Page 1 of 19 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 275

Thread: A guide of how to turn OFF evdo on your 815

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    You Dont Need To Know
    Posts
    990
    Carrier(s)
    "Reachout, on the wireless network that never stops working for you."
    Feedback Score
    0

    A guide of how to turn OFF evdo on your 815

    i live in the bay area as well, work in fremont, live in san ramon


    my battery yused to die in 1 day too


    i then turned off evdo, and kept it only on 1X and my battery lasts me 2 days now!!!!

    HOW TO TURN OFF EVDO:

    PRESS menu 0 73887 *

    code is 000000

    scroll down to test mode

    select "enable" for test mode

    go back to the idle screen (press end button couple times)

    now press menu then the left soft key

    -----

    now you will see a wjitre screen with blue characters...


    scroll to the 3-4 page and you will see sopmething saying HDR

    the HDR is set to auto

    change HDR to cdma

    exit out of here.

    then go back to test mode( menu 073887 *)

    disable test mode.


    CAUTION- YOU CAN F UP YOUR PHONE BADLY WHILE IN TEST MODE... BE CAREFUL!!!




    if your phone switches between 1x and ev, i highly recommend this to save you battery life... i get twice the battery life i was getting before. now when ev-do is launchged in my area, i will switch itback to auto


    cyrus
    -Vyruz-

    Click Me to get into HEAVEN

    (no its not porn)


    I am selling my BRAND NEW NEVER USED LG vx7000(BLACK) with FULL BOX and everything included. It has 0 minutes in the talk time. PM me with questions. Entertain me with offers. Seller motivated, want to sell ASAP. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    545
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    The only potential issue I have here is that sometimes my E815 displays "Roaming" or "Extended Network" after I reboot. Hopefully that's not an issue, but we're all trained to freak out a bit when we see "Roaming" on the display.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,816
    Device(s)
    More toys than you can imagine
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    You Dont Need To Know
    Posts
    990
    Carrier(s)
    "Reachout, on the wireless network that never stops working for you."
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hausman
    The only potential issue I have here is that sometimes my E815 displays "Roaming" or "Extended Network" after I reboot. Hopefully that's not an issue, but we're all trained to freak out a bit when we see "Roaming" on the display.

    same thing happened to me, untill i power cycled the phone....

    the screen should be the same that roc jsut posted

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    72
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0

    Exiting out of Test Mode

    My phone is STUCK in test mode. Could someone PLEASE let me know how to exit out of this? Thanks in advance!

    Jrmstr33

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Buffalo Grove
    Posts
    572
    Device(s)
    Motorola V3m Sprint
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint -Sero
    Feedback Score
    0
    What reason is their to disable EVDO in a non EVDO area. Will it save power there?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,816
    Device(s)
    More toys than you can imagine
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jrmstr33
    My phone is STUCK in test mode. Could someone PLEASE let me know how to exit out of this? Thanks in advance!

    Jrmstr33
    first menu left softkey

    then menu, 073887 *

    scroll to test mode and choose disable

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    72
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6S
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by roc a fella
    first menu left softkey

    then menu, 073887 *

    scroll to test mode and choose disable
    Thanks so much! I actually found it in another thread, but I appreciate your help nonetheless!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SF Bay
    Posts
    238
    Device(s)
    KRZR - Fire Red
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm stuck in this test mode and can't get out. I turned the phone off and back on and it goes right to the test mode screen. How do I get out?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    43
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shundiman
    I'm stuck in this test mode and can't get out. I turned the phone off and back on and it goes right to the test mode screen. How do I get out?
    Try Menu, then Left softkey when it is in the test mode.
    I had some problems with test mode when reception was bad, maybe that has something to do with it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    norcal
    Posts
    1,862
    Carrier(s)
    at&t mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Your welcome Vyruz

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    545
    Device(s)
    Galaxy S4
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Vyruz Reaper
    same thing happened to me, untill i power cycled the phone....

    the screen should be the same that roc jsut posted
    Um, the screen Roc posted is the default, "auto" and "on". It should read "cdma" and "off", right?

    And mine still says "Roaming" or "Extended Network" probably every other time I reboot.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Redwood Valley,NorCal/but SoCal Born and Raised/Pocatello,ID
    Posts
    29,638
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10+, Samsung Galaxy Watch (AT&T), Samsung Galaxy Tab S6
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rhino369
    What reason is their to disable EVDO in a non EVDO area. Will it save power there?
    I second the question. They're not even testing in this area that I can detect, so it's on 1X all the time here.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Francisco and San Jose, CA
    Posts
    284
    Device(s)
    HTC Touch Diamond (CDMA)
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    In San Francisco and San Jose, it's EV like 20% of the time.. and keeps switching back and forth between EV and 1X...

    I'll give this a try and see the results tomorrow..

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,548
    Device(s)
    Storm
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rhino369
    What reason is their to disable EVDO in a non EVDO area. Will it save power there?
    I believe so yes. Maybe not as much but from what I understand the phone will still send out signals looking for the towers every once in a while.

Page 1 of 19 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Bookmarks