Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Telefonica Buying out Bell south in Latin America

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    394
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ah, the CDG and its inflated CDMA adoption claims...

    In fact there is only ONE CDMA mobile telephony provider in Brazil: Vivo. Vivo is the result of a merger between Telefónica's and Portugal Telecom's cellular assets in Brazil, and a series of subsequent purchases. As a result, Vivo is made up of several companies operating under one brand name. CENERP, listed there, is a Vivo company.

    All the CDMA trials listed on the CDG site resulted in nothing; and they even list Brazil's telecomms regulatory agency (Anatel) as a CDMA operator, when it fact it ran a one-off trial of a 450MHz CDMA deployment.

    THe only other company that uses CDMA is Embratel (Vésper), which holds WLL local telephony licenses in many regions of the country. Their phones operate on the 1900MHz band and its network is forbidden by law to allow handoffs (it's got a fixed telephony license after all).

    That's it for CDMA in Brazil. Vivo is a market leader but it's losing its market share to GSM competition.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    533
    Carrier(s)
    Every CDMA MNO
    Feedback Score
    0
    I hate to say it as I'm a CDMA fan but Movistar (Telefonica) has shifted to GSM and CTi has already shifted to CDMA definitely. CTi doesn't activate any CDMA phones anymore and Movistar is giving you a hard time to activate a CDMA phone, they said that they're moving to GSM and that they rather not have any new CDMA clients.

    I understand CTi is doing this as they only had cdmaOne but it's crazy that Movistar is taking their CDMA 1xRTT stuff to the dumper. I really don't understand why they don't want CDMA at all.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    testing

  4. #19
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    4
    Device(s)
    SE k750
    Carrier(s)
    Tmobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Don't mean to threadjack but if I were buying a Razr for a friend in peru who has MOVISTAR right now, what one would I buy? The cdma razr or the gsm one and would either even work? If they are changing to GSM wouldn't it be smarter to wait? Thanks.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Köln, Germany/Redwood City, CA
    Posts
    15,317
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile MDA II w/Plantronics M3000 (Primary)
    Carrier(s)
    E-Plus (DE)
    Feedback Score
    0
    According to GSM World, your friend would need the GSM V3 Razr that has GSM 850. Movistar Peru uses only 850:

    http://www.gsmworld.com/roaming/gsminfo/cou_pe.shtml
    Born/Raised: Redwood City, CA, USA
    Live in: Cologne, Germany (May 2004)
    German (Fluent) and English (Fluent)

    Nokia Series 40 and Series 60 Reset Codes:
    http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=640135

    Prepaid Options for Abroad:
    http://www.prepaidgsm.net
    http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=622551

    Worldwide GPRS settings:

    http://www.access-sys-eu.com/GPRS_Settings.95.0.html

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    215/267
    Posts
    531
    Device(s)
    Motorola Photon Q
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint Nextel
    Feedback Score
    0
    i dont think many people are on the telefonica movistar gsm network yet... ill have to call someone i know in peru who is probally still on movistar to see if they are on the gsm system yet they might be on claro now

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Southeast FL
    Posts
    37
    Device(s)
    BlackBerry 8520, Unlocked HipTop Slide
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ah this is an awesome thread. Telefonica Movistar (Ex-Telcel/Bellsouth) in Venezuela is slowly setting up their GSM network around the country. They are running of the 850Mhz band, and they already have ads on national magazines. When I went over to Venezuela this Christmas, I tried using my Sidekick, aside from forgetting my charger, Sidekick 3's do not have the 900Mhz band, which is the one that Digitel-TIM uses (T-Mo's roaming partner in Venezuela, and supposedly the only GSM carrier) so I couldn't use it. Sidekick 3's do have the 850Mhz band, so I checked my network info and found a network named VZ850. So apparently they're slowly working on the crossover to GSM. I think its great, finally Digitel-TIM will have some competition and maybe lower their prices, those crooks. GSM all the way =]

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    215/267
    Posts
    531
    Device(s)
    Motorola Photon Q
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint Nextel
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyDaTiger
    Ah this is an awesome thread. Telefonica Movistar (Ex-Telcel/Bellsouth) in Venezuela is slowly setting up their GSM network around the country. They are running of the 850Mhz band, and they already have ads on national magazines. When I went over to Venezuela this Christmas, I tried using my Sidekick, aside from forgetting my charger, Sidekick 3's do not have the 900Mhz band, which is the one that Digitel-TIM uses (T-Mo's roaming partner in Venezuela, and supposedly the only GSM carrier) so I couldn't use it. Sidekick 3's do have the 850Mhz band, so I checked my network info and found a network named VZ850. So apparently they're slowly working on the crossover to GSM. I think its great, finally Digitel-TIM will have some competition and maybe lower their prices, those crooks. GSM all the way =]
    Yes I noticed on Gsmworld their was a Telefonica/Movistar gsm network for peru in addition to the Tim/Claro network

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Bookmarks