Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36

Thread: With Verizon SIM, I Have Problems With Data

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0

    With Verizon SIM, I Have Problems With Data

    I've been a Tracfone customer since 2006. In the past year, as I needed a new BYOP phone, I had to migrate to Verzon using a Tracfone Verizon Sim. SMS and calls have usually been OK, but data when there's no WiFi around it is a problem. I can't reach the internet using my TF data, even though I have a substantial balance. There's no access. The bars on my phone show service, but there isn't any. I am using a Google Pixel 6 Pro. Has anyone had data problems with their Verizon SIM? I had an AT&T TF SIM before, but did not have this problem. I'm not sure if the phone is the issue or if it is Verizon throttling. Anyone else having these issues?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,226
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2020, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Check the APN. I believe it should be VZWINTERNET.

    If it shows something else like TRACFONE.VZWENTP, try changing it to above and save it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,819
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also, some areas have substantial deprioritization.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tomseys View Post
    Check the APN. I believe it should be VZWINTERNET.

    If it shows something else like TRACFONE.VZWENTP, try changing it to above and save it.
    Thanks. I looked at the APN, and it was VZWINTERNET, so settings probably aren't the issue

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lisme View Post
    Also, some areas have substantial deprioritization.
    Thanks. I'm thinking this could be the case, but I'm not sure. It happens during many time periods, so it doesn't seem to be linked to a time when networks are "busy." If it's deprioritization, than it's simply a service limitation. It also could be my phone. I have another Tracfone, so I'm planning to go out with both phones to a place where I've had trouble with data, and see if both phones are affected. I would think that if service issues were substantial, we'd hear more about in the forum.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    12,103
    Device(s)
    Samsung S22, Samsung A51, Pixel 4a
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Lisme View Post
    Also, some areas have substantial deprioritization.
    A few days ago, I switched my TF/Verizon service from a Pixel 4a to a Samsung S22. Afterward, I did a speed test. With 5G Data and connected to a site 60 miles away, the results were terrible, 6.34 Mbps download and 0.01 Mbps upload.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,226
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2020, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've gotten over 200 mbps down and 50 up where I'm at on 5G w/ an SE '22 on TF/V.

    I just keep it on LTE since that is way more than enough.

    I don't know this phone but is this Pixel 6 pro set on LTE? Does it show an LTE symbol with Wifi off and data on?

    Could also try network settings reset.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,819
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SwampYankee1 View Post
    I would think that if service issues were substantial, we'd hear more about in the forum.
    The deprioritization has been discussed previously, but not recently.

    When I was experimenting with a TF/VZW/BYOD sim, I noticed the problem immediately. Also, text delivery was erratic. Sometimes slow, sometimes never.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    21,061
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Are you certain about that??

    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    With 5G Data and connected to a site 60 miles away, the results were terrible
    I seriously doubt you had a connection with a tower 60 miles away. The RF signals are limited in range. Could be that the phone was still trying to connect to a distant tower in error instead of a local tower. Try powering the phone off and back on if the phone reports that as the connected tower.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    12,103
    Device(s)
    Samsung S22, Samsung A51, Pixel 4a
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Serial Port View Post
    I seriously doubt you had a connection with a tower 60 miles away. The RF signals are limited in range. Could be that the phone was still trying to connect to a distant tower in error instead of a local tower. Try powering the phone off and back on if the phone reports that as the connected tower.
    No, I wasn't saying that it connected to a TOWER 60 miles away. Both times it connected to a TEST SITE in Kansas City, MO which is 60 miles from Topeka KS where I'm. This time I noticed that the Data icon started out as 5G then switched to 4G LTE by itself. The test results today is much better than it was 2 days ago with 5G.

    Name:  Samsung-S22-Speedtest-2a.jpg
Views: 93
Size:  16.2 KB

    Name:  Samsung-S22-Speedtest-4a.jpg
Views: 89
Size:  47.4 KB

    Name:  Samsung-S22-Speedtest-5a.jpg
Views: 86
Size:  44.8 KB
    Last edited by hpham; 09-14-2022 at 06:14 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    21,061
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I stand by my assertion that you are not connecting to a tower 60 miles away. I use the OOKLA Speed test on my phone as well. Occasionally, my phone shows a connection to Gainesville, Orlando or Jacksonville despite the fact that I live about 1 1/2 hours from each city. My cellular signal is not being received from those cities and it isn't technically possible.

    The city about 60 miles away is the physical landline hub that you reported. All cell towers eventually connect to landline hubs to deliver or receive the phone call.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    12,103
    Device(s)
    Samsung S22, Samsung A51, Pixel 4a
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Serial Port View Post
    I stand by my assertion that you are not connecting to a tower 60 miles away.
    I certainly agree with you on that. I never said my phone connected to a TOWER 60 miles away to do the test.

    Let me use this example: when I use Data and the browser on my phone to access amazon.com, my phone will connect to the nearest Verizon tower but the data is still traveling through Verizon network to reach Amazon's server, wherever it is but certainly not at the nearest tower location.

    In the case of doing a speedtest, the nearest host site to me for the speed test is in Kansas City, not at that tower. I only mentioned the location of the host site because I think the distance from me to the host site has an effect on Ping time. I could be wrong.

    That's all I have to say about my speed test.
    Last edited by hpham; 09-14-2022 at 08:13 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Western MA
    Posts
    2,195
    Device(s)
    S22+/A51/A71 5G, Pixel 6a/4a5G, Moto G7 Power/Z3 Play/One 5G Ace
    Carrier(s)
    H2O, TMO, Xfinity, PagePlus, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by SwampYankee1 View Post
    Thanks. I looked at the APN, and it was VZWINTERNET, so settings probably aren't the issue
    The APN of VZWINTERNET is usually correct for TracFone-branded phones, but you say you have a Pixel 6 Pro. Often times, for BYOP devices, the APN of TRACFONE.VZWENTP will be correct. Try switching it to that.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,917
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am assuming all of you that are running OOKLA speed test know you can pick from a list of test sites. If you turn on location before running the app then touch the test site that is shown for the test, you should be able to choose a test site. Sometimes I test with a number of sites. The results do vary.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,226
    Device(s)
    iPhone SE 2022, iPhone SE 2020, Samsung A51, Samsung A20
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mframe View Post
    The APN of VZWINTERNET is usually correct for TracFone-branded phones, but you say you have a Pixel 6 Pro. Often times, for BYOP devices, the APN of TRACFONE.VZWENTP will be correct. Try switching it to that.
    That's worth trying. Someone here recently got the tracfone.vzwentp APN working with a byop Samsung phone. But I think that was to correct an MMS issue. Most of the TF/V byop phones I have heard people list their APN for seem to be using VZWINTERNET though. I was told once by a corp rep that tracfone.vzwentp is for Straight talk phones (and I believe TW). I don't know.

    I think this line was originally on TF/AT&T and then was transferred over to the TF/V sim? I seem to recall someone else having a similar issue after this but I can't remember exactly what that was. Maybe something to do with the transfer and that's why I was suggesting a network settings reset as one thing to consider if it is an issue with the phone settings and not just network behavior. The corp office can also probably help too in that direction.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Having problems with vx8k data cable
    By nirnglaud in forum LG
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-05-2005, 09:13 PM
  2. Having problems with vx8000 data cable. Help!!
    By Nexteljeff in forum software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2005, 08:15 AM
  3. Anyone have Problems with Verizons Billing??
    By Interpol in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-04-2003, 06:31 PM
  4. Having problems with my data cable
    By System_Apex in forum Other Phones
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-02-2003, 01:48 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-27-2002, 11:48 PM

Bookmarks