Page 1 of 22 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 326

Thread: SDA FAQ (Version 2.0)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    983
    Device(s)
    T-mobile Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mo
    Feedback Score
    0

    SDA FAQ (Version 2.0)

    Please PM me and I will post all the answers and I will add them to this posting. Just like the MDA Faq thread was getting crammed with info and hard to search. SDA owners need a place to find quick solutions.

    Mod please make this into a sticky. TY

    APPS and Links to Free Apps
    PM recorder (records voice calls) Link

    Tornado Power Control 1.2
    Link

    Overclock your SDA
    Search google for OMAPClock

    VOIP software(use your WIFI to talk over internet and save minutes ) Link

    OPERA (like internet explorer on your phone but supports frames) Link

    Skookum (free RSS, Podcast, Audible reader/player) Link

    TCPMP (free video, music player that supports every codec you can think of)

    Link

    AgileMessenger has a beta version of Agile Messenger for Windows Mobile 2003 that supposedly

    works for the SDA

    AutoLock
    Link

    Push-to-talk style group chat for Mobile Devices
    Link

    Internet Based Time
    Link

    Google Mobilizer
    Link

    Registry Editor
    Link
    Link
    ZipFile

    Free Apps

    Bluetooth headset to listen to music
    Link

    Redirect All sound to Bluetooth
    BtAudio

    To view your contacts names First Name and then Last name.
    Link

    Free stuff
    Marauderzstuff
    pdagold
    Airfagev
    Link
    Coolsmartphone
    SPV Developers

    Screen too bright?
    Link

    Free Home Screens
    Link
    Juni

    Custom Ringtones for your contacts
    Link

    Email and Internet setups

    POP3 Setup
    Go to Messaging->Outlook Email-> Hit Menu-> Options->New Account.

    You can set the entire thing up by hand for either a POP3 or IMAP account there.

    Stream Sirius to your phone
    Sirius

    Stream XM Radio
    XM Radio


    CORRECT TMobile GPRS/t-zones settings for Microsoft Smartphones
    Connections->GPRS->Tmobile GPRS:
    Connects to: WAP Network
    Access point: wap.voicestream.com

    Connections->Proxy->T-mobile:
    Connects from: WAP Network
    Connects to: The Internet
    Proxy: 216.155.165.50:8080
    Type: HTTP

    Connections->Menu->Advanced:
    all connections set to automatic

    Link

    Registry Hacks and Shortcuts

    To Display EDGE Icon
    Get a registry editor and goto \HKLM\Drivers\BuiltIn\RIL then change EnableDifferGprsEdgeIcon to 1

    Registry edit to enable bluetooth OBEX transfer:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Obex\IsEnabl ed = 1

    To change storage of IE Temp files, Cookies and History
    \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders
    \Storage Card\Temp
    \Storage Card\Temp\Cookies
    \Storage Card\Temp\History
    You have to create these 3 new folders on your miniSD card

    Backlight off
    \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ControlPanel\Backlight
    Change the data to whatever time interval you want. I have it at 5 = 5secs.

    To Change the order of your START menu
    \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Shell\StartM enu
    You can change the order in the Value data to however you like it.

    Get rid of the ANNOYING and HARMFUL EDGE disconnect when you hit END

    HLKM->ControlPanel->Phone, REMOVE the DWORD entry "FLAGS" (it is currently "9")

    Soft reset and no more ENDing your EDGE session!


    How to add Page up and Page Down to Pocket Internet Explorer:

    Using a registry editor create the key called "KeyMaps" under

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer

    Inside that key create 2 new DWORD values:

    One value called 50 with value data 1
    One value called 56 with value data 2

    I recommend using Mobile Registry Editor for this, PHM registry doesn't do a good job at making new DWORD values. When you

    are done, be sure to reset your device. Now in PIE you can use keys 2 and 8 as Page up and down.

    "Plug SDA into PC
    Explore your SDA and go to the windows folder.
    You should see these files
    Short_AP1
    Short_AP2
    Short_AP3
    Short_AP4
    1 - being the t-zones key
    2 - being the rewind key
    3 - being the play key
    4 - being the forward key

    Copy these files to your PC
    Open with notepad

    We'll use Short_AP1 as an example, so when you open it with notepad, you'll see this
    19#\Windows\iexplore.exe http://my.t-mobile.com

    all you gotta do is change the URL to whatever you want

    Now say you dont want a link, but a program, you just have to manually type in the directory and have it pointed to the *.exe

    file of your choice.

    Or you can use the following:

    Make Tzones Key go to Taskmanager instead of tzones (Most of these IA files can be edit w/notepad, you have to copy it to

    your desktop to make changes. Make sure you make a backup copy incase you mess one up.)

    -Get Cenotepad.exe Link

    -run cenotepad.exe off PC while connected to fone by uSB cable
    -open \Windows\Short_AP1.lnk

    replace the file contents with this:
    19#\Windows\IA_Task_Manager.exe?:TaskManagerApp


    Oh, and as for the other keys, heres what they are if you want to change those too

    Short_Camera - Camera Key
    Short_POC - key above the volume keys"

    Page Up and Down In Pocket Explorer
    Link

    Phone Settings

    how do I get the phone to ring AND vibrate at the same time?
    Scroll down on Home screen to Profile:Normal or whatever profile youre in and select it. Then select Menu and Edit. You can

    select "Vibrate then Ring" or "Vibrate and Ring"

    How to Install on your phone.
    If its a .cab file you will need to copy it to your phone and run it from there. If it's a .exe you will need active sync

    and run it from your pc.

    How do i upload video clips to the sda?
    Place it into your pictures and Video folder.

    Phone Hard Reset
    The phone must be OFF prior to doing any of these steps.
    1. Press and hold soft1 and soft2 keys.
    2. Press and hold power button for around 1 to 1.5 seconds. Instead of 'soft1' and 'soft2' (which I incorrectlyt assumed were

    the first 2 'rice' keys) please use "left soft key" and "right soft key" (1st & 4th buttons) which is how the manual has

    these buttons named.
    3. Later, screen shoould show instructions to ask user to press '0' key to reset to factory default.
    4. Press '0' within the timeout period, which is only several seconds only.

    Bluetooth Active-Sync Setup
    To do Active Sync over BT you MUST ENABLE IT IN THE PHONE. To do that:

    1. Bring up the comm menu with the top left button (on the side of the case)
    2. Select SETTINGS->Bluetooth (2)
    3. Select Menu->Devices (1)
    4. Point at the PAIRED COMPUTER in question and select it.
    5. Click NEXT once the name comes up.
    6. There are TWO checkboxes. One for ActiveSync, one for "Hands Free". The "Active Sync" one MUST BE CHECKED or you cannot

    ActiveSync over BT!

    Now click DONE.

    To sync, your Active Sync MUST be set up to scan the COM port that your PC's bluetooth software has installed. Find the port

    for it in your BLUETOOTH configuration on the PC. Click the Bluetooth icon in the system tray, click "My Device", and find

    "My Bluetooth Service Port" Make sure it is set to AUTOMATIC STARTUP. Select and right click it, choose "Properties", note

    the COM port number.

    Now RIGHT CLICK the ActiveSync icon in the system tray. Choose "Connection Settings." Make sure that "Allow connections to

    one of the following" is checked, AND THE COM PORT MATCHES YOUR BLUETOOTH SERIAL PORT from the above step.

    Click OK.

    To sync, FROM THE PHONE select ActiveSync and open it. Click MENU->Connect Via Bluetooth (7). The connection will come up and

    the sync will be performed.

    Don't forget to de-select it from the PHONE when you're done, otherwise the connection will stay open.

    Use the phone as a USB modem

    This is a good tutorial step by step

    Link

    Here's how you do it.

    1. DISCONNECT the phone from the PC. It MUST NOT be plugged in.
    2. Have your CD that came with the phone handy.
    3. On the PHONE, hit Menu three times to get to the last page, go into the "Accessories" folder. There should be an icon in

    there called "Modem Link". Click it.
    4. Set the connection to USB, leave the others alone (the access point should be "Wap.voicestream.com")
    5. Click ACTIVATE on the right button
    6. If you get a prompt about ActiveSync being disrupted, tell the phone that's ok.
    7. Click the HOME key to exit

    NOW, connect the USB cable to the phone. You will get a prompt asking to install software for the new device. When you get

    this, INSERT THE CD THAT CAME WITH THE PHONE.

    The driver will load automatically.

    When it is finished, go to Network Connections on your PC and create a new connection. Select the HTC USB Modem for the

    device. For the dial string, use "*99#", no username or password.

    Click connect and you're in business.

    Note that to use ActiveSync you must go back to the phone and shut off the Modem link....

    Tmobile Rebates T-mo Rebates

    Screen Protector: boxwave crystal

    SDA Cases: I have been using the OEM case that came with the phone. You can also use Body Glove available at Walmart and Target that work well.

    Thanks to all those that sent me the PMs and helped update this FAQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    181
    Feedback Score
    0
    I cleared out the posts again and reset the thread. The next person who flames or posts off topic will have their account suspended. Please continue posting only if you have questions in relation to the FAQ. Thanks for helping us keep this orderly and helpful to all!

    Thanks,
    HF 23

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    24
    Device(s)
    Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Registry edit to enable bluetooth OBEX transfer:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Obex\IsEnabl ed = 1
    This key was already set to 1 on my SDA. However, when I go through the File Manager, select a file and choose Menu->Send the only options I have are:

    1 Send via E-mail
    2 Beam

    I don't have an option for Bluetooth OBEX transfer. Am I doing something wrong?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    983
    Device(s)
    T-mobile Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mo
    Feedback Score
    0
    If your bluetooth is on and you have it set to discoverable, give it about 2-30 secs and it will find another BT device.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    I don't know what EXACTLY to replace to use the TCPMP with the default button. Please help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    58
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile SDA
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rcork
    This key was already set to 1 on my SDA. However, when I go through the File Manager, select a file and choose Menu->Send the only options I have are:

    1 Send via E-mail
    2 Beam

    I don't have an option for Bluetooth OBEX transfer. Am I doing something wrong?
    I believe "Beam" is what the SDA calls OBEX transfer. Have you tried it?

    Quote Originally Posted by yourhondasucks
    I don't know what EXACTLY to replace to use the TCPMP with the default button. Please help.
    Care to be more specific?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    161
    Device(s)
    SDA
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    We are wondering what steps to follow to get TCPMP working with the media buttons, and never see windows media player again.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Michigan, U.S.
    Posts
    927
    Device(s)
    Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kronus
    We are wondering what steps to follow to get TCPMP working with the media buttons, and never see windows media player again.
    That would be fantastic.

    Edit: Actually, can't we just remap these keys just like any other Short_AP* key?

    Something like: #19\Program Files\TCPMP\player.exe for AP2, AP3 and AP4?

    Then, when those same keys are assigned to the pause/play, rewind and fast forward triggers within the program, it should work in the same way that Windows Media Player does.

    I'll try this and report back.
    Last edited by Swivel; 04-20-2006 at 09:28 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Michigan, U.S.
    Posts
    927
    Device(s)
    Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Swivel
    That would be fantastic.

    Edit: Actually, can't we just remap these keys just like any other Short_AP* key?

    Something like: #19\Program Files\TCPMP\player.exe for AP2, AP3 and AP4?

    Then, when those same keys are assigned to the pause/play, rewind and fast forward triggers within the program, it should work in the same way that Windows Media Player does.

    I'll try this and report back.
    Nope. For some reason AP2, 3, and 4 can't be reassigned. I've reassigned AP1 to Task Manager a long time ago, but I can't seem to reassign AP2-4. WTF? Anyone else see this? I could have sworn I was able to reassign them about 2 weeks ago. Hmmm...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Michigan, U.S.
    Posts
    927
    Device(s)
    Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Swivel
    Nope. For some reason AP2, 3, and 4 can't be reassigned. I've reassigned AP1 to Task Manager a long time ago, but I can't seem to reassign AP2-4. WTF? Anyone else see this? I could have sworn I was able to reassign them about 2 weeks ago. Hmmm...

    Ok, I've figured this out. At least I've found a way that definitely works. Move your entire TCPMP folder from "Program Files" to the "Windows" folder. Then remap each key (AP2-4) to 19#\Windows\TCPMP\player.exe

    Now, in TCPMP, assign your hotkeys accordingly and you're all set!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    127
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I was playing this one WMV file on my SDA, and it played flawlessly in WMP but then I tried it on TCPMP I got like 1 frame every 5 seconds!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    127
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    It'd be nice if someone tidied this thread up to make it easier to read

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    9
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile SDA
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Swivel
    Ok, I've figured this out. At least I've found a way that definitely works. Move your entire TCPMP folder from "Program Files" to the "Windows" folder. Then remap each key (AP2-4) to 19#\Windows\TCPMP\player.exe

    Now, in TCPMP, assign your hotkeys accordingly and you're all set!
    The space in "Program Files" is the problem. You could also use quotes to solve that. 19#"\Program Files\TCPMP\player.exe" should also work.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    127
    Device(s)
    T-Mobile Dash
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tkutay
    The space in "Program Files" is the problem. You could also use quotes to solve that. 19#"\Program Files\TCPMP\player.exe" should also work.
    owned!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank You!

Page 1 of 22 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Bookmarks