Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 31 to 38 of 38

Thread: Tethering and Data settings for your phone (MMS, SMS, MediaNet, CSD, WAP, Email, etc)

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4
    Device(s)
    Motorola RAZR
    Carrier(s)
    Cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    cartervt2k - I'm not an expert in tethering issues, but I'm skeptical about any "flying below the radar", all messaging is measured/counted/sliced and diced. Most likely your data plan is absorbing your usage, once you go beyond the plan block limit, you'll be billed for additional minutes / messages / kB / etc. Buy the plan to cover your typical usage and you won't have to worry about the wazoo....

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10
    Device(s)
    LG VX8500
    Carrier(s)
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you have an unlimited MEdianet plan you'll be able to tether if you use the wap access point instead of isp. A full fledged pda plan, or even worse a data connect plan, are not necessary. Although, AT&T's wap service costs more than t-mo for unlimited, at 19.99$/mo

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    13
    Device(s)
    W580i
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can someone post the settings to set up ATT's MediaNet and MMS on my newly unbranded SE w580i? I went to SE's config site and tried that method, and SE keeps telling me "there are no settings for your phone."

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    145
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can someone please tell me if the modem string makes any difference in the quality of the connection and/or the way AT&T bills you.

    For example I have seen the following variety of strings:

    AT+CFUN=1;+CGDCONT=1,"IP","wap.cingular"

    AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","wap.cingular"

    AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","wap.cingular","",0,0


    What does the CFUN command add? And the extra zeros after wap.cingular?
    I havent had the courage to change the wap.cingular to isp.cingular cause I'm afraid of the way AT&T will start billing.

    BTW, I'm on the media max unlimited 200 plan using the 8125. I have noted that my APN on the 8125 is set to isp.cingular and CANNOT be changed.

    I'm also thinking of upgrading to a 3G phone for the better speeds.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7
    Device(s)
    W810i
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anyone have MMS settings for a W810i. I have a new one unlocked and I am at work posting this so internet is working. I have found a few settings in various threads but none will work.

    Also the SE site says there are no settings avalible and the links to the Cingular settings page are dead. Can anyone help?

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unhappy Hot spot data transmissios

    Hi folks! Newbie me has a question that I have spent many long hours trying to find an answer to. The circumstances are a bit long and convoluted but I will try to simplify: I have an ATT premiere unlimited account using 2 Samsung Galaxy J7s sharing a plan(I will call them Phone1 and phone2). Phone2 uses the hotspot feature continuously as the primary internet connection for the home. When we first started using phone2 we never bothered to check data usage. For 7 months all seemed fine. This month we got a data overage notice (15GB max for the hot spot). Once we started looking closely at the data information we found a regular transfer of 110+/- MB every 2 hours through the mobile HS continuously day and night whether there was anything attached to the hotspot or not. This of course equates to roughly 1GB of data a day just by having the hotspot on. We have contacted ATT tech services and they have not been able to supply an answer yet on whether the transfers are something we are doing or they are doing. Let me list what we have trouble shot to eliminate causes: Left hotspot on at night with no other electronics energized (still made transfers), removed phone from the area(road trip, still made transfers), turned hotspot off (transfers stopped), used Phone1 and turned Hotspot on(different location, still made transfers immediately after turning hotspot on). installed a monitoring app to try and find out what app is causing this(no data yet).
    So I was wondering if anybody has heard of or had a problem similar to this and might have an insight to what is causing the data transfers? It is only on the mobile hot spot when it is turned on. I feel that it has something to do with the mobile hotspot app itself but I can not find any ATT techs with indepth knowledge about the service.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    Data usage for Hot spot

    Hi folks! Newbie me has a question that I have spent many long hours trying to find an answer to. The circumstances are a bit long and convoluted but I will try to simplify: I have an ATT premiere unlimited account using 2 Samsung Galaxy J7s sharing a plan(I will call them Phone1 and phone2). Phone2 uses the hotspot feature continuously as the primary internet connection for the home. When we first started using phone2 we never bothered to check data usage. For 7 months all seemed fine. This month we got a data overage notice (15GB max for the hot spot). Once we started looking closely at the data information we found a regular transfer of 110+/- MB every 2 hours through the mobile HS continuously day and night whether there was anything attached to the hotspot or not. This of course equates to roughly 1GB of data a day just by having the hotspot on. We have contacted ATT tech services and they have not been able to supply an answer yet on whether the transfers are something we are doing or they are doing. Let me list what we have trouble shot to eliminate causes: Left hotspot on at night with no other electronics energized (still made transfers), removed phone from the area(road trip, still made transfers), turned hotspot off (transfers stopped), used Phone1 and turned Hotspot on(different location, still made transfers immediately after turning hotspot on). installed a monitoring app to try and find out what app is causing this(no data yet).
    So I was wondering if anybody has heard of or had a problem similar to this and might have an insight to what is causing the data transfers? It is only on the mobile hot spot when it is turned on. I feel that it has something to do with the mobile hotspot app itself but I can not find any ATT techs with indepth knowledge about the service.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6,184
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mowermel View Post
    Hi folks! Newbie me has a question that I have spent many long hours trying to find an answer to. The circumstances are a bit long and convoluted but I will try to simplify: I have an ATT premiere unlimited account using 2 Samsung Galaxy J7s sharing a plan(I will call them Phone1 and phone2). Phone2 uses the hotspot feature continuously as the primary internet connection for the home. When we first started using phone2 we never bothered to check data usage. For 7 months all seemed fine. This month we got a data overage notice (15GB max for the hot spot). Once we started looking closely at the data information we found a regular transfer of 110+/- MB every 2 hours through the mobile HS continuously day and night whether there was anything attached to the hotspot or not. This of course equates to roughly 1GB of data a day just by having the hotspot on. We have contacted ATT tech services and they have not been able to supply an answer yet on whether the transfers are something we are doing or they are doing. Let me list what we have trouble shot to eliminate causes: Left hotspot on at night with no other electronics energized (still made transfers), removed phone from the area(road trip, still made transfers), turned hotspot off (transfers stopped), used Phone1 and turned Hotspot on(different location, still made transfers immediately after turning hotspot on). installed a monitoring app to try and find out what app is causing this(no data yet). So I was wondering if anybody has heard of or had a problem similar to this and might have an insight to what is causing the data transfers? It is only on the mobile hot spot when it is turned on. I feel that it has something to do with the mobile hotspot app itself but I can not find any ATT techs with indepth knowledge about the service.
    do you have the hotspot secured with a password/key or is it open ?? try removing everything connected to the hotspot and connect only one device at a time to try to narrow down whatever it is using the data.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Bookmarks