Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Will T-Mobile USA sim cards work with T-Mobile EU/UK phones without unlocking?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,502
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Will T-Mobile USA sim cards work with T-Mobile EU/UK phones without unlocking?

    Will T-Mobile USA sim cards work with T-Mobile EU/UK phones without unlocking?
    In the practice of tolerance, one's enemy is the best teacher. ~Dalai Lama

    My Feedback

    ...in the end, the anvil is my friend, don't forget it

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Köln, Germany/Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    15,317
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile MDA II w/Plantronics M3000 (Primary)
    Carrier(s)
    E-Plus (DE)
    Feedback Score
    0
    No, I believe so since T-Mobile UK is a separate provider from T-Mobile USA and they use a difference MNC (Network Code) than T-Mobile USA. You would have to get your phone unlocked to make it work since the MNCs vary for each T-Mobile network.
    Born/Raised: Redwood City, CA, USA
    Live in: Cologne, Germany (May 2004)
    German (Fluent) and English (Fluent)

    Nokia Series 40 and Series 60 Reset Codes:
    http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=640135

    Prepaid Options for Abroad:
    http://www.prepaidgsm.net
    http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=622551

    Worldwide GPRS settings:

    http://www.access-sys-eu.com/GPRS_Settings.95.0.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,502
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by TriBand81
    No, I believe so since T-Mobile UK is a separate provider from T-Mobile USA and they use a difference MNC (Network Code) than T-Mobile USA. You would have to get your phone unlocked to make it work since the MNCs vary for each T-Mobile network.
    I thought most EU/UK phones were unlocked to begin with but some could be locked. hmm...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    643
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Bold
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was in Germany 2 years ago and was able to put a T-Mobile Germany sim card in my locked phone without problems.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,502
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by bsippl
    I was in Germany 2 years ago and was able to put a T-Mobile Germany sim card in my locked phone without problems.
    What about vice versa?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    643
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry Bold
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    As far as I know they don't really lock their phones in Europe (unless it's prepaid I think), so it should work fine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Köln, Germany/Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    15,317
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile MDA II w/Plantronics M3000 (Primary)
    Carrier(s)
    E-Plus (DE)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by bsippl
    As far as I know they don't really lock their phones in Europe (unless it's prepaid I think), so it should work fine.
    Correct, European providers lock their phones whenever you get them as a prepaid package. However, the T-Mobile thing must be the exception to the rule since it would be surprising if they locked T-Mobile SIMs out to prevent people from roaming on their own European and American networks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,383
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 5, GS8, Nokia 6230i
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Xfinity Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by mobilezen
    What about vice versa?
    yep, my t-mo austria card works fine in my locked E715
    If you can read this, thank a teacher. If you are reading this in English, thank a Veteran.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London UK formerly Atlanta US
    Posts
    157
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6610i TMO UK
    Carrier(s)
    Tmobile UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    from experience, your US SIM will not work in a tmobile phone here. they are locked, if the UK phone is unlocked, you will roam and pay thru your ×××.

    only a triband US tmobile phone will pick up UK tmobile signal, dual band will only pick up 02 and vodacom, single band wont work.
    strange but true... honest

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Köln, Germany/Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    15,317
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile MDA II w/Plantronics M3000 (Primary)
    Carrier(s)
    E-Plus (DE)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by fantaboy00
    from experience, your US SIM will not work in a tmobile phone here. they are locked, if the UK phone is unlocked, you will roam and pay thru your ×××.

    only a triband US tmobile phone will pick up UK tmobile signal, dual band will only pick up 02 and vodacom, single band wont work.
    strange but true... honest
    That might be the case but normally you pay a bit less to roam on another T-Mobile network than if you were using one of the other British providers.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London UK formerly Atlanta US
    Posts
    157
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6610i TMO UK
    Carrier(s)
    Tmobile UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    i used to sell t-mobile in the US and regular calls are 40c per min (after u have used up ur alotted minutes) international roaming is $1.00 a minute in europe and like $3.00 in africa and asia local roaming on US GSM networks is free although u can only do it on AT&T

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Köln, Germany/Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    15,317
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile MDA II w/Plantronics M3000 (Primary)
    Carrier(s)
    E-Plus (DE)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Do you mean T-Mobile To Go or a regular contract call rate?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London UK formerly Atlanta US
    Posts
    157
    Device(s)
    Nokia 6610i TMO UK
    Carrier(s)
    Tmobile UK
    Feedback Score
    0
    if i remember correctly, its 40c for prepay(pay as you go) 40c for the $19.99 to $29.99 contract plans 35c for the $39.99 to $59.99 contract plans, 30c for the $79.99 to $100 plans.

    this is when you have used up your free minutes check brochures or ask you t-mobile dealer for updated prices

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,383
    Device(s)
    OnePlus 5, GS8, Nokia 6230i
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, Xfinity Mobile, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by fantaboy00
    from experience, your US SIM will not work in a tmobile phone here. they are locked, if the UK phone is unlocked, you will roam and pay thru your ×××.

    only a triband US tmobile phone will pick up UK tmobile signal, dual band will only pick up 02 and vodacom, single band wont work.
    strange but true... honest
    not true my t-mo USA card also worked in a locked t-mo austria nokia (i think it was an 8310) - maybe its hit or miss

Bookmarks