Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Suddenly, my MDA's wifi is not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago Illinois
    Posts
    872
    Device(s)
    SE Satio
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, ERA PL
    Feedback Score
    0

    Suddenly, my MDA's wifi is not working

    anyone knows why? I did a hard reset and still, when i tapped on the icon, the screen showed up that "busy" icon, and a few seconds later, wifi is still not connected.

    Any suggestions?

    I have 2.18 version of ROM

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago Illinois
    Posts
    872
    Device(s)
    SE Satio
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, ERA PL
    Feedback Score
    0

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Carlsbad, California
    Posts
    244
    Device(s)
    G1, HTC S620
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hmm... I am in Taipei and also connected through ChungHua... untill this evening when I return home. Taiwan offers 3G but no EDGE... too bad ;-(

    Back to your problem... is your WiFi access open or protected? Is the signal strength more than 50%? Have your tried it elsewhere (friend's house, Starbucks hotspot, etc.)?

    I do have occasional association problems which give me similar symptoms as you described if the WiFi signal strength was less tha 50%. 50%+ and my MDA would synch fast and I could then move further away.

    This is using the stock T-Mobile ROMs (I will be updating my phone when I get home).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago Illinois
    Posts
    872
    Device(s)
    SE Satio
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, ERA PL
    Feedback Score
    0
    i am not using the stock TMO roms, I am using Dopod 838s tradtitional chinese (taiwan) rom.

    IPL 2.18
    SPL 2.18
    GSM 2.19.11
    OS 2.18.13.2

    It was working until a few days ago (i didnt change any settings)... weird.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    133
    Device(s)
    MDA Tmobile ROM 2.26
    Feedback Score
    0
    flyhen, update to the approved 2.26 by tmobile, don't use crap
    you will fix the problem
    Knowledge is power !

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    I had a WiFi no-go when I tweaked some registry settings with a third party freeware, none of which had anything to do with WiFi.

    Reflash.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Chicago Illinois
    Posts
    872
    Device(s)
    SE Satio
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, ERA PL
    Feedback Score
    0
    well, here's the problem, i tweaked my registry, months ago, and nothing went wrong. i've had this rom since march, and nothing went wrong until few days ago, i didnt tweak anything at all, it just all of a sudden, crapped out...
    Last edited by flyhen; 08-05-2006 at 12:06 AM.

Bookmarks