Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Question about changing a phone number

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    1,696
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question about changing a phone number

    When you change a phone number using MINC, do you get the option to specify a zip code? Or do you get a new phone number with the same area code as before?

    My friend is moving to a different state, and thinks it will be cool to get a new number that's local to the new place. I have cautioned her about messing around with anything related to Tracfone but she still wants to try it, so I thought I'd find out here.

    Thank you for all help!
    Will happily share referral code for Red Pocket (gives you up to $25 off first month), and Tracfone referral code (gives you $35 in rewards points) - please PM me if you'd like to use my codes. You’ll also get great karma for helping out this starving student! Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2022
    Posts
    2,695
    Feedback Score
    0
    Best would be to actually choose your number elsewhere, and port it in

    might need to be onto a new activation

    If the bucket / balance is worth a lot, say over $50, then do a combine (tricky PITA but still do-able)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    14,291
    Device(s)
    Samsung S22, Samsung A51, Samsung A54
    Carrier(s)
    TF/Verizon, Walmart Freedompop, Qlink
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've done it before but don't remember if it asked for a zip code. Best to chat with TF and ask, rather than following some hare-brained scheme.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    24
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hope it works for you. I've been trying MINC for days, just comes back with "unable to process your request, try again later."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    667
    Device(s)
    iPhone 13 Pro Max, Moto Edge+, Moto G Stylus 2021
    Carrier(s)
    Tello, TF/Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    MINC does ask for a ZIP code. I have done it before, but it's not working right now: "We apologize. We’re unable to process your request at this time. Please try again later."

    Edit: text history shows that, after texting MINC to 611611: "To change your phone number, please provide your 5 digit zip code". After entering a zip code: "Great! We're ready to assign a new phone number in this ZIP code. Keep in mind you will lose your current number. To cancel, reply N. To change your number, reply Y."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    1,696
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks so much for your replies. I got a PM from AlexTrac saying yes, it asks for a zip code. The funny thing is, given AlexTrac's past track record, I assumed it was baloney!

Bookmarks

Bookmarks