn't always work.

    Correct TF/Verizon APN should be VZWINTERNET. It can be manually set and saved in the settings.

    Apologies if I'm misunderstanding.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,226
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2020, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can check the APN on the phone by going to Settings - > Connections -> Mobile Networks -> Access Point Names

    Should show:

    Name:  Screenshot_20220902-084814_Settings.jpg
Views: 79
Size:  9.2 KB


    If it shows TRACFONE.VZWENTP instead, you can edit it by pressing it and then put VZWINTERNET in the APN field, press OK and then save it with the three dots on right. Should work instantly.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    149
    Device(s)
    LX770 Ericsson
    Carrier(s)
    ex-Free2Go now cing.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    Unfortunately, the person you're trying to help is poor at communicating what's actually going on.

    Do you have access to the online account?

    Can the person with the phone text the word BALANCE to 611611 and send you a screenshot?
    Talk
    1422
    MINUTES
    Text
    227
    MESSAGES
    Data
    2.24
    GB LEFT
    Service Period
    123 days left
    Service period ends 01/04/2023

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    149
    Device(s)
    LX770 Ericsson
    Carrier(s)
    ex-Free2Go now cing.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tomseys View Post
    Is it a Samsung phone? Maybe the APN changed after an update. Or somehow. That APN text thing doesn't always work.

    Correct TF/Verizon APN should be VZWINTERNET. It can be manually set and saved in the settings.

    Apologies if I'm misunderstanding.
    samsung a51. i have the a52 so told her get the a51 for her kid cause i can troubleshoot easier.

    i wont see them till tuesday. i could probaly do video call to go thru the settings

    my own apn says tracfone then ereseller mmsc mobile att net

    is that correct for his phone as well i assume.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,226
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2020, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by luckydriver View Post
    samsung a51. i have the a52 so told her get the a51 for her kid cause i can troubleshoot easier.

    i wont see them till tuesday. i could probaly do video call to go thru the settings

    my own apn says ereseller mmsc mobile att net

    is that correct for his phone as well i assume.

    The A51 is known to have this problem. I believe it is a TF/Verizon phone if you got a TF branded phone from HSN.

    Check/Fix the APN on it.

    The balance looks fine.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15,682
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a XL; Moto E4; LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    Google Voice; T-Mobile Postpaid Mobile Data; FreedomPop; FreeUp; Dent; 3UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by luckydriver View Post
    Talk
    1422
    MINUTES
    Text
    227
    MESSAGES
    Data
    2.24
    GB LEFT
    Service Period
    123 days left
    Service period ends 01/04/2023
    There's no shortage of data. The only thing running slightly low is the text balance.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    15,682
    Device(s)
    Pixel 3a XL; Moto E4; LG Phoenix 2
    Carrier(s)
    Google Voice; T-Mobile Postpaid Mobile Data; FreedomPop; FreeUp; Dent; 3UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by luckydriver View Post
    samsung a51. i have the a52 so told her get the a51 for her kid cause i can troubleshoot easier.

    i wont see them till tuesday. i could probaly do video call to go thru the settings

    my own apn says tracfone then ereseller mmsc mobile att net

    is that correct for his phone as well i assume.
    It appears that your phone is using a TF AT&T SIM. Is that correct?

    It's unlikely that an A51 purchased from HSN is using TF AT&T. It's most likely TF Vzw. You can verify this by checking the phone # at: http://freecarrierlookup.com/

    If it's indeed TF Vzw, then follow the instructions tomseys gave: "Correct TF/Verizon APN should be VZWINTERNET."

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,226
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2020, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    The TF branded TF/Verizon A51 will sometimes switch from the TF APN to a Straight Talk APN after OS updates and after switching sims. And then you have no LTE data or voLTE. I find the A20 does this too. Very annoying.

    So if the phone shows TRACFONE.VZWENTP, Change it to VZWINTERNET and save.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Bell Why Does It Take Up to 11 to 12 Days for Your Bill to Get Online?
    By psgill2873 in forum Bell/Virgin/Lucky/Solo
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-29-2010, 09:07 AM
  2. Why does it take 30 days to cancel a feature.
    By AirForceElite in forum Rogers/Fido/Chat-r
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-27-2006, 05:30 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2005, 05:42 PM
  4. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-05-2005, 10:39 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-11-2002, 10:03 AM

Bookmarks