Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: How to use your MPx220 as a modem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    562
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0

    How to use your MPx220 as a modem

    OK, this is it. The info that has been pined after forever. Major thanks to jiveman for getting this right!!

    INSTALLATION/SETUP:

    1) Install ActiveSync and configure it as needed.
    2) Pop in the CD that came with your MPx220.
    3) Go to Control Panel/Phones & Modems (name my differ depending on OS).
    4) Add a new modem. For the drivers, point it to the CD-ROM and it will find the Motorola phone drivers.
    5) When the new phone appears in the list of modems, double click it. Go to the "Advanced" tab.
    6) Enter this as the initialization string: +CGDCONT=1,"IP","WAP.CINGULAR"
    7) Hit OK.
    8) Under your connections, create a new dialup connection called Cingular. Set the phone number to: *99#

    DIALING UP:

    1) On your phone, go to Start->Accessories->Modem Link. Activate it.
    2) Close the phone (don't hit Done or press anything else).
    3) Plug the phone into your computer.
    4) Open up the modem properties and under the Diagnostics tab, click "Query Modem." I heard this is necessary, but that may or may not be true. Hit OK to get out of the modem properties.
    5) Open up your network connections and double click the Cingular connection.
    6) Enter username: [email protected]
    7) Enter password: CINGULAR1 (make sure user and password are in all caps)
    8) Dial. Done!

    DISCONNECT:

    1) Right click the modem icon in your tray and choose Disconnect.
    2) Unplug the phone from your computer.
    3) Click "Done" on your phone. This will deactivate the modem link.

    Private message me with any corrections and I'll correct this FAQ entry.

    Keywords: tether tethering laptop notebook phone modem wireless

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    47
    Device(s)
    E71-2
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Dumb question but this uses your minutes correct? You don't need a ISP to do this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    562
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    You don't need an ISP. it doesn't use minutes, it uses bandwidth (MB). So this depends on which plan you have.. there's the 1MB/month plan, the 5MB/month plan.. and maybe a couple others. I have the unlimited data transfer.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    47
    Device(s)
    E71-2
    Carrier(s)
    ATT
    Feedback Score
    0
    Gotcha, thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    Works perfectly! thank you for saving me hours of frustration on the phone with Cingular

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4,040
    Feedback Score
    0
    hmm when i try to do this, it gets up to the part where it says "registering your computer on the network" or something like that, and on my phone's screen it shows "subcribe to GPRS first" i already have a data plan though. im using a 6230 btw.

    :edit: nvm, i got it to work, i forgot to input the initialization string.
    Last edited by peterd; 01-15-2005 at 05:30 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    496
    Device(s)
    Motorla V3i & Motorola V3x Black & Motorola V635 w/ Motorola HS810
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    What if you have an ISP? Could you route it through there using the phone by minutes instead of data transfer? I have MSN. Or also, how much is unlimited data.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    167
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can this be done via bluetooth?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    562
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Haven't tried it yet via Bluetooth.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    6,501
    Device(s)
    HTC Fuze
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I made a small tutorial to do this via bluetooth. Check it out here:

    http://www.mpx200.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=7067
    Omega2008 | Windows Mobile Guru

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    just around the Riverbend
    Posts
    3,923
    Device(s)
    Apple iPhone 3G
    Carrier(s)
    Blue Death Star
    Feedback Score
    0
    dammit. I should have looked for this yesterday. I had a customer who swore up and down he couldnt use his mpx220 as a modem, because someone from tech said he couldnt.

    Meh, oh well.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    10
    Device(s)
    treo 600
    Carrier(s)
    Tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    what if we just want to use this w/ an ISP liek mentioned above. I will just use my minutes, but dont want to pay data charges. nice for internet on weekend trips.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Centralia, Illinois
    Posts
    1,539
    Device(s)
    Palm Centro
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    would this tutorial work for pretty much all the PDA type phones that Cingular offers like the Siemens, and SE? ( i believe) other then the MPX220...??? other then that GREAT tutorial!!
    ALL VXXX HOW TO
    "If a program actually fits in memory and has enough disk space, it is guaranteed to crash." - Murphys computers law

    n00bs be warned... SEARCH or be 'ed

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    888
    Device(s)
    iphone 4 32GB
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T the new Death Star...
    Feedback Score
    0
    make sure you have unlimted data not wap! Some people make the misteak if they get an unlimited media net plan but wham end up with big data usage rates!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    10
    Device(s)
    SE T226
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    What is the transfer rate using the phone as the modem?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks