Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Do TracFones Roam? - Revisited

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    838
    Device(s)
    Samsung A53 5G. Samsung A03s
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0

    Do TracFones Roam? - Revisited

    I did a search and found a thread about TracFones roming dated 2016. I recall reading once up a time that TracFones don't roam.

    My TracFone branded Samsung A53 5G, Samsung A03s, my brother's Samsung A03s along with sister in law's Straight Talk branded Samsung A03s all came with the roaming switch enabled by default.

    Granted, I've never seen "RM" or "Roam" on any of my phones over the years.

    Do TracFones roam? Did anything change pertaining to roaming after Verizon's puchase?
    Samsung A53 5G (Verizon)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    21,164
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Are you planning on traveling outside the US?

    The phones will connect only to available, approved networks based on what is available to your Trac phone. In the US, you will not likely see any indication that it is roaming. More likely there is coverage or no coverage and as simple as that. If there is an issue for them if you are roaming off network by a large enough percentage, you will be notified, typically being shut down until you contact customer service.

    On domestic usage in the US, such roaming problems are very rare today.
    Just another day in paradise.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    12,449
    Device(s)
    Samsung S22, Samsung A51, Pixel 4a
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, FreeUP AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Turtley View Post
    Do TracFones roam? Did anything change pertaining to roaming after Verizon's puchase?
    Read the TF Terms & Conditions and do a Find for "roam". Section 9 talks about Coverage and Section 10 talks about Roaming.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    838
    Device(s)
    Samsung A53 5G. Samsung A03s
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon, FreedomPop
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Serial Port View Post
    Are you planning on traveling outside the US?

    The phones will connect only to available, approved networks based on what is available to your Trac phone. In the US, you will not likely see any indication that it is roaming. More likely there is coverage or no coverage and as simple as that. If there is an issue for them if you are roaming off network by a large enough percentage, you will be notified, typically being shut down until you contact customer service.

    On domestic usage in the US, such roaming problems are very rare today.
    No. Only asking because these phones came with roaming enabled.


    Quote Originally Posted by hpham View Post
    Read the TF Terms & Conditions and do a Find for "roam". Section 9 talks about Coverage and Section 10 talks about Roaming.
    Duh! I didn't even think of the T&C! I'm guessing it doesn't matter if the roaming is turned on or off then.

    Thanks for your replies!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    424
    Feedback Score
    0
    At first I thought of roaming to be using the phone out of the area you activated the phone in. Until I realized that as long as there is a cell phone tower around that my SIM card is using, eg Verizon tower it really does not matter. However many locales now have phased out 7 digit dialing local to the area and you have to use 1 plus the area code to make a proper call.

Similar Threads

  1. Tracfone Smartphone Roaming revisited
    By LittleBear916 in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-16-2016, 04:12 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-16-2005, 03:02 PM
  3. Nation plan home roaming revisited
    By cbcb in forum AT&T
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-25-2004, 12:48 PM
  4. International roaming revisited
    By telenet in forum AT&T
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2004, 12:47 AM
  5. Cheap way to do international roaming
    By vuky in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-01-2003, 12:27 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks