Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 130

Thread: E61 Online Firmware update is live!!!

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    7
    Device(s)
    Nokia E61
    Carrier(s)
    Vivatel
    Feedback Score
    0
    @ kevinof

    pls, tell us about impression of 2.0618.06.05 for E61 !?!?

    ...any different things ? ....positive and(or) negative?

    ...and what about different languages? i wont instal cyrillic on my E61?
    Do you (somebody) know... is this possible? ...and how?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    260
    Device(s)
    BB BOLD
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just did it on my nokia with the standard chr and no weird keys.. Still works fine . Go for it all!!!
    HoFo Feedback

    Blackberry Bold

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    26
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hey guys,

    What process did you follow to back up your data? Will my emails for Blackberry be lost? Will I need to set up all my Access Point info again?

    thanks!

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    260
    Device(s)
    BB BOLD
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    I lost all my stuff.. and I removed my memory card too. I'm just gonna reset my phone and redo everything.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    417
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6s Plus
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Any chance this firmware adds STUN support to the SIP client? (Doesn't look like it according to release notes I've seen so far, but thought I'd ask just in case).

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    294
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Bold
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I made the plunge and all is fine. I did have to re-install many of my applications (the ones on my memory card) including BB AFTER my restore from backup.

    I would say that the menus are slightly faster. The RF seems roughly the same. VOIP still working.

    Fairly painless process.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    11
    Device(s)
    iPhone
    Carrier(s)
    The new AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mkadilla
    I made the plunge and all is fine.
    Which keyboard do you have? Is it a EURO keyboard? The reason I ask is I've seen the new firmware floating on the web for the EURO versions, but no APAC versions ... and I've got an APAC keyboard.

    Thanks.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    294
    Device(s)
    Blackberry Bold
    Carrier(s)
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a Euro keyboard.

    Also, for what is is worth VOIP "seems" better for a provider that previously had poor sound quality (InPhonex). Nothing more than my gut feeling as I also did not see any VOIP updates in the upgrade list.

    As for BB e-mails, I think you will lose them in the upgrade? I deleted all mine before I upgraded, but noted that I had to re-send a BB service book to get my T-Mobile BB accounts back.

    Hope this helps.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    32
    Device(s)
    Moto V3
    Carrier(s)
    AIS (Thailand)
    Feedback Score
    0

    Just installed 2.0618.06.05 - no problems, but some learning

    I had backed up everything the multimedia card, but I still had to re-install my virus checker, adobe reader, worldmate, and a few other things. Also had to restore my web settings (home page, etc)

    I have the APAC e61 and the keys work OK -- the Jap Yen and Euro are where they are supposed to be.

    I note that clicking on an html link still brings up the WAP browser...sigh. Also, I would very much like an autocomplete so I don't have to re-type passwords, etc. I hope these will come later.

    Oh, I just noticed that the Nokia Dollar sign is **very much like** the uppper case S. It takes a magnifying glass to tell them apart. Surely this can be fixed. It seems so clumsy.

    Compared to modding my Moto V3, this was more complex than just changing the firmware on the V3 (with the V3, changing the firmware alone does not affect anything else). But it is a *lot* less complex than changing the "flex" on a V3 and re-editing seems, etc. On the other hand, the Moto is *much* more modifiable -- for the brave and careful. The Nokia update is pretty foolproof, IMHO.
    Stock unlocked Nokia e61 (asian kbd)

    also
    Black Moto V3 unlocked
    Quad Band GSM
    S/W: R374_G_0E_42.10R
    Flex: SE8615MBXXH1121 (Euro stock Moto)
    DSP: 62343400
    LP 0021 (Thai, English, Vietnamese, Indonesian)
    Field Engineering Menu enabled (vers 4.0.0)

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    565
    Device(s)
    Nokia e61
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    i did my e61 apac version no problems at all, after a quick reinstall of my programs i am back up and running.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    272
    Device(s)
    Nokia E75
    Carrier(s)
    Telenor
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried updating mine just now and it keeps telling me that there is no new software available. I have an unlocked E61 from Norway. Anyone with a similar problem?

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    504
    Device(s)
    Nokia N93i
    Carrier(s)
    T-MO
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does anyone have ANY idea how I can do the updater for the E61 with a Mac?

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Detroit Metro Area
    Posts
    381
    Device(s)
    Nokia E51, E60, Moto V330, V300, P280, L7089
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    make sure you have enough mem. on PC

    the Nokia Software Installer REQUIRES 256MB AVAILABLE to install on your PC. It's the first thing it checks, and since most PC hog SOME mem. when booting up, you effectively need 384MB or more to run the installer!

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    EastVan
    Posts
    10,072
    Device(s)
    bunch of phones
    Carrier(s)
    fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    i just updated my e61 and i got a message "failed update" and it asked me to retry which i did and again got the same message... however upon booting and checking my FW it now says:
    2.0618.06.05
    14-07-06
    RM-89
    Nokia E61

    and the best part is it looks like everything is working just fine...
    i use my cellphones too much, my brains are fried...



  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    7,898
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fourfone
    the Nokia Software Installer REQUIRES 256MB AVAILABLE to install on your PC. It's the first thing it checks, and since most PC hog SOME mem. when booting up, you effectively need 384MB or more to run the installer!
    and this is a problem for you?? ouch, you must be in dire straights haha

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Bookmarks