Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Difference between mobile Internet vs Data

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    73
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 8100 Pearl
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Difference between mobile Internet vs Data

    Can someone explain to me why Data plan seems so much more expensive?

    Navigate Mobile Internet
    $12, 3mb, $0.01/kb additional

    Lite Data
    $25, 3mb, $10/mb additional

    I don't care for downloading ringtones and that stuff. I just want to use an html browser and surf and get email.

    Is there something you can do with the Data that you can't do with NMI?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    brossard (MTL area)
    Posts
    5,264
    Device(s)
    iPhone 3G White
    Carrier(s)
    Cellular Solution - Rogers Communications
    Feedback Score
    0
    Navigate plan will only give you access to goam.com (wap browser)

    Data plan will give you access to internet.com (html browser)

    However, if you call CS to add the $12 navigate and ask them to give you internet.com access, they might do it for you.

    kalok~
    kalok Wireless
    My World, Right Now.

    HoFo FeedBacks
    My ROKR E1 Review | My 6620 Review | My Rogers MobileTV Review
    850mhz was a must for Rogers Wireless, but now it has became a plus for GSM Canada!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    73
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 8100 Pearl
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    great answer, thanks for the clarification.

    another thing I need to beg for when I call for my HUP and renewal.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    brossard (MTL area)
    Posts
    5,264
    Device(s)
    iPhone 3G White
    Carrier(s)
    Cellular Solution - Rogers Communications
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by infinii
    great answer, thanks for the clarification.

    another thing I need to beg for when I call for my HUP and renewal.
    What do you mean you need to beg?

    If you're eligible, no. There is no need to beg.

    kalok~

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    7,010
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by kalok
    Navigate plan will only give you access to goam.com (wap browser)

    Data plan will give you access to internet.com (html browser)

    However, if you call CS to add the $12 navigate and ask them to give you internet.com access, they might do it for you.

    kalok~
    I thought all plans come with internet.com, cause even my paygo has it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    GSITA safe
    Posts
    42,722
    Feedback Score
    12 (100%)

    Re: Difference between mobile Internet vs Data

    Originally posted by infinii
    Can someone explain to me why Data plan seems so much more expensive?

    Navigate Mobile Internet
    $12, 3mb, $0.01/kb additional

    Lite Data
    $25, 3mb, $10/mb additional

    I don't care for downloading ringtones and that stuff. I just want to use an html browser and surf and get email.

    Is there something you can do with the Data that you can't do with NMI?
    Dude..
    the navigate plan has 2 megs. not 3

    furthermore $0.01/kb x 1000kb is $10.00..
    same overage rate.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    GSITA safe
    Posts
    42,722
    Feedback Score
    12 (100%)
    Originally posted by kalok
    Navigate plan will only give you access to goam.com (wap browser)

    Data plan will give you access to internet.com (html browser)

    However, if you call CS to add the $12 navigate and ask them to give you internet.com access, they might do it for you.

    kalok~
    no
    all navigate/data plans have internet.com access,
    been like this for a long time now

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    brossard (MTL area)
    Posts
    5,264
    Device(s)
    iPhone 3G White
    Carrier(s)
    Cellular Solution - Rogers Communications
    Feedback Score
    0
    Originally posted by treatz
    no
    all navigate/data plans have internet.com access,
    been like this for a long time now
    shiet.. true.. I forgot about that.
    My bad My bad My bad.. but hey.. it's april fool, give me a chance will ya?



    kalok~

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    GSITA safe
    Posts
    42,722
    Feedback Score
    12 (100%)
    Infinii:
    there was no need for a new thread on this.
    your old one would've done fine

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    73
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 8100 Pearl
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Re: Difference between mobile Internet vs Data

    Originally posted by treatz
    Dude..
    the navigate plan has 2 megs. not 3

    furthermore $0.01/kb x 1000kb is $10.00..
    same overage rate.
    oops, my mistake. but I won't edit it

    still, my point was that the navigate was cheaper...until I was told that it didn't allow you to use internet.com.....which I see is incorrect now as you've stated that both plans allow internet.com.

    Even so, the navigate plan is cheaper. And you get per kb billing as opposed to mb on the data plan.



    kalok,
    by begging, I meant to have access to internet.com allowed for my account. I already know I am eligible for hup. don't need to beg now.

    gonna goto CC to pick up the treo 650 after work

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    GSITA safe
    Posts
    42,722
    Feedback Score
    12 (100%)

    Re: Re: Re: Difference between mobile Internet vs Data

    Originally posted by infinii
    oops, my mistake. but I won't edit it

    still, my point was that the navigate was cheaper...until I was told that it didn't allow you to use internet.com.....which I see is incorrect now as you've stated that both plans allow internet.com.

    Even so, the navigate plan is cheaper. And you get per kb billing as opposed to mb on the data plan.



    kalok,
    by begging, I meant to have access to internet.com allowed for my account. I already know I am eligible for hup. don't need to beg now.

    gonna goto CC to pick up the treo 650 after work

    no no no..
    the reason the Data plans are billed per meg is because theoretically, heavy data users will be on that plan.. so they show you per meg. Navigate is designed for WAP, so they show per KB.. it's the same rate though as the DSP's dont' round up.. IF you use a whole MEG you pay the $10.00

    let's do math:

    12.00, 2 megs..
    25.00 3 megs.

    if you used 3 megs on the $12 navigate you got 1000kb * 0.01, $10.00

    $10.00+12.00, $22.00,
    technically it is cheaper to use a navigate then the $25.00 3 MEG D.S.P.

    HOWEVER
    only the D.S.P. plans include access to "my mail" by rogers which is a push solution for Tre0 650 and vox SMT5600.. business users will gladly take the DSP for the free mymail

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In a small room
    Posts
    506
    Device(s)
    X10a 2.1 JIT enabled
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Treatz:
    "HOWEVER
    only the D.S.P. plans include access to "my mail" by rogers which is a push solution for Tre0 650 and vox SMT5600.. business users will gladly take the DSP for the free mymail"

    Ya the big deal is MyMail cause I have unlimited navigate but no internet.com access it sucks

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    333
    Device(s)
    ???
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    On the subject of data, how can one check to see how much data has been used (ie. to see if you are geting close to your limit of 2mb). Also loosely related, how can you check how many minutes you've used?

    I was a long time sub of Bell and you could call the robot to get that...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    GSITA safe
    Posts
    42,722
    Feedback Score
    12 (100%)
    Originally posted by jahko
    On the subject of data, how can one check to see how much data has been used (ie. to see if you are geting close to your limit of 2mb). Also loosely related, how can you check how many minutes you've used?

    I was a long time sub of Bell and you could call the robot to get that...
    can't and can't

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    333
    Device(s)
    ???
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question

    why not....

    you can check to see how much electricity, water, gasoline etc and adjust your habits instantly...

    are you telling me that you have to wait to get $200 in overage charges before you can make adjustments....

    if this is the case this is the Achilles Heel of the big mad seeg company.....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks