Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Verizon in NYC?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    420
    Device(s)
    v60s
    Carrier(s)
    verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Verizon in NYC?

    I need to get my Verizon cellular number changed to a NYC # from an upstate #.
    Does anyone know any good Verizon Cellular shops in NYC, Queens? I'm lookin for some specific number. Is this possible??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    131
    Device(s)
    LG VX6000
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Verizon will give you a 718, 917, or 646 area code for NYC, but I don't think they will allow you to pick your own phone number.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    337
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    What about 347? I believe thats an overlay for 718, am I correct?

    --IslesFan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    714
    Device(s)
    Verizon iPhone 4S
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    yup, 347 is an overlay of 718 and has been given out to cellular customers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    131
    Device(s)
    LG VX6000
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oops, forgot that one

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    337
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, VZW
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question about 347

    Can regular landline phones be assigned 347 or is it just limited to cellular phones at this point?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Manhattan
    Posts
    15
    Device(s)
    LG VX-4400
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I believe the FCC (or somebody...) has ruled that you cannot have area codes assigned to a specific class of devices or type of service. That's why the 917 area code in NYC is now also used for landlines (when 917 was originally assigned to pagers, cell phones and faxes, the ruling hadn't been made yet-- now, for example, we have lots of 917 landline numbers where I work). So, 347 could be assigned to landlines as well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    714
    Device(s)
    Verizon iPhone 4S
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I believe that 917 went to landlines after the 212 exchanges were exhausted. They were originally solely dedicated for faxes, cell phones and pagers. However, once 212 ran out, 917 became manhattan landlines as well.

    I believe there are 347s assigned to landlines as well, however 718 still has numbers available, so its not as widespread.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,039
    Device(s)
    Motorola V600
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Phone history- Samsung A500, N400, S105, X426
    Sanyo 4900, 5150, 6000, 6200, 8100.
    Nokia 3590, 3650, 6610, 8390
    SE-T610, T106, Panasonic GD55
    Motorola Startac 7868W, V600

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    131
    Device(s)
    LG VX6000
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    My friends office in midtown has a 646 area code

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    99
    Device(s)
    V710
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Talking Just call

    All you need to do is call verizon customer service and they will change it. You can tell them what area code you want and if the customer service rep is nice he can give you 4 or 5 choices with the prefixes. They will change it in less than 1 minute its also free (ATT and nextel charges $25.00 don't know about sprint)


    RooK

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    420
    Device(s)
    v60s
    Carrier(s)
    verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was told that I had to bring my cell phone into the shop. They will not change it over the phone. I dont understand why VZN won't change my number over the phone, but Sprint and Cingular will.
    I guess they need to reconfigure my phone.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    1,436
    Device(s)
    iPhone 4 Black 32GB
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hmmm...they let me change a couple numbers over the phone here in Chicago.

Bookmarks