Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Transferred from branded Verizon TF SIM > BYOP AT&T SIM successfully

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    10,770
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Transferred from branded Verizon TF SIM > BYOP AT&T SIM successfully

    I see from time to time people asking about activating AT&T and T-Mobile BYOP SIMs in present-day Verizon owned TracFone. It's still possible. I just transferred off a TF Verizon SIM in an iPhone I bought directly from them to an AT&T BYOP SIM. The transfer did not complete on its own after initiating it online so I had to have the porting dept push it through. It took a while on the phone but everything is up and running, balance transferred perfectly. Only issue is the Pixel 2XL I had the SIM in would not work for voice. Not sure if it's a configuration issue or not so I put the SIM in my iPhone 13 mini and voice calls work so I'll just leave it there. According to AT&T's VoLTE whitelist the Pixel 2XL is approved so maybe I'll mess around with the APN later.

    I wanted it on a Verizon TF eSIM but it wouldn't transfer so I opted to just transfer to an AT&T BYOP SIM. Doesn't really matter to me, all the carriers have good service where I am.
    Castrol EDGE 0W-20 is my drug of choice.

    Primary: iPhone 13 Pro eSIM; Galaxy Z Flip4
    Secondary: TracFones: iPhone 13 Pro dual-SIM [AT&T] & iPhone 13 mini [Verizon]
    Mobile Broadband: Franklin T10 LTE hotspot (5GB for $8.50)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    2,485
    Feedback Score
    0
    Guess we'll need to wait and see if you start getting Vzw migration notices.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    10,770
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rpz1 View Post
    Guess we'll need to wait and see if you start getting Vzw migration notices.
    I was getting them on my Android which I switched to a Verizon SIM. My iPhone has never gotten a message like that though. The SIM has been active for about a year maybe. We’ll see if this new SIM gets messages.


    Sent from my iPhone using HoFo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,471
    Feedback Score
    0
    In the other thread I reported internal transfer from branded TF VZW to TF BYOP TMO sim. Same experience, transfer kinda just sat there -- I even got a text saying I needed to chat. When I chatted, they told me to just wait -- but they must have done something because five minutes later it was done. They said they'd schedule a call back, but I never received a call (nor do I need one, as it all just worked).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mtns of Western NC
    Posts
    1,283
    Device(s)
    Ascend Y, Proclaim, Ascend Plus
    Carrier(s)
    America Movil, Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by IsLand_BoY View Post
    I see from time to time people asking about activating AT&T and T-Mobile BYOP SIMs in present-day Verizon owned TracFone. It's still possible. I just transferred off a TF Verizon SIM in an iPhone I bought directly from them to an AT&T BYOP SIM. The transfer did not complete on its own after initiating it online so I had to have the porting dept push it through. It took a while on the phone but everything is up and running, balance transferred perfectly. Only issue is the Pixel 2XL I had the SIM in would not work for voice. Not sure if it's a configuration issue or not so I put the SIM in my iPhone 13 mini and voice calls work so I'll just leave it there. According to AT&T's VoLTE whitelist the Pixel 2XL is approved so maybe I'll mess around with the APN later.
    At any point did you have to provide an IMEI? Or were you able to simply activate with just the AT&T sim card number?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,471
    Feedback Score
    0
    I believe all now require IMEI. I did ATT earlier this year and it did and tmo did a couple days ago

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    245
    Feedback Score
    0
    Earlier this year I took a new TF VZ phone & used a BYOP SIM to change the phone to AT&T. Did this online & did not provide an IMEI but used the SIM number. It may be different now, but at that time I had read if you activate with a TF agent they will probably ask for the IMEI.

    It worked & all was well for a few months. Then I got a couple messages about changing to VZ. I didn't want to be caught with a non-working phone so I swapped in the original new VZ SIM and activated the phone as a new one via a TF voice call.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,106
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy A32 5G, Moto G Stylus 2021, Moto G Power 2020
    Carrier(s)
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by StymiedToo View Post
    Earlier this year I took a new TF VZ phone & used a BYOP SIM to change the phone to AT&T. Did this online & did not provide an IMEI but used the SIM number. It may be different now, but at that time I had read if you activate with a TF agent they will probably ask for the IMEI.

    It worked & all was well for a few months. Then I got a couple messages about changing to VZ. I didn't want to be caught with a non-working phone so I swapped in the original new VZ SIM and activated the phone as a new one via a TF voice call.
    Has it been 60 days or more since you activated the phone with the VZW sim?
    If so have you tried to get it unlocked?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    10,770
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by indyrunr89 View Post
    At any point did you have to provide an IMEI? Or were you able to simply activate with just the AT&T sim card number?
    Yes, the AT&T BYOP SIM activation requires an IMEI now - I used my Pixel 2XL IMEI which passed.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    245
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by NanaC View Post
    Has it been 60 days or more since you activated the phone with the VZW sim?
    If so have you tried to get it unlocked?
    Yes it has been 60 days since activated with the original VZW SIM.
    I did get a text message to unlock the phone but haven't done it yet.


    Curious - why would TF notify me about unlocking their phone? Why would they make it easy to lose a customer?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    12,104
    Device(s)
    Samsung S22, Samsung A51, Pixel 4a
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Although an IMEI is now required to activate an AT&T BYOP SIM, I don't think TF is pairing or locking the SIM number to that IMEI yet. You can still swap that SIM into another whitelisted phone without problems.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    12,104
    Device(s)
    Samsung S22, Samsung A51, Pixel 4a
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by StymiedToo View Post
    Curious - why would TF notify me about unlocking their phone? Why would they make it easy to lose a customer?
    Could be a stipulation by the FCC in order for Verizon to acquire TF. Similar to why they went from requiring 360 days of purchased service to just 60 days and transferred service is acceptable.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    2,471
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have sim swapped my att TF service several times no problem

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mtns of Western NC
    Posts
    1,283
    Device(s)
    Ascend Y, Proclaim, Ascend Plus
    Carrier(s)
    America Movil, Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by IsLand_BoY View Post
    Yes, the AT&T BYOP SIM activation requires an IMEI now - I used my Pixel 2XL IMEI which passed.
    Thanks for confirming!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-19-2022, 05:00 PM
  2. Could Verizon Ever Become Bigger Than AT&T!?
    By Wide_opeN in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-14-2018, 02:30 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-12-2016, 05:47 PM
  4. Transfer from TF branded smartphone to BYOP iphone
    By weiden1 in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-29-2016, 10:20 PM
  5. Unlocked Phone Required for BYOP AT&T ST SIM?
    By streetfighterfa in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-20-2013, 06:58 AM

Bookmarks