Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: Ring time before going to voice mail....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    688
    Device(s)
    V557, V3xx
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0

    Ring time before going to voice mail....

    Does anyone have syntax for a user to change the number of rings before a call goes to voice mail?

    Currently, I'm not sure how long, or how many rings, my account is set to, but if often seems if I'm not quick on the draw to answer, I miss the call since it's gone to voice mail.

    Sorry if this has been covered. I searched and couldn't find it.

    --jeff

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,533
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Ring time before going to voice mail....

    Originally posted by jefe
    Does anyone have syntax for a user to change the number of rings before a call goes to voice mail?

    Currently, I'm not sure how long, or how many rings, my account is set to, but if often seems if I'm not quick on the draw to answer, I miss the call since it's gone to voice mail.

    Sorry if this has been covered. I searched and couldn't find it.

    --jeff
    There are instructions in this thread but I could not get it to work.

    http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...hreadid=226050

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,533
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by SouthernFlower
    This works, I use it myself. Most ringers are defaulted to 20 seconds, not enough time if you can't find your phone and you miss the call. This will let you increase your ringtime to 30 seconds (the highest, six rings). Just type the code below down just like you're making a phone call.

    *61*(your service center number)**30# [press Send]-you should see a message on your screen after it's done

    Your service center number is your voice mail number which is by default in your phonebook. If it is not then you can press the following code and it'll tell you what your number is.

    *#67# [press Send]-write down your number, area code and all

    Enjoy!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    688
    Device(s)
    V557, V3xx
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Whoa, mrducie...that's one of those marathon threads. Can you me to the page that has the specifc advice I'm looking for? I still don't see it.

    And I tried that *61* etc etc. I get a response: Not available.

    --jeff

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,533
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by jefe
    Whoa, mrducie...that's one of those marathon threads. Can you me to the page that has the specifc advice I'm looking for? I still don't see it.

    And I tried that *61* etc etc. I get a response: Not available.

    --jeff
    I posted the post for you. I told you it didn't work with my phone. This is probably a carrier specific feature.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    688
    Device(s)
    V557, V3xx
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by mrdeucie
    I posted the post for you. I told you it didn't work with my phone. This is probably a carrier specific feature.
    Yep....sorry, I just found the post you quoted in that thread.

    As I said, I had tried that before with no joy. I suspect that you are right in that this feature is carrier specfic. The poster of that tip has Cingular. I'm looking for someone to tell me how to do the same thing on AT&T...and AT&T GSM if it makes a difference.

    --jeff

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Monsey, NY
    Posts
    873
    Device(s)
    BB Bold 9900! (Love it!)/Nokia E6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T (Way back in the Metro One days! 1988) & Cellcom (Israel)
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just tried it on my V600 here in NYC and both just worked.
    Nathan

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    688
    Device(s)
    V557, V3xx
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by nweinstock
    I just tried it on my V600 here in NYC and both just worked.
    Nathan
    Really?

    What number did you use as "your service center number?"

    And what was the reply after the entry worked?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,744
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Worked for me too, this is a great tip, should be a sticky I think. My service center number here in PA is 484-354-6833 and everything here works great.

    It now answers after 6 rings, which is really nice. Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    37
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 7105t
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Worked for me too. Service number for me in Florida is 1 305 712 9601.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    688
    Device(s)
    V557, V3xx
    Carrier(s)
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0

    SUCCESS!

    What message did you folks get after you pressed "send?"

    edit: Well, after many tries, I got it to work here too.

    And, to answer my own question for anyone else trying this tip...the reply I got was: Divert On - If No Answer.

    I just called my cell on a landline and the incoming call rings for 30 seconds, about 6 rings.

    Thanks to mrducie, Southern Flower, and everyone else who chimed in and got me to keep trying until I suceeded.

    --jeff
    Last edited by jefe; 03-11-2004 at 06:12 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    NYC Area
    Posts
    5,002
    Device(s)
    Google Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    at&t always said you can't change it from 4-6 but i just changed mine.... lol... sad thing about that is that i wont ever get v-mails no more cuz people will just hang up after 2-3 rings (i don't get it either... it's a cellie people!!! let them ring!)
    - yeah, don't listen to that guy!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    88
    Device(s)
    Sprint PPC 6700
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just tried it with a MPX200. I entered *61*815XXXXXXX and then it worked.

    It said succeeded

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Milwaukee
    Posts
    8,628
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    i just tried it and my phone rings for about 30 seconds but instead of going to voicemail, it now goes to a message saying that my phone is disconnected but its not because my phone was just ringing and it said 1 missed call so now I don't know wtf is going on.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,533
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    What about everyone else?

    What happens after you have added the extended rings and you let it ring? Does it still go to voicemail?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Bookmarks